We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolphin Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #31 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I did the dolphin experience with my wife, very very experience to touch and interact with a dolphin. The park itself is a bit outdated but the staff is very friendly and actually takes the time to talk to you.
Compared to Sea World this aquarium operation is smaller in scale but not less entertaining. The number of shows, locations animals is indeed less but still a lot of fun.
They actually still have a killer wale show with people in the water - unlike Sea World.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had fun watching the shows and learning about dolphins. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    574
    352
    155
    166
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seal Swim - well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Miami Seaquarium particularly for an animal encounter, we pre-booked the Seal Swim. We arrived after lunch at the park, so didn't spend much time looking around. But from what I did see it appeared to have just a few small areas of viewing. The park was very quite, which actually made if more enjoyable. This is nothing to be compared with Sea World and it's obvious that it is just a local park not trying to compete with the big fellas. The focus is really just on the animals and not so commercial.

The Seal Swim was incredible and I would highly recommend it. After the induction we were actually allowed to have a free swim with the seals, you could dive, paddle go under water with them as often as you pleased, during this time you are able to play with the seals and they actually come looking for you, they are not scared of people at all. Once that part of the program is done, you then spend about another 15-20mins with a trainer and a seal, they teach you a few tricks and you learn a bit more about the seals, so very educational. There are plenty of photo opportunities, both professional or private, the photos were so great that we got them all on a CD.

The staff on all occasions, from reservations to the trainers were very friendly and welcoming.

This is a once in a lifetime experience that I definitely recommend to others.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Seal Swim and your free swim with them. Thank you for sharing such a fun experience with us and we do hope that you are able to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old facility, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was here recently with my partner and did the Seal & sea lion encounter.
We were able to book on the same day as we did the encounter (which is always good)
After meeting with our friendly host/keeper after getting changed into our wetsuits we went through a brief talk about what we could and couldn't do on our encounter.
There were no other guests with us on our encounter so I felt we had spent a little extra time with the animals - around 45 minutes.
The CD with photos was $60 taken by a woman with a professional camera (but obviously not a professional photographer). Lots of the photos my partners mother took with her iPhone turned out to be better quality.

If i was going to Miami Seaquarium for the park - I would be very disappointed. Many of the cafes/shops/attractions close 2 hours before the park closes. I have rated the experience as very good due to the high satisfaction with the seal encounter but i would suggest if you do the encounter to bring someone else along as an observer (which is allowed) to take photos for you.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending a day with us and experiencing the Seal Swim. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your swim and were able to bring a friend along to take pictures of such a wonderful experience. We are always working on updating the park and than you for your honesty. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for a rainy afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was a great place to visit when we got rained in Miami. We wanted a place that are mostly under cover and this fit the bill. My parents really enjoyed the dolphin, sea lion, and killer whale shows. The place locates next to the water, so you have a nice view on the stand. It is not as big and comprehensive as the sea world, but it provides a glimpse of what you can see from the sea creatures. The place is not too big, so it was not overwhelming for older parents. We had a big pizza for snack, and it tastes all right.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us on a rainy afternoon. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the shows with your parents. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not just for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Me and my wife booked both the Dolphin experience and also the odyssey. The Seaquarium staff were great and the time flew by. I would defiantly say that this is something you must do when in Miami no matter what age you are. I am no spring chicken but there were older people than me doing this as well as young kids great fun for all.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us with your wife and sharing your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Dolphin experiences and that the staff was a great help. We hope to see you and your wife again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.