We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand kids did dolphin encounter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #28 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“grand kids did dolphin encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

my 4 grand kids throughly enjoyed dolphin encounter (ages 10, 13, 19, & 23). all 10 of us had a great day. the shows were very good; the weather was great for december; the park was busy but not overcrowded for a holiday.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you and your four grandchildren enjoyed your day with us and were able to experience the Dolphin Encounter. Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    454
    269
    127
    144
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Dated But Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have been to many aquariums around North America and recently added the Miami Seaquarium to our list. The sea lion, dolphin and orca shows were enjoyable. This is definitely a show park, comparable to Sea Worlds, not a primarily exhibit facility such as the Shedd in Chicago, The National Aquarium in Baltimore or the New England Aquarium in Boston, just to name a few. The facilities are more dated than what we have enjoyed at other aquariums. Although this is not among the top tier of those we have visited, it is certainly worth a trip when you are in the area. When you are finished, do not miss a drive down the road through Key Biscayne.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium and for adding us to one of the Aquariums that you have visited. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the shows and thank you for recommending us to those who are in the area. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquairum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun day out with the family.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I took our three kids. One is in a wheelchair and handicap. Loved that she was free. She wasn't able to see any shows unless we took her out of the chair and carried her. The food was horrible. Maybe the pizza was better, but we ordered from the air conditioned restaurant since nothing other then the bathrooms were air conditioned. We went in march and were quite hot and sun burned. Shade wasn't easy to find. The big deal here is the shows. Be early to them and you will get great seating. My kids enjoyed the shows the most. We are waiting till the youngest is 5 so everyone can fully interact with the lesser of the two dolphin packages.the park was huge when I remember it as a kid, but walking it now it felt small. We enjoy aquariums a lot. Try out the Ga. Aquarium if you get a chance to visit Atlanta. By far it beat any of Floridas aquariums. Even sea world if you are truly in it for the sea life. Bathrooms at Miami seaqurium are ac and clean. Playground and splash area available for the kids to cool off. Surrounded by a mote of sharks and fish.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your trip with us. We are always working on making improvements and thank you for your honesty on the food and the lack of viewing opportunities for someone who is in a wheelchair. It's great to hear that your children enjoyed the shows. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old but the shows are intimate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you've been to Sea World you will be disappointed visiting this place until you go to one of the shows. The intimate seating makes for a "can't stop smiling" experience. It's a very old park (1955) and it shows it's age. Fun for kids 11 or under. Inexpensive gift shop compared to most.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our shows. We are an older park, but have made many updates throughout the years and offer many fun activities. We hope to see you again and than you for sharing your experience with us.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“In water with dolphins: overrated & waaaay too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I were really excited to idea of swimming with dolphins.
During a visit of Miami, we purchased the Seaquarium Dolphin Odyssey.
We spent $425 for 2 people for 30min in the water with the dolphins. Overall the experience was OK but:

1) By buying this expensive package, the least you could get is FREE PARKING and not have to add $8 to the overall budget.

2) NOWHERE on site or under the "Things you should know before your visit" does it mention that you'll be sharing this experience with another 12 people! Pictures and text let you believe that it's a private group experience. NOT AT ALL! At this point, you start regretting having spent that amount of money...

3) TIP: You are not allowed to bring any camera or make your own photos. We had to pay an extra $60 to have all the shots taken of us.
If you really want the souvenir: take someone with you with a good camera as an observer, they'll pay $45 to stand behind you and will take as many videos and photos you want.

4) The overall Seaquarium infrastructure is old and a little run down, it could use some modern and interactive attractions for kids & adults to learn about the sea world.

OVERALL: the dolphin "swim" was nice but we would not recommend it as it's waaaay overpriced for having to share the experience with 13 other people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we apologize for us not letting you know that the experience is shared with other visitors. We thank you for your honesty and hope that we can see you and your husband again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.