We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT EXPERIENCE FOR THE FAMILY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #29 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“PERFECT EXPERIENCE FOR THE FAMILY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We came here before taking our cruise, and had an amazing time! There are so many creatures to discover. Our kids absolutely love it and would visit again in a heart beat. The staff is fantastic, as well as friendly and helpful. There was always someone around to provide some interesting facts. Would highly recommend taking your family to the sea aquarium!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review and for joining us before your cruise. It is always great to hear when families enjoy their visit with us. We thank you for recommending us and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    524
    310
    142
    152
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Smaller scale sea world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice place to visit. Much smaller than sea world in Orlando. All live shows center around dolphins, dolphins and one whale, dolphins and sea lions. Enough said. Pricey admission. Discounts on line or at your hotel. After two and a half hours my six year old granddaughter had enough.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium and for visiting us. We are happy to hear that you found it to be a nice visit. We hope to see you and your granddaughter again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dolphin Encounter -Both Exciting and Depressng”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

As a gift, a friend of mine, bought me the dolphin encounter experience for my birthday.. Aware of all the controversy surrounding marine parks and the cramped conditions of the mammals, it was difficult for me to decide to go on this dolphin swim. In the end, I decided to do it to see first hand what it was all about.

Upon arrival, the check in process was easy and went straight to the dolphin encounter exhibit. Walking through the park it felt desolate and abandoned. It also looked like the park was in need of serious renovations.

Arriving to the dolphin exhibit I was excited to meet these mammals. Having seen them in the wild, I've always wanted to know what it would be like to see them up close. The swim was great but at times it felt like a petting zoo or at circus having them perform all sorts of tricks for you. The dolphins were in really small pens leaving to me wonder how isolated they might feel.

I left the swim with mix feelings. Yes it was nice having to meet these animals up close but couldn't believe the fact that they lived in such claustrophobic conditions. Not to mention the $40+ they try to get you to pay afterwards for a photo of the dolphin swim.

I would NOT recommend this due to the fact that this truly is an exploitation of highly intelligent mammals in order to make a couple dollars off of you. After the swim, I got back in my car and went home knowing that I will not be visiting this marine park or other marine parks in the future.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Killer whale OMG!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We watched to killer whale and dolphins show and it was incredible. I could not believe that the trainer was really going to swim with the killer whale, and she did and their show is very good. I love dolphins and their show was also very good. They have a huge tank with manatees in it. You can also see birds around the park and other animals. Some of the stands were close so there is a very limited number of places where you can get food. But, we had fun and I would recommend that to other people.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the shows and that you recommend others to come visit us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Amazing performances. We enjoyed the Killer Whale & Dolphin Show and Flipper Dolphin Show. The pelicans seem to have taken over the shark feeding attraction.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we truly appreciate it. It is always great to hear when our guest enjoy the performances and their time with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miami Seaquarium to your Saves list