We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading advertising” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Miami Seaquarium like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$75*
and up
Ranked #38 of 277 things to do in Miami
Activities: Swimming with dolphins, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Misleading advertising”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

In the images shown on billboards and catalogs about Dolphins Encounter show people swimming with dolphins, which is false because it never happens. You settle for staying at the edge of the pool and just touching the dolphins. Are better places in other countries where you can actually interact with dolphins.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you found our ads misleading. Our Animals encounter, the Dolphin Odyssey does allow participants to swim with the dolphins. I am not sure why your interaction was different and I apologize. We do hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    731
    443
    201
    186
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I took my kids for what was originally just a couple of hours, and we ended up staying til closing time. Each and every attraction, from the whales to the dolphins and the birds and manatees, was spectacular, and the kids enjoyed every minute. The staff were also incredibly knowledgeable and helpful as well. The only down side was that the shows were all around midday and it was difficult to fit them all in without rushing from one to the next. But we did manage.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for that wonderful review. We are happy to hear that you and the kids stayed until closing time enjoying the attractions. We thank you for your positive comments and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dolphin Swim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our main intention of visiting the seaaquarium was to experience the dolphin swim. My husband and İ loved it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing that wonderful picture of you and your husband enjoying the dolphin encounter. We are happy to hear that you loved the experience. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seaquarium was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My family had a great time at the Miami Seaquarium.

Lots of variety of sea life, many shows of dolphins, sea lions, killer whales.

Highly recommend

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. It is great to hear that your family enjoyed their time with us. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
1 review
“Vist to the Sea Aquarium and The Sea Trek Reef Encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Loved the Sea Aquaruim, There was many different types of animals to see not just Sea Creatures. Amazing birds and gekos/ lizards in trees whilst walking around.

We had pre-booked a Sea Trek Reef Encounter which was a totally amazing experience. The staff were really friendly and loved the creatures they worked with. It was amazing to be so close to the fish and to feed them, the stingrays were amazing. I was sad when I had to leave the tank as I could have just stood watching them swim by me for ages. We bought the disk with all of the pictures of us in the tank as a lasting memory.

The park was very clean and tidy.

The only disapointment I had was that everything closed so early we had nearly an hour to closing time and already all the stalls and the gift shop was closed.
Happy I got the disk but also wanted to by a souvenier to take home. We asked why everything was already closed and were told as it wasn't high season everything closes early. So would advise people to buy souveneirs on the way in and make sure you get there early about 10am/11am to experience everything. Definately worth a visit - Relaxing and enjoyable and would advise The Reef Encounter Sea Trek as it was a once in a lifetime experience :)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review. We are happy to hear that you were able to experience the Sea Trek Reef Encounter and that you had an amazing experience. We thank you for sharing your experience with us and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.