We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing there, just economically depressed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Little Havana

Little Havana
Miami, FL (Little Havana)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$45*
and up
Miami City Tour including Bayside and Biscayne...
Ranked #49 of 104 Attractions in Miami
Type: Neighborhoods, Other
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The spirited Cuban neighborhood of Miami where the sights, sounds and smells are intoxicating. Be sure to sample a traditional Cuban meal or grab a quick sandwich cubano and some empanadas at any of the walk up counters.
YORKSHIRE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing there, just economically depressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 NEW

Read all the mixed reviews and decided we must see the place ourselves and make our own judgement. We expected some kind of Cuban feel/vibe to the place but were sadly disappointed. Arrived by taxi and had to telephone for one to pick us up to get us out of there (maybe they do not venture in unless they have to?) as none cruising through. The whole place is down at heel and just like any other poor district. If you did not know it was "Little Havana" it could be anywhere, although somewhere that does not feel very safe - a few very suspicious characters mooching about and some begging. We would not recommend going at all.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    121
    101
    55
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice area to explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed in Little Havana while we were in Miami for a few days, and loved the character of the neighborhood. We also spent our last morning walking down Calle Ocho from about 19th to 5th, and popped into a handful of shops and galleries along the way - I would definitely recommend checking out this area if you are interested in less touristy and more authentic experiences!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very run down neighbourhood ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We'd read about little Havana as one of the places to visit in Miami so decided to see what all the fuss was about. We decided to take the bus to downtown Miami and walk from there, and upon entering the little Havana area one of the first sights we were greeted with was a guy urinating on the pavement. Things didn't really improve from then on as we walked further and further into this very unsafe feeling neighbourhood. We must have stood out as tourists because a lot of locals seemed to be staring quite menacingly at us. We persevered for about 45 minutes before deciding to turn back to the relative safety of downtown Miami. We may well have missed a trick in not finding the small part of the area actually worth visiting, but to be honest we weren't willing to spend any longer walking around this unnerving place to find it. If you really want to visit little Havana, my advice is to avoid walking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok.. but I expected more..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

A large residential neighbourhood, home to many Cuban and South American immigrants.
I expected more for tourists to see and do as it is a well known area and should potentialy be a diverse cultural hotbed of activity and socialising all year round.
It only comes to life for a few blocks in and around Calle Ocho - SW 8th street. It has a few nice bars, restuarants, cigar lounges and gift shops. A highlight was the little park where the older gents play some dominoes, nice. My favourite bar was the Ball and Chain a very charming establishment with a long history and great food. oh, and look out for the window coffee shops they serve some delicious coffee !

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Must visit place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

This is must visit place if you want to see this very interesting part of Miami and Cuban immigrant culture. Cigar shop and souvenir shops were full of Cuban cultural elements which you can purchase for not so expensive prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Havana also viewed

 

Been to Little Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.