We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great day!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #26 of 87 Attractions in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great day!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I live locally, but haven't been there since my kids have grown older. I saw a news piece on interacting with the seals and sea lions, and I was in! I took my 19 yr old for her birthday, and we had a blast! She didn't know that I signed us up for interaction with the seals and sea lions, so she was shocked ! We actually learned a lot from our trainer, Kristin, and you can tell the animals love her! My daughter said it was the best birthday ever, which is great to hear from an older teen who usually can't wait to hang out with their friends! She now wants to be a killer whale trainer! Everyone swims with the dolphins these days, so this was something different and so worth it! My other two daughters and their grandfather now want to go!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you and your daughter were able to take part of our new interaction program, the Seal Swim. What a great gift from you to your daughter, it is great to hear that you both had fun. We hope to see your other two daughters and grandfather take part of the interaction in the future. Thank you again for the great review and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    641
    390
    171
    173
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saugerties, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit while in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I grew up nearby and made many visits as a kid. This time I'm grown up and took my family of three. My 6-year-old son loved it. The best part was, of course, the Dolphin Encounter (not cheap, but worth it). Be sure to budget a little extra to buy the professional photos of your family feeding, hugging, kissing and getting splashed by the dolphins. There's another area where you can actually swim with the dolphins, but not with a 6-year-old. You can also feed the seals and sea lions for just a few dollars for a few stinky fish. The sea lion show under the golden dome was cheesy and no one really gets wet in the "splash zone", but the killer whale show was much better and much wetter. If you're in the splash zone you may get totally soaked; we did, and we were on our way to the airport in squishy clothes. The more traditional indoor aquarium tanks were nothing exciting; not nearly as good as the Tampa Aquarium, but they are not why you go to this attraction. The location is ideal to combine the trip with a trip to the Crandon Park or Bill Baggs State Park beaches.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always great to hear when someone visited us as a child and is now visiting us with their children. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and where able to experience the Dolphin Encounter. Thank you for sharing your experience and photos with us, we hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Swimming with the Dolphins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Very special experience. The groups are small and the observers can be very close to the Dolphins as well. Very private environment, so it was very enjoyable compared to Sea World where they are tons on spectators.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and where able to swim with the dolphins. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brigantine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Miami Seaquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great place to spend the day. We did the dolphin swim a few years ago and this time did the Sea Trek Experience. Well worth the money. You are actually in their tank loaded with 2000 different fish. I did a helmet dive previously in the Keys and did not see any where near the amount of sea life I saw here. You get to feed the fish, touch them and all in a very safe and secure enviroment. Carl our guide was great. A lot fun for anyone! Highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear that you visited us again to experience the Sea Trek Reef Encounter. Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hope the seals eventually are fed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

An inexpensive day out but you realise that the price is low because so is the standard.The Manatee Cafe leaves a lot to be desired.We only had a coffee but this was not a place we would want to eat.Crocodiles/alligator compound was OK but the shark stream was the best.
We decided to wait and watch the seals being fed and stood with a large crowd of adults and children in anticipation. The published time arrived and an announcement was made that "seal food could now be bought" nobody did so no seals were fed! Having been in Norway two months previously the seals there were fed by the keeper along with a very good narrative.Lessons to be learned?

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our shark area. All of our animals are properly fed and feeding the sea lions is a great experience that we offer guests. Thank you again for reviewing Miami Seaquarium. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.