We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hour or so well spent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Havana

Little Havana
Miami, FL (Little Havana)
3056492717
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$69*
and up
Little Havana Adventure with Cuban Cigar Rolling
Ranked #31 of 215 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The spirited Cuban neighborhood of Miami where the sights, sounds and smells are intoxicating. Be sure to sample a traditional Cuban meal or grab a quick sandwich cubano and some empanadas at any of the walk up counters.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“An hour or so well spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We drove here on our own and parked on McDonalds car park as it was free and ideally located - not sure if we should have but it was very quiet so not taking up a valuable space.
We had a guide book so had a walk around. There is some fantastic artwork around and it is worth taking time to look at the wall art. Naturally the domino park is the place to see typical Cuban enjoyment, not just dominos though, chess and draughts is played.
The eternal flame is the other main focal point. This is not really a shopping area and if you expect that you will be disappointed, there is one tourist shop - Little Havana to Go and this is where I was given a Cuban coffee, my first and wow i'm hooked. We left and went into the wonderful little cuban cafe next block Equisitor and got another. They spoke little English but they were very friendly and it was great to sit in with other Cubans for a short while.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank lisajlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
270 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Not what I thought it would be like.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

If you have ever been to Little Havana in Tampa.... you know that this part of Town is a party just waiting to happen at every corner..... Miami Little Havana was a big disappointment so to say....if you go... just for food than that would be it.... :( Not much here and your time would be better spent elsewhere.

Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia

Helpful?
4 Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A tour makes a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We would agree with many of the previous comments.

If we had just arrived to the few blocks of Cuban stores, we would have looked in a few shops, had lunch and left somewhat disappointed

Fortunately, we had booked a tour with LittleHavenTours.com and so spent over 3 hours learning much about Cuban culture, history, music, art and food as well as the local area.

Corinna, our guide, was excellent. She provided samples of varous quite different fruits, a Cuban smoothie, Cuban coffee, pastry and ice cream.

At $69 per person, this was not inexpensive but we felt that we received good value all the same.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Cultures Viernes on Calle Ocho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The last Friday night of every month is the best time to visit. Aim for the strip on 8th Street (Calle Ocho) around 11th - 14th Avenues. The art galleries all have open house, there are bands and dancing on the streets. The restaurants are overflowing. My favorite is El Pub: where else can you get great lamb shanks for under $10? Just don't expect anyone to speak English.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ItTakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just a street with few so-called Cuban stores...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's not awful...you just don't get a lot of Cuban culture while walking in the street. I had higher expectations for the place taking into account that there's a lot of Cubans in Miami. It's basically one street with stores with cuban stuff.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Joana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Havana also viewed

 

Been to Little Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing