We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami's Top Attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
15th St, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #9 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miami's Top Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Zoo Miami should be the first place to visit when in South Florida or Miami-Dade. We like the gardens exhibiting all types of lush tropical plants and beautifully well kept gardens. Many hanging blooming orchids, bromelias ...it's a paradise. Always plenty of clean fresh air, oh man this is healthy tour!
It is safe for tourists to take a nice long walk through a tropical forest, the paved paths are about three miles long. I can recommend a nice long walk to settle the nerves. All you need are comfortable shoes, a bottle of water and be ready to enjoy your sight. The animals in the zoo are divided in geographical areas of the world, such as Africa, Tropical Forest, Aviary, Children's zoo etc. What makes Zoo Miami a fun place to visit is the combination of gardens, lakes and animals. The price of admission is very reasonable, an adult ticket is under twenty dollars. It's a big place to see...a walking tour can take at least two hours. They also rent tricycles,or take the train if your are not in a walking mood. The Zoo Miami is located near the Florida Turnpike exit, about 15 miles southwest from the International Airport or about a half an hour ride.
A nice Florida tan is always free.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    941
    535
    143
    37
    26
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Day with relaxed animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went during the week when it wasn't crowded. The animals seemed content and relaxed. Much more interaction than you get when a crowd is around. The animals also had a good deal of open space, similar to what you see at the Bronx Zoo, San Diego or Cincinnati Zoo. I highly recommend renting one of the pedal cars. These human powered 'cars' can accommodate 2, 4 or 6 people. It's a great way to get around the park on YOUR schedule. A plus is the tarp on the roof which keeps the sun off of you. We had a ball feeding the giraffes.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Be prepared to walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Miami has a great zoo. Just don't go there in the summer time!!! We have lived her for years and I am a member there. I go frequently to practice photography. I mostly rent a cycle so that I can load up my gear, but the distances are huge and you will really need the bike to see the far distant exhibits. Food there is not worth the money. Bring your own snack. The exhibits are best seen early in the cooler mornings before the animals hide from the broiling sun.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Top notch zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I can almost say I planned to vacation in Miami so I could come here and was quite impressed! I love taking our family to zoos all over and this one was very well managed. First off the price is 14.95 per adult, quite reasonable considering how much these animals can eat! Animals all looked healthy, enclosures were spacious, and low fences made viewing even for little ones easy. It almost felt like a stroll in a park except there are lions or giraffes on the other side of the hedges (The zoo did a great job hiding moats and barriers). Zoo is quite large, we never felt crowded or rushed when viewing the animals but it could have been cause our visit was a weekday in winter, much more comfortable if you ask me. We actually came back for a second visit with their 5 for 5 deal ($5/pp if you return within 5 days). Mostly we returned so we could ride a bicycle cart this time; looked great but maybe I got a bum bike cause I was sweating hard trucking our two kids and wife (who's steering wheel and pedals probably didn't work!) had a good laugh at my expense! Still a fun day, visiting Zoo Miami was the highlight of our vacation.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing days out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

So much to see and do, we had to return on a second day to see the rest!
Our 3 year old son loved the place, there was so many interactive things to get involved with. Especially the water play park (bring swim wear and water shoes) and the dino pit - dig for dinosaur fossils!
The animal exhibits were greatly laid out so that you can see the animals clearly in their enclosures.
We had so much fun. This zoo is a great day out for adults and kids, all animal lovers and probably the best zoo I've been to in the world.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.