We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Seaquarium

Miami Seaquarium
4400 Rickenbacker Causeway, Miami, FL 33149
305-361-5705
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #30 of 123 attractions in Miami
Type: Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Swimming with dolphins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: On a 38-acre tropical paradise with spectacular skyline views lies a South Florida attraction like no other. Welcome to Miami Seaquarium®, a place where dolphins walk on water and killer whales fly through the air. Where sea lions delight children of all ages and endangered sea turtles and manatees find a safe haven. Enjoy a world-class marine-life entertainment park with eight different marine animal shows and astonishing daily presentations. You've heard the mysterious legends and fascinating facts about dolphins, one of the world's most magnificent marine mammals. Now, you can have a hands-on experience with one of these amazing animals at Dolphin Harbor, the new home to our dolphin interaction programs at Miami Seaquarium.Miami Seaquarium® is a place of inspiration, education - and fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Encounter with the dolphins was a sweet experience. Kissed them, fed them fish, hugged them. Trainers talked about each of the two dolphins, and answered all our questions. The ticket price was high. However, we had access to the rest of the park. Enjoyed all the shows and animals and mammals. Observed children having a ball!
BK from Marietta, GA

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience during your encounter with the dolphins. Thank you for taking the time to review Miami Seaquarium and for sharing your experience. We hope to see you and your family again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    526
    315
    143
    154
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“diego1288”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The main purpose of the visit was for the Dolphin Odyssey, which I gave to my girlfriend as a gift. My review will basically be pros and cons so that it is more helpful.

Dolphin Odyssey Pros:
- great facilities (clean showers, lockers, etc)
- very knowledgeable trainers
- fair prices, especially if you are a resident of Florida, when compared to other places in the Keys
- great experience with the dolphins, extremely fun, great for all ages(and sizes)

*one thing to point out: time in water is 30 minutes(actually 29, but who is counting right) but all in all you will spend about an hour and a half from when you enter to when you exit, so make time

Dolphin Odyssey Cons:
- all trainers were courteous and polite but only couple were nice and smiling, I do understand they get nervous with tourists there, especially when many don't speak the language and therefore cannot follow instructions, but they should know how to handle them after so many years of doing this and try to give a smile. Only two of the trainers smiled and there were 7 of them with us.
- the photos are EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE and you cannot buy just one print, you must get a package (starting at $42). I ended up buying all pictures on a CD for $60 since the $42 package only includes 4 prints. One photo should be complimentary in the price that one pays to get in the water and then one could buy more if desired. Obviously they place their photographers in the ideal place so that family members cannot take the same pictures the photographers take.

As for the rest of the park, I have been there several times. It coincided with the Halloween weekend, and they had many Halloween themed attractions, which is very nice for the kids. They also had places for trick or treating and a party at the end.The shows are great but the whole park is in great need of a face lift. It looks very old(with the exception of the Dolphin Harbour). The Seaquarium is a landmark in Miami and in order to survive in the future it needs to innovate and remodel. All in all we had a very nice time but the park needs to renovate(I know times are tough but they will get tougher without renovations). Would definitely recommend the Dolphin Odyssey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with the dolphins. Thank you for sharing your pros and cons with us; we are always working on making improvements and we thank you for your input.

We hope to see you and your girlfriend again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“outdatet, bad food, to big groups in dolphin encounter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

the groups in the dolphin encounter where to large wich ment very little encounter for the 200 ! $ we paid. The so called restaurants in the park was terrible , bad food and dirty tables, and expensive!
The tanks where the sharks and other animals where in seemed outdatet and dirty
I would never recommend it .
Cant even start to explain how dissapointed my daughter was. She's been looking forward to the dolphinencounter for a year , from the time we started to plan this trip from Sweden.
I dont mind paying more but i dont like to get the feeling that i'm beeing ripped of

Kristina

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and hope that you will give us a second chance in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Dolphin Encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recommend this encounter to people with children, to families traveling together, or to anyone who loves dolphins!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and for recommending us. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Swimming with a dolphin is something i've wanted to do for yrs. I reserved for the Dolphin Odyssey for 3 teens and 3 adults a week before our visit. The time for scheduled participatory was 9:30 am, we went to the Dolphin Harbour facility only to check in again, to fill out papers, then wait for one of the staff to take us to get their wet suits, by now it was after 10:00am. After changing,went to the orientation room only to have to wait to see a cheesy video for 15 minutes. There was a brief talk by a dolphin trainer,sitting on folding chairs in wet suits it was after 10:25. Then there was more waiting until the trainers were ready.
Finally, the group was allowed to go into the pool where you stand on a shallow ledge, and the dolphins come up close and do the same tricks. the trainer were very friendly, but for the amount of money that we pay, the time in the pool is no more than 20 min, you only swimm with the dolphin to the other side, you have to share with 12 other people you time in the pool, and in the website it show the clear pool water and once you are there not clear at ALL. Also we were faced with our backs, my sister could not see our faces to take pictures.However, your photographer was able to get all the pictures she needed since she was able to move around to wherever she wanted. How convenient!! You practically force to buy the pictures, costing more $. Each guess gets to shake hands with the dolphin and kiss it - while a professional photographer shoots a picture. You're there with the dolphins for about twenty minutes It was extremely disappointing to all concerned. I was told that it would take an hour and a half where in reality they were with the dolphins for 20 min. and the rest was mostly wasting time to make it seem like an hour and a half. I felt mostly RUSHED and WASTE OF TIME . After it was over,it was like "Is that It"?. extremely disappointed. I felt taken advantage of and thought that the cost was outrageous and definitely not at all a good value.It cost me nearly $1000.
My friend went last year to key west and did "swimming with the dolphin" for a complete hour and 30 min, and for less.

And now after reading this the maneger of this place is going to say thay are sorry.....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorkingSpider, Manager at Miami Seaquarium, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you had a bad time during your experience and that you felt rushed. We try to make everyone's experience a great one and we are disappointed to hear that this is not what you had hoped for. We do thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Miami Seaquarium
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Seaquarium also viewed

 

Been to Miami Seaquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Seaquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miami Seaquarium to your Saves list