We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
15th St, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Zoo Miami like an insider
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #10 of 277 things to do in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We are 60 - somethings and love animals so we decided to give the zoo a try as we are staying in Miami for a few days. We were not disappointed. However, if done again, I think we might rent the surrey. It's lots of walking and, although we are both in reasonable shape, we found it tiring to get from place to place. The signage was a bit confusing and we didn't think the map was very helpful... and my husband is a really good map reader. But, he was stymied a few times. It seemed odd to me that there was no personnel around anywhere to assist or give direction.
We visited on a Friday and did not find it crowded. However, when we arrived at 1pm, they only had one ticket window open so there was quite a long line formed. Anyway, all in all, we would recommend this nice zoo that seems to take good of the animals. Many species we had never heard of before! Worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    645
    176
    46
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Plan to be here the whole day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I recommend going very early to this zoo as the lines got long in the heat of the day. There are surreys to rent and we quickly figured out why...it is HUGE! There is only one path to take all the way around the zoo (with several short cuts). The surroundings are well kept, good amounts of shade through out, misting areas and several splash/water areas for the kids. The food is over priced and your typical zoo food. Our kids (5 and 3) loved it and were exhausted by the end with all that walking - take strollers at the least. We would go back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claygate Surrey England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Second visit was even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

What surprised us was the stuff we missed on our first visit. Quite a journey from downtown Miami but well worth the visit. If you're a tourist try to go weekdays and get there early. The best thing to do is get a bike or a stroller if you want either because very large queues form for this service. Hiring a bike is great fun and you can lock up an leave it when you go to eat or see the attractions. Excellent information for children to learn about world habitats as well as the animals. Fast food is available but I would not call it gourmet!! Altogether a really good day out and reminds us that the Americans do attractions extremely well. Parking is extensive and you need to remember where Dad hid the car!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiânia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No cages, natural-like enclosures for the animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

You can see a large variety of species in an environment that mimics their natural habitats. Best zoo experience. Kids small and teens should enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We took our grandkids (9,11) to the zoo this past week and we all thoroughly enjoyed the visit. It is at least a half-day activity to see all the zoo has to offer, including the special presentations. I would recommend getting there early as the crowds really pick up later in the day (also better for heat and seeing the animals more active). There is a lot of walking so wear comfortable shoes or rent a "family" cycle which can seat four or more people. We also rented a Swan paddleboat on the lake which the grandkids really enjoyed. Plan a good portion of your day and slowly walk through the entire zoo. BTW, senior citizens get a substantial entry fee discount so if you qualify ask for it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.