We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was back to childhood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #26 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Recife, PE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I was back to childhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

i had been there when i was 11 and i am 50 now and had to come back. i was amazed about the place .it still keeps your interest and the professional treatment for all details is awesome. the orca show is great and liked the sharks. the tickets cost 39 dollars. worth a visit mainly if you travel with children.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you came back to visit us after being here when you were 11. We hope to see you again. Thank you for the great review!

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    641
    391
    173
    173
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having been to Sea World, my expectations were probably a little too high. The Seaquarium is small - which could be a plus for families with little ones. I went specifically for the Dolphin Encounter, which was amazing. For me, the Seaquarium was icing on the cake. If it had been the entire cake, I would have been disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the Dolphin Encounter, we are a smaller park compared to Sea World, but great for close ups, intimate shows and encounters. We hope you visit us again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin Odyssey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second time visiting the Seaquarium and the first time for the Dolphin Odyssey. We were at the Seaquarium the week after Easter and it wasn't crowded. My first reservation had to be cancelled and rescheduled due to a fire that closed alligator alley. The representative from the Seaquarium helped me rebook without charging but added if it happened again I would be charged a fee. I am not sure why that would happen since we were attempting to get to Miami and the road was closed but I did get to change the date and my 2 children, ages 10 and 13, did get to do the experience. As others have mentioned, the park is older but not that run down. Where they do the dolphin encounters is very new and a nice facility. It is a little pricey but most dolphin experiences are expensive. The bottom line is that my children really enjoyed interacting with the dolphins and seeing the shows. Also, my son enjoyed doing the obstacle course, there is an extra charge for this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to hear that you were not able to make it the first time because of a fire that closed alligator alley, but thank you for calling in and letting us know. We are so happy that you were able to come and experience a day with us and swimming with the dolphins. We hope to see you and your children again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“grand kids did dolphin encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

my 4 grand kids throughly enjoyed dolphin encounter (ages 10, 13, 19, & 23). all 10 of us had a great day. the shows were very good; the weather was great for december; the park was busy but not overcrowded for a holiday.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you and your four grandchildren enjoyed your day with us and were able to experience the Dolphin Encounter. Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dated But Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have been to many aquariums around North America and recently added the Miami Seaquarium to our list. The sea lion, dolphin and orca shows were enjoyable. This is definitely a show park, comparable to Sea Worlds, not a primarily exhibit facility such as the Shedd in Chicago, The National Aquarium in Baltimore or the New England Aquarium in Boston, just to name a few. The facilities are more dated than what we have enjoyed at other aquariums. Although this is not among the top tier of those we have visited, it is certainly worth a trip when you are in the area. When you are finished, do not miss a drive down the road through Key Biscayne.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium and for adding us to one of the Aquariums that you have visited. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the shows and thank you for recommending us to those who are in the area. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquairum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.