We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #31 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“vacation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I thought this attraction was so overpriced. when i got there it was raining and they clearly wont give you your money back. There was like three attractions there and all the shows were closed. I just thought that for the price it just was not worth it. I paid to help the animals.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    543
    331
    149
    159
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small Park, yet quaint and entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We traveled to Miami Seaquarium with our three children and enjoyed the Top Deck Dolphin Show the most because of the proximity to the dolphins. The staff was very friendly and the arrangement of the park is very user friendly. We became annual pass holdres and enjoyed visiting the park several times!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review; we are happy to hear that you became annual pass holders and that you and your family continue to visit us and enjoy the shows. We hope to see you all again soon.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I reserved the Dolphin Odyssey for my fiance as a birthday gift and he enjoyed it so much! The trainers were great and it was the right amount of time to have experience with the beautiful dolphins!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! It sounds like you and your fiance had a great time; we hope to see you both again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Encounter with the dolphins was a sweet experience. Kissed them, fed them fish, hugged them. Trainers talked about each of the two dolphins, and answered all our questions. The ticket price was high. However, we had access to the rest of the park. Enjoyed all the shows and animals and mammals. Observed children having a ball!
BK from Marietta, GA

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience during your encounter with the dolphins. Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium and for sharing your experience. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“diego1288”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The main purpose of the visit was for the Dolphin Odyssey, which I gave to my girlfriend as a gift. My review will basically be pros and cons so that it is more helpful.

Dolphin Odyssey Pros:
- great facilities (clean showers, lockers, etc)
- very knowledgeable trainers
- fair prices, especially if you are a resident of Florida, when compared to other places in the Keys
- great experience with the dolphins, extremely fun, great for all ages(and sizes)

*one thing to point out: time in water is 30 minutes(actually 29, but who is counting right) but all in all you will spend about an hour and a half from when you enter to when you exit, so make time

Dolphin Odyssey Cons:
- all trainers were courteous and polite but only couple were nice and smiling, I do understand they get nervous with tourists there, especially when many don't speak the language and therefore cannot follow instructions, but they should know how to handle them after so many years of doing this and try to give a smile. Only two of the trainers smiled and there were 7 of them with us.
- the photos are EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE and you cannot buy just one print, you must get a package (starting at $42). I ended up buying all pictures on a CD for $60 since the $42 package only includes 4 prints. One photo should be complimentary in the price that one pays to get in the water and then one could buy more if desired. Obviously they place their photographers in the ideal place so that family members cannot take the same pictures the photographers take.

As for the rest of the park, I have been there several times. It coincided with the Halloween weekend, and they had many Halloween themed attractions, which is very nice for the kids. They also had places for trick or treating and a party at the end.The shows are great but the whole park is in great need of a face lift. It looks very old(with the exception of the Dolphin Harbour). The Seaquarium is a landmark in Miami and in order to survive in the future it needs to innovate and remodel. All in all we had a very nice time but the park needs to renovate(I know times are tough but they will get tougher without renovations). Would definitely recommend the Dolphin Odyssey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with the dolphins. Thank you for sharing your pros and cons with us; we are always working on making improvements and we thank you for your input.

We hope to see you and your girlfriend again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.