We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$75*
and up
Ranked #41 of 294 things to do in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

That is how I would describe it. From the delapidated facilities to the over priced($40 per person) everything overall horrible day out NOT worth the time, money, or effort. Would rather sit in a cold dark room for a day than waste my time and money there. DO NOT GO

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We are always making improvements and work very hard in up-keeping our facilities; we hope that you give us a second chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    804
    493
    228
    202
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sartell, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Not too Packed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at the placed on Friday Morning just as the place was opened. Parking was $8 plus the fee to get in. I think they could have went without the parking fee. We were greeted as we came in and they asked us if we'd like our picture taken which we could purchase later in the photo shop. They gave us a map and instruction on what time the shows started. There are some good shows and some that are not all that great... BUT still they are all interesting and they do a good job telling their stories. A couple of the shows we went to the Microphones on the person doing the most talking would cut in and out. I know they probably get wet and that doesn't help but they could use an upgrade there. The Dolphin shows and the Killer Whale Shows of course are the best. We ate pizza while we were there as my family just got a large pizza (was the best value). If there is any downfall to this place I'd say it would be the cost of the photos that they allow you to purchase. If its the picture you take when you walk in the door, or if it be a picture taken with a bird, a lizard, or a dolphin. In my opinion I think they'd sell a ton more at $10-$15 rather than trying to sell them from $20 up to $50 for the one with the dolphin. Still a great place for kids to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We thank you for your comments and opinions on how we can improve. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Pretty dated but still worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Miami Seaquarium is a dated looking facility, they are trying to make the best of what they have but it really needs some funding and modernisation. It was a pleasant enough way to spend a few hours with the kids. The highlight was the whale and dolphin show, watch out if you are in the front few rows by the entrance, you will really get soaked. The young team presenting the various shows and talks throughout the day were confident, enthusiastic, well informed and interesting. My kids are 2 and 4 and really enjoyed playing in Salty's Pirate Playground which is a playground with some water play. Take some swimming things or a change of clothes and a towel as they will get pretty wet.
The low point was the food, it is absolutely terrible, fast food at it's worst, bring your own snacks.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are happy to hear that you had a pleasant time with your children. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our food options, we are always working on making improvements and thank you for your review. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, MA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing water experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We did the Sea trek and Dolphin Odyssey - so worth it. It was amazing walking in the tank, -sting rays and all sorts of colorful fish swam around. it was SO amazing as the sting rays swam up to us.
time with the dolphins was incredible. the guides were wonderful in both locations - water was cold, but the marine life requires it and we are in their element! SO worth it! do these if you can!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to experience swimming with dolphins and a fun underwater adventure. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice day out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Before I begin, make sure if you are planning on going. Take sunscreen. The sun in unbearable and the shaded places are very limited. If you have babies, make sure you have a lot of water to keep them hydrated.
Shows, with the types of animals they have, they are very limited to "show" you anything. The dolphin show was pretty cute. They pretty much make a short script and show you some of the dolphins flip & jump.
The Whale show has more up to date music therefore you can interact with the audience more.
The food is the typical theme park food. It's priced at a reasonable price. The cafeteria however looks very old. The photographers walk around with different animals and later on sell the pictures at the photo booth. The prices are cheap and you can get them all on a CD or USB. You can even take photos with a Dolphin & SeaLion for just 50 bucks,

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We thank you for the great tips on sunscreen and water; we are always working on making improvements and thank you for your comments on the music and the cafeteria. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.