We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out, tired attraction!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #24 of 85 Attractions in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worn out, tired attraction!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just spent a wonderful Christmas in south Florida and thought we would go the the Seaquarium one afternoon for a nice family activity. Our first surprise was the fee to park of $8.00. The second surprise was the $39.99 price for each of the 4 adult tickets we purchased. Once through the gate our experience went downhill. We entered a worn out, tired looking attraction that needs a facelift now! Not only that, the water in several of the tanks looked dirty and was not clear for viewing of the fish. The killer whale show was especially sad because the tank seemed very undersized for this beautiful mammal! We were happy to leave after a less than wonderful experience. We will not return.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We are sorry to hear that you did not know of our parking or entrance fees, these are on our website and from time to time we offer special promotions on our entrance fee. Some of the animals at the Miami Seaquarium are being rehabilitated and all of our animals are treated wonderfully. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    625
    377
    166
    169
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“dated facilities in need of revival, but still enjoyable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Original location for Flipper, but seems to have not been updated much since -- everything seems dated and a bit rundown. The killer whale and dolphin shows are enjoyable and worth seeing, although less professional than comparable shows at Sea World. Sea lion show was less impressive. Otherwise, a decent collection of fish and animals. Location on Key Biscayne is pleasant. All considered, a bit expensive for the value with tickets $40 and parking $12, but still an enjoyable way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review; we are always working on making updates and its great to know that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Outstanding...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

While at first we were surprised that there wasn't a lot to look at and there were lots of odd things like remote control cars, we realized it all is in the shows and that the shows are amazing. While one worries about the animals who are performing, it is also good to see things like a paralyzed manatee that is being kept there after being hit by a boat. This was very educational for all of my children - 5, 12 and 14 and they loved it and learned a lot - great way to teach them about the need to love and respect animals. Drinks are pricey on site so be forewarned if its a hot day. Also bathrooms are few and far between! And go to the Top Dolphin Show early - standing room only at that one, though others have seats.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. It is great to hear that you were able to visit us with your family this past December. We are happy to know that this was both an entertaining and educational experience for your family. We hope to see you all again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
“An enjoyable old school attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The attraction is a very nice day-trip for families. However, considering that the facilities are not at the same level as sea world, the ticket price was a little steep. But in my case, I enjoyed the active duty military discount for me and my family, this was greatly appreciated. The shows were very entertaining and they offer a lot of personalized interactive encounters with the animals.
I really enjoyed watching the animals and although the park shows its age it was very clean and organized. I would recommend it for an afternoon visit where you could catch the main shows.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you received our Military Discount and enjoyed your time with your family. We hope to see you again and we thank you for your service.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“dissappointed in the old facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Old, dated, worn out. Very small area for the whales and dolphins, guess SeaWorld spoils you for this experience. Expected better of a Miami attraction. Sorry, overpriced.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We are always working on making improvements and we thank you for your honest review; from time to time we do offer great discounts on our entrance fee. We hope that, in the future, you will give us a second try.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.