We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viernes Culturales Made the Trip Memorable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Havana

Little Havana
Miami, FL (Little Havana)
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 30 Shopping in Miami
Type: Neighborhoods
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The spirited Cuban neighborhood of Miami where the sights, sounds and smells are intoxicating. Be sure to sample a traditional Cuban meal or grab a quick sandwich cubano and some empanadas at any of the walk up counters.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Viernes Culturales Made the Trip Memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was lucky to be in Little Havana for Viernes Culturales. Such a festive, beautiful event-- it was a highlight of my visit to Miami. Great vibe all along Calle Ocho, wonderful restaurants and galleries, plus the charming Domino Park. The neighbors obviously take pride in their heritage and neighborhood; this is a very worthwhile experience for anyone who wants to experience the unique culture firsthand.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    97
    79
    49
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ok for Calle Ocho - the rest of the time, not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a changing community - for the worse. No longer are there mostly Latino businesses - now there are many oriental businesses and more of a rough crowd.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This area is not a typical toursit stop, It's much more about the cuban culture with its delicious coffee leche, cigar shops, and music. I visited with great older gentleman in a little park where they were playing chess, dominos, checkers, etc. I'm so glad we included it in our trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Little Havana on SW8th St. is interesting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

When in South Florida, we always visit Little Havana. Sometimes we get a typical Cuban meal or coffee. This time we went looking for Cuban Cigars. There are numerous places and all price points to buy these items.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Its always a great experience in Little Havana. It also helps that my husband is Cuban so he is with his peeps..lol
Love the food and coffee.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Havana also viewed

 

Been to Little Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.