We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
15th St, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #9 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This zoo is huge so be prepared to walk (or pedal) for several hours! This is a great learning experience for the entire family. The bikes that are available for rent can accommodate small and large families and will make it easier to get to all the exhibits. You will definitely need the whole day to see everything here. The opportunity to feed different animals is wonderful. Their entry fee is more than fair when compared to the overall experience!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    536
    144
    37
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Top-shelf zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The first zoo we've been to that literally required the whole day to see it all (allowing time for photography). When we visited other zoos, like the National Zoo in D.C. or Lowry, we were able to see it all and still have a little time at the end to revisit our favorite exhibits... this one is so big we almost couldn't. This is a BIG zoo. We're pretty experienced at spending entire days on our feet and even we were sore at the end of this one... the zoo has several kinds of vehicles for rent, which we recommend if you want to see everything.
The grounds are well-kept and the animals appear to be exceptionally healthy. The aviary, while immense, appeared to have a more limited diversity than in some other zoos; but we still enjoyed it. The concessions that we tried served food that was surprisingly good, and even more surprisingly, inexpensive.
Almost every exhibit had a moat instead of fencing or other sorts of barriers, which made photography there a real joy; with a decent telephoto you can get some real postcard material here.
Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Dade
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Talk to animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our Miami Zoo has been refurbished and its lovely. Its a large Zoo with an abundance of animals/tress and it has a mono rail and bikes for rent. Come and enjoy a day at the zoo

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miami's Top Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Zoo Miami should be the first place to visit when in South Florida or Miami-Dade. We like the gardens exhibiting all types of lush tropical plants and beautifully well kept gardens. Many hanging blooming orchids, bromelias ...it's a paradise. Always plenty of clean fresh air, oh man this is healthy tour!
It is safe for tourists to take a nice long walk through a tropical forest, the paved paths are about three miles long. I can recommend a nice long walk to settle the nerves. All you need are comfortable shoes, a bottle of water and be ready to enjoy your sight. The animals in the zoo are divided in geographical areas of the world, such as Africa, Tropical Forest, Aviary, Children's zoo etc. What makes Zoo Miami a fun place to visit is the combination of gardens, lakes and animals. The price of admission is very reasonable, an adult ticket is under twenty dollars. It's a big place to see...a walking tour can take at least two hours. They also rent tricycles,or take the train if your are not in a walking mood. The Zoo Miami is located near the Florida Turnpike exit, about 15 miles southwest from the International Airport or about a half an hour ride.
A nice Florida tan is always free.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Day with relaxed animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went during the week when it wasn't crowded. The animals seemed content and relaxed. Much more interaction than you get when a crowd is around. The animals also had a good deal of open space, similar to what you see at the Bronx Zoo, San Diego or Cincinnati Zoo. I highly recommend renting one of the pedal cars. These human powered 'cars' can accommodate 2, 4 or 6 people. It's a great way to get around the park on YOUR schedule. A plus is the tarp on the roof which keeps the sun off of you. We had a ball feeding the giraffes.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.