We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Florida ocean park - loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classic Florida ocean park - loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

With other big name corporate "sea animal" parks in Florida, you almost forget about how it all started. The Miami Seaquarium took me back to my younger days....I loved it. It is set on the ocean so as you look at the animals, you can smell the ocean air. The Flipper show was great and more personal the other dolphin shows I have seen. It is not an all day place, but you can a great time in about 4 hours.
The Dolphin Encounter is a little pricey, BUT, it is the best of the 3 I have done as far as dolphin time (note - the only bad thing is the wait from wet suit change to getting in the water...I changed fast then had to sit for about 25 minutes with no staff giving updates or talking to me or the group)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your comments, we do apologize about your wait between the web suit change and the time that you got in the water. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    525
    314
    143
    153
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Streetsboro, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“How can you NOT love swimming with a dolphin?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Apart from kissing and holding a 9 mo old dolphin and swimming with her mother, the place reminded me of a slightly run down Sea World. The stands were antiquated and needed attention. But, the animals are well cared for with a great husbandry program.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time swimming with the dolphins and we thank you for taking your time to review us. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sea Trek- amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We went on a Friday, nice and quiet ,the shows were ok but we missed some due to having booked transport with a set pick up time, and booking the sea trek in the middle of the day. Sea trek was the most amazing thing we could have done, highly recommend. Underwater in the tropical tank!! Would definitely do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Sea Trek adventure. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Eh...Overpriced, but good if you like Dolphins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

When returning to Miami from our cruise, our flight did not leave until 8:30pm, so we had all day to kill in Miami, so we decided to try out the Miami Seaquarium. I was honestly surprised at the cost, but we were already there, so went ahead and paid the $40/pp to go in. At first I was pleasantly surprised, the area was clean, updated, and I was excited. We went to the Sea Lion show first, which was very funny and entertaining, although only lasted 12 minutes. We wandered a little and then went to the Killer Whale/Dolphin show. I was upset that a killer whale and five dolphins shared that small of a pool. The whale just looked sad, all he would do was follow his trainer around. He did put on a great show, but it took everything I had not to cry because I just felt bad for such a big boy being in a tiny pool. The show was good, but again, only lasted 15 minutes. We went to get something to eat at their restaurant and the food was outrageously priced, and not that great, and the restaurant itself was dirty. Would not reccommend. Finally we went to the Dolphin show, which was really good, again, another 12 minutes, but they did a ton in the 12 minute window. Disappointed in the Croc area, half of the walkway was closed, and they really didnt have that many crocs/gators. The sharks were the most dissapointing, the only "sharks" they have are the nurse sharks, but mainly you see all their large fish swimming around. Don't waste your time on the "Shark Encounter", its just a girl throwing food in the water and it looks like a feeding frenzy by the large fish, the sharks arent interested, and you have to be careful of the dive bombing birds and the poop dropping everywhere! Ugh! All in all, we killed about 5 hours at the aquarium, which included lunch and lots of sitting around people watching, but all in all its a decent place, just not great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. It sounds like you enjoyed many of our shows, but were disappointed with a few areas in the park. We are always working on making improvements and care for our animals very well. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cute park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Seaquarium was a cute little park. It was just my husband and myself and we enjoyed ourselves. We petted stingrays and really enjoyed the manatees. The corn cakes were also very good. I would say it was kind of expensive for how small the park was, but everything in Miami was expensive. Kids would love to check out this park. I highly recommend making the trip over to check it out!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending us, we truly appreciate it. It sounds like you and your husband had a great time; we hope to see you both again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miami Seaquarium to your Saves list