We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hour or so well spent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Havana

Little Havana
Miami, FL (Little Havana)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$45*
and up
Miami City Tour including Bayside and Biscayne...
Ranked #12 of 34 Shopping in Miami
Type: Neighborhoods, Shopping
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The spirited Cuban neighborhood of Miami where the sights, sounds and smells are intoxicating. Be sure to sample a traditional Cuban meal or grab a quick sandwich cubano and some empanadas at any of the walk up counters.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“An hour or so well spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We drove here on our own and parked on McDonalds car park as it was free and ideally located - not sure if we should have but it was very quiet so not taking up a valuable space.
We had a guide book so had a walk around. There is some fantastic artwork around and it is worth taking time to look at the wall art. Naturally the domino park is the place to see typical Cuban enjoyment, not just dominos though, chess and draughts is played.
The eternal flame is the other main focal point. This is not really a shopping area and if you expect that you will be disappointed, there is one tourist shop - Little Havana to Go and this is where I was given a Cuban coffee, my first and wow i'm hooked. We left and went into the wonderful little cuban cafe next block Equisitor and got another. They spoke little English but they were very friendly and it was great to sit in with other Cubans for a short while.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    112
    93
    51
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Not what I thought it would be like.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

If you have ever been to Little Havana in Tampa.... you know that this part of Town is a party just waiting to happen at every corner..... Miami Little Havana was a big disappointment so to say....if you go... just for food than that would be it.... :( Not much here and your time would be better spent elsewhere.

Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A tour makes a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We would agree with many of the previous comments.

If we had just arrived to the few blocks of Cuban stores, we would have looked in a few shops, had lunch and left somewhat disappointed

Fortunately, we had booked a tour with LittleHavenTours.com and so spent over 3 hours learning much about Cuban culture, history, music, art and food as well as the local area.

Corinna, our guide, was excellent. She provided samples of varous quite different fruits, a Cuban smoothie, Cuban coffee, pastry and ice cream.

At $69 per person, this was not inexpensive but we felt that we received good value all the same.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Cultures Viernes on Calle Ocho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The last Friday night of every month is the best time to visit. Aim for the strip on 8th Street (Calle Ocho) around 11th - 14th Avenues. The art galleries all have open house, there are bands and dancing on the streets. The restaurants are overflowing. My favorite is El Pub: where else can you get great lamb shanks for under $10? Just don't expect anyone to speak English.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just a street with few so-called Cuban stores...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's not awful...you just don't get a lot of Cuban culture while walking in the street. I had higher expectations for the place taking into account that there's a lot of Cubans in Miami. It's basically one street with stores with cuban stuff.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Havana also viewed

 

Been to Little Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.