We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sign up for the Dolphins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #26 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sign up for the Dolphins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

First see the dolphin show, then sign up ahead for either their swim with the dolphin or the dolphin encounter experience. It's for every age and well worth the money! The seal/sea lion feeding and show is interesting. Then see how the dolphins play with balls and train back at the dolphin show basin.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    641
    390
    171
    173
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables Fl.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I should have done this in the Keys. The kids didn't swim with the dolphins only got to touch the nose. You couldn't get close to see their expressions. I paid for 3 , 12 year olds, and had to pay for my 5 year old nephew to watch, not happy. I went there as a child I am 60 not much has changed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We do offer different dolphin interactions and we apologize if your experience was not what you expected. We hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a poor value !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have just visted the Seaquarium today, this needs a large investment to improve this site.
The layout needs better signage , the shows are not timed between each other , the food outlets are well below modern standers in a 1960 time walk . the staff are more interested in their own cell phones than vistors , have the management visted Disney yet !They might find it useful in improving the site & staff . this a poor valve attraction @ $39.95 per person.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to continue improving Miami Seaquarium. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, West Indies
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good family fun...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is my second trip to Miami Seaquarium and still an enjoyable experience. My daughter was truly delighted to see "Shamu's brother" perform and wet up the people! The show was nice, not as good as Sea World, but nevertheless a wonderful assortment of displays and shows for the family.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium and for your second visit to the park. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with your daughter. We hope that you and your daughter visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Miami Sea Aquarium Reef Encounter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

First of all tripadvisor only gives 5 stars, I'd give this 10. Got a Living Social coupon or 2 people to dive in the reef tank at the Miami Sea Aquarium. Haven't been there in about 10 years. But to do a dive WOW!. Day was rainy and overcast. Got there at 9:30 cause dive was 10:15 we got registered and was taken to get our wet suits & towel. Never put one on before so me and Julie had them backwards. Then when we turned them around couldn't get it up over my shoulders, needed help. Got dressed and headed to the tank. Had instructions about the helmet weight 75 lbs but a lot lighter in the water and you get triple the amount of air. How to pop you ears and use the OK sign and DON'T jump off the ladder. I was the last to go and my ear wouldn't pop so down I went then back up again. Finally popped and away we went. Got to feed hundreds of fishes with a bottle and a grouper came by and the safety diver tapped his nose. He opened his mouth and you just squirted into the void. He was so cool to do that do. The staff took pictures for us which you can purchase $$$. We brought disposable water cameras. Only problem is you really can't see the viewer on the camera so its just point and shoot. Still think the pictures came out good. Was down about 1/2 hrs. Between petting a moray eel, feeding the fish and having our pictures taken. I can't wait to do it again. Water was 85
so you didn't feel cold. You have to be I think 52" tall so little ones can't do it. I sat next to a lion, played with a tiger cub, went up in a hot air balloon and a few more crazy thing BUT this was the BEST so far..Staff was great they kept checking with the OK sign for each of us. 6 go down at a time so if you have a big family 1/2 go in while the other have wave from outside the tank. Wish I had the oriental lady's email address she took lost of pic of me and gave me a thumbs up..After dive there's a shower/towel/hair dyers for the ladies. Lockers while you on the reef. It was the best day I've had!! Spend the money and make a memory for life.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaquariumSupport, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing those wonderful images with us, they are wonderful. We are so happy to hear that you and Julie had a wonderful time. Thank you for sharing your time with us and we hope so see you and Julie again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.