We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost some lustre -- in need of an update” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #32 of 122 Attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lost some lustre -- in need of an update”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have been coming to the Miami Seaquarium for about 10 years now...and now we can see it is time for a facelift. Allthough still a "quaint" intimate feel to the place, it is in major need of updating. They are charging way too much (over $40 a person???!!!) for such limited offerings. The animals are still wonderful and the shows are good but everything is looking very tired. They need to take a cue from Orlando attractions and jazz things up a little. Adding low end carnival rides and barely working remote control cars/boats will not cut it anymore. And not in this tech savvy world we now live!!

People will still come for the animals and the rescue awareness, but they need to offer something else. We have travelled all over the US, Europe and the Middle East and have been to dozens of aquariums. They can do better in Miami. I hope they do because it really is such a lovely place with a great location and view. With such a great view, they need to capitalize on that more and not mess up the view with cheesy kiddie rides.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We appreciate your feedback and tips; we are continuously making updates and improvements. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    543
    330
    149
    159
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Horrible Facilities and Expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was shocked that Miami had such an outdated and neglected seaaquarium. I expected a large, bright, modern facility with state of the art attractions.

This reminded me of a 1980's sea world that had not been updated since the 80's.

Few attractions. Few shows that begin at times different than printed.

Almost $40 a person! I do not recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We are always working on making updates to our attraction and do not neglect the park, workers, guests or the animals in it. We hope, that in the future, you give us a second chance.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Miami Seaquarium is fn for a day with the kids. But it's getting a bit old. I know that they're trying to upgradde now and then, and I hope that they succeed. I visit once in a great long while.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We are happy to hear that you find us to be a fun attraction to spend the day with the kids; we thank you for your support and hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolfstetten, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolute waste of money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

So far our worst trip around Miami and an absolute waste of money! Within one hour we walked trough the whole park, talked, took pictures.. within 1 hour for over 40$ per person! This place is a huge children playground - and nothing more. The tanks for the animals are really small (look at the attached picture from the Manatee cage! The could just turn around the whole day in a tank with nothing more than water and there p**p.)
The main attraction, the Orca, is just a show and starts at 1pm, so you are basically forced to stay until 1pm just to see the Orca... we were there at 09:30am and left around 11 after searching in the whole parks for animals we didn't already see.
The Zoo Zurich in Switzerland got way more fishtanks and they are even more beautiful, and thats not even a "special Seaqarium".
Funny was the fact, that the main playground for children is surrounded bi a huge fishtank with the only sharks in it. And it's so easy to jump into the tank for every child - yes I know that these are no "man-eater sharks", but still, they are over 2 meter long and are sharks.

The mangrove exhibition with the crocodiles and turtels was indeed nicely built and designed, but that can not justify the 40$ entrance fee per person.

All in all definitely no recommendation! Take the way to the Seaworld in Orlando FL or San Diego CA.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. Many of the Manatees housed at the Miami Seaquarium are being rehabilitated back to health after they have suffered incidents in their natural habitat. We thank you for sharing your experience and hope that in the future you give us a second chance.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worn out, tired attraction!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just spent a wonderful Christmas in south Florida and thought we would go the the Seaquarium one afternoon for a nice family activity. Our first surprise was the fee to park of $8.00. The second surprise was the $39.99 price for each of the 4 adult tickets we purchased. Once through the gate our experience went downhill. We entered a worn out, tired looking attraction that needs a facelift now! Not only that, the water in several of the tanks looked dirty and was not clear for viewing of the fish. The killer whale show was especially sad because the tank seemed very undersized for this beautiful mammal! We were happy to leave after a less than wonderful experience. We will not return.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We are sorry to hear that you did not know of our parking or entrance fees, these are on our website and from time to time we offer special promotions on our entrance fee. Some of the animals at the Miami Seaquarium are being rehabilitated and all of our animals are treated wonderfully. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.