We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good zoo, a little maintenance needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
15th St, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$85*
and up
South Florida Explorer Pass
Ranked #10 of 203 things to do in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good zoo, a little maintenance needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

In general visiting this zoo was a nice experience. There were positive and negative aspects of the visit. From the positive side I must comment that I was surprised by the variety of species and size of the zoo. I have only visited this place once, and it was in 1986, so my memories of it were vague. Beyond the most common zoo animals like lions, elephant and giraffe I was pleased to see many rare animals like the okapi and the gerenuk. My favorite area of the zoo was the Amazon and cloud forest exhibits. It was very well presented with a lot of different insects, reptiles and frogs. On the negative side the park needs a bit more maintenance. There are many things in disrepair like the entrance pavilion which is very worn out. The tables on the eating area in the oasis was very dirty with a lot a trash in the tables and in the floor and some birds around it. But in general, and for the price paid ($17) this visit was a good value and I recommend it for any spare day in you Miami visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,265
    743
    207
    51
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very large, but needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The zoo is very large and beautiful, but the exhibits are very far apart, there are not enough signs, and the hedges are too tall for children in strollers to see over them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Day Trip, Rent a Bike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I visited the Zoo in early spring, when the temperature was cool and the zoo was not very crowded. I was impressed by the animal exhibits. All of the animals were active and had large exhibit areas. There was a great diversity of animals to see, and a lot of great photo ops.

My partner and I did not realize exactly how large the park was, but should've known that anything with a monorail is of a considerable size. We are both active under 35 year olds, and by the end of the day we were ready for a nice nap. It would probably be unbearable during the peak of the summer heat.

However, they do offer bicycle trollies for you to rent and I would highly recommend renting one. Most people seemed to just bike from exhibit to exhibit, which is a great option for shade, a seat, and a smoother ride throughout the park.

This was a great day trip and I thoroughly enjoyed the zoo. Will be back!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice e zoo with a lot of interesting animal exhibits. Aviary was nice. Loved the gorillas the most. We appreciated the water park area and food was decent enough for the price. Fair warning though, I am a Florida native and it is unbearably hot after 1pm in summer if you can't take the heat. Choose a nice overcast day or breezy day. Rent the bicycles. Expensive but worth it. Monorail is a waste of money. Spend most of your time waiting around and stop offs are too few.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We went to this amazing zoo and were very pleased with the animals, views and personel. It was mother's day and they had a special brekfeast with animal shows and demonstration for kids.
Also there was a water park for kids nearby the playground and food court. It was really refreshing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.