We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place, Not too Packed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 123 attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Sartell, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun Place, Not too Packed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at the placed on Friday Morning just as the place was opened. Parking was $8 plus the fee to get in. I think they could have went without the parking fee. We were greeted as we came in and they asked us if we'd like our picture taken which we could purchase later in the photo shop. They gave us a map and instruction on what time the shows started. There are some good shows and some that are not all that great... BUT still they are all interesting and they do a good job telling their stories. A couple of the shows we went to the Microphones on the person doing the most talking would cut in and out. I know they probably get wet and that doesn't help but they could use an upgrade there. The Dolphin shows and the Killer Whale Shows of course are the best. We ate pizza while we were there as my family just got a large pizza (was the best value). If there is any downfall to this place I'd say it would be the cost of the photos that they allow you to purchase. If its the picture you take when you walk in the door, or if it be a picture taken with a bird, a lizard, or a dolphin. In my opinion I think they'd sell a ton more at $10-$15 rather than trying to sell them from $20 up to $50 for the one with the dolphin. Still a great place for kids to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We thank you for your comments and opinions on how we can improve. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    527
    316
    143
    154
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Pretty dated but still worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Miami Seaquarium is a dated looking facility, they are trying to make the best of what they have but it really needs some funding and modernisation. It was a pleasant enough way to spend a few hours with the kids. The highlight was the whale and dolphin show, watch out if you are in the front few rows by the entrance, you will really get soaked. The young team presenting the various shows and talks throughout the day were confident, enthusiastic, well informed and interesting. My kids are 2 and 4 and really enjoyed playing in Salty's Pirate Playground which is a playground with some water play. Take some swimming things or a change of clothes and a towel as they will get pretty wet.
The low point was the food, it is absolutely terrible, fast food at it's worst, bring your own snacks.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are happy to hear that you had a pleasant time with your children. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our food options, we are always working on making improvements and thank you for your review. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing water experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We did the Sea trek and Dolphin Odyssey - so worth it. It was amazing walking in the tank, -sting rays and all sorts of colorful fish swam around. it was SO amazing as the sting rays swam up to us.
time with the dolphins was incredible. the guides were wonderful in both locations - water was cold, but the marine life requires it and we are in their element! SO worth it! do these if you can!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to experience swimming with dolphins and a fun underwater adventure. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice day out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Before I begin, make sure if you are planning on going. Take sunscreen. The sun in unbearable and the shaded places are very limited. If you have babies, make sure you have a lot of water to keep them hydrated.
Shows, with the types of animals they have, they are very limited to "show" you anything. The dolphin show was pretty cute. They pretty much make a short script and show you some of the dolphins flip & jump.
The Whale show has more up to date music therefore you can interact with the audience more.
The food is the typical theme park food. It's priced at a reasonable price. The cafeteria however looks very old. The photographers walk around with different animals and later on sell the pictures at the photo booth. The prices are cheap and you can get them all on a CD or USB. You can even take photos with a Dolphin & SeaLion for just 50 bucks,

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. We thank you for the great tips on sunscreen and water; we are always working on making improvements and thank you for your comments on the music and the cafeteria. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“To all sea life lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went on friday and missed many shows, but we got at least the whale show with the dolphins that was really nice. If you have kids or a wife that loves sealife you need to go to Seaquarium!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review; we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our whale and dolphin show. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miami Seaquarium to your Saves list