We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...Overpriced, but good if you like Dolphins” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #25 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Troy, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Eh...Overpriced, but good if you like Dolphins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

When returning to Miami from our cruise, our flight did not leave until 8:30pm, so we had all day to kill in Miami, so we decided to try out the Miami Seaquarium. I was honestly surprised at the cost, but we were already there, so went ahead and paid the $40/pp to go in. At first I was pleasantly surprised, the area was clean, updated, and I was excited. We went to the Sea Lion show first, which was very funny and entertaining, although only lasted 12 minutes. We wandered a little and then went to the Killer Whale/Dolphin show. I was upset that a killer whale and five dolphins shared that small of a pool. The whale just looked sad, all he would do was follow his trainer around. He did put on a great show, but it took everything I had not to cry because I just felt bad for such a big boy being in a tiny pool. The show was good, but again, only lasted 15 minutes. We went to get something to eat at their restaurant and the food was outrageously priced, and not that great, and the restaurant itself was dirty. Would not reccommend. Finally we went to the Dolphin show, which was really good, again, another 12 minutes, but they did a ton in the 12 minute window. Disappointed in the Croc area, half of the walkway was closed, and they really didnt have that many crocs/gators. The sharks were the most dissapointing, the only "sharks" they have are the nurse sharks, but mainly you see all their large fish swimming around. Don't waste your time on the "Shark Encounter", its just a girl throwing food in the water and it looks like a feeding frenzy by the large fish, the sharks arent interested, and you have to be careful of the dive bombing birds and the poop dropping everywhere! Ugh! All in all, we killed about 5 hours at the aquarium, which included lunch and lots of sitting around people watching, but all in all its a decent place, just not great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium. It sounds like you enjoyed many of our shows, but were disappointed with a few areas in the park. We are always working on making improvements and care for our animals very well. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    641
    390
    172
    173
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cute park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Seaquarium was a cute little park. It was just my husband and myself and we enjoyed ourselves. We petted stingrays and really enjoyed the manatees. The corn cakes were also very good. I would say it was kind of expensive for how small the park was, but everything in Miami was expensive. Kids would love to check out this park. I highly recommend making the trip over to check it out!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending us, we truly appreciate it. It sounds like you and your husband had a great time; we hope to see you both again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“vacation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I thought this attraction was so overpriced. when i got there it was raining and they clearly wont give you your money back. There was like three attractions there and all the shows were closed. I just thought that for the price it just was not worth it. I paid to help the animals.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small Park, yet quaint and entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We traveled to Miami Seaquarium with our three children and enjoyed the Top Deck Dolphin Show the most because of the proximity to the dolphins. The staff was very friendly and the arrangement of the park is very user friendly. We became annual pass holdres and enjoyed visiting the park several times!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review; we are happy to hear that you became annual pass holders and that you and your family continue to visit us and enjoy the shows. We hope to see you all again soon.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I reserved the Dolphin Odyssey for my fiance as a birthday gift and he enjoyed it so much! The trainers were great and it was the right amount of time to have experience with the beautiful dolphins!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! It sounds like you and your fiance had a great time; we hope to see you both again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.