We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

With a lemon soda in hand, Miami Seaquarium never fails to excite. A great place for everyone to view the spectacular dolphin and killer whale shows (which take place approx. every hour), watch the famous manatees which congregate in the many rivers and swamps in Florida. And if you're feeling really adventurous, enjoy the many swimming experiences on offer, including dolphins, whales! All together, a great day out!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    525
    314
    143
    153
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Dated but still enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Took my daughter for a dolphin swimming experience. Our tickets allowed us to tour the park. Clearly it is past its prime, but efforts are being made to spruce it up. Despite my observation, the shows are very good and if you are interested in sea life, this is a great place to spend the day. The Dolphin experience is very new and shows it. Professionally run and a great experience to be remembered for a life time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. It is great to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed the dolphin swimming experience and your time with us. We thank you for your great comments and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The superb Miami Seaquarium”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

What an excellent experience! Swam with dolphins; the trainers are really friendly and give you so many opportunities to interact with the dolphins, walked underwater surrounded by stingray and fish; this was on the sea trek, watched some fantastic shows with the piece de la resistance being the killer whale show - amazing acts, huge splashes and great fun for everyone. This really is a must visit place when in Miami. We got a reduced price on the Sea Trek because we were already doing the swim with the dolphins. Excellent day out and real value for money!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time swimming with dolphins, stingrays and watching some great shows. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good & bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My family went to the Disney & Universal theme parks but not SeaWorld in Orlando. So while in Miami, we decided to visit the Seaquarium. Many reviewers cited the high prices as negative points from entrance & parking fee to photographing & even the food. I don't mind & would like to think that all the money (at least part of it) will go to improvements.
The park is tidy and well arranged. The staff members are polite, knowledgeable & helpful. The photographers were not pushy. The program sheet is informative with a good timetable-like format to list the schedule of the various presentations and shows. We all thoroughly enjoyed the talks, the dolphins & killer whale shows. The shows were entertaining & well prepared. Kudos to the staff.

We paid for photo with the dolphin & liked the fact that the photographers took many shots for us to choose. We can see that the trainers took care not to stress the dolphins. The rapport between animals & trainers seem genuine & warm, it is a pleasure to see such bonding. Thank you.

Unfortunately, there are some negatives. The dilapidated condition really need urgent improvement & it is not just for esthetics reasons. For instance, the crocodile enclosure requires urgent attention. Honestly, I was with my kids & the rickety wooden enclosure really made me feel nervous.

The dining needs improvement too. Guests at attractions are prepared to pay for expensive food, just look at the overpriced food in Disney & Universal parks and yet, the restaurants are crowded. But to serve poor quality food, is simply adding salt to injury. My hotdog was the worst I have ever had in my entire life.

I am also concerned about the enclosure space for the killer whale. I understand real estate in Miami is probably more expensive than in Orlando but seeing the killer whale in the small tank is painful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We thank you for the positive comments on our staff and the shows. We are always working on making improvements and will take your suggestions into consideration when making future improvements, we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Dolphin Odyssey and Shows are the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I took my boyfriend here to swim with the dolphins for his birthday. He did the Dolphin Odyssey program and said it was amazing. He not only swam with them but the trainers also did lots of other interactive things with them and the dolphins. We also saw a seal show which was fun and the killer whale and dolphin show, which was amazing! If I were you I would not miss that one, nor would I sit in the first 5-10 rows (splash factor!). I agree with the above that the pictures they sell are expensive. $42 for four pictures, but the kicker for me is that is the minimum. If you go to watch someone try to snap your own! If we could, we would have just purchased one print for a lower price. Oh well. Either way it was a great experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! What a great gift that you were able to give to your boyfriend and we are happy to hear that you both enjoyed your time with us. We are sorry to hear that you found the pricing on the pictures expensive, we hope that you got some great images of your own. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miami Seaquarium to your Saves list