We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average zoo (but our family had a ball!)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
15th St, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$85*
and up
South Florida Explorer Pass
Ranked #7 of 215 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just an average zoo (but our family had a ball!)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family of four visited Zoo Miami last Thursday. First let me say that you shouldn't get your hopes up thinking that this is an incredible exhibit-oriented zoo because it is not. The exhibits here are more sparse and they look as though they need a good deal of maintenance and upkeep. The animals all looked as though they were well-cared for. But the habitats and just the general look of the zoo doesn't compare well with the many other zoos we have visited over the years. It looks run down and in need of a makeover!

There is a lot of ground to cover here, so be warned it is a lot of walking. We rented a 4 person safari cycle for our family and had so much fun with it. It gives you a bit of shade and a place to sit.

We had lunch at the Oasis and the food was OK and the prices were very reasonable considering what most other zoos charge. The cafe was clean. Speaking of money this was not an expensive day at all. The admission prices were very fair I thought.

There is also a zoo monorail that we did not ride. And for the younger kids there is a water play area that looked like a lot of fun.

This is not a zoo we would visit again but we did have a good time just being together here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank davfamo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointing visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Not expensive but not really nice attraction.... They should take care of the Animal's Habitats.
Look like an old zoo from the 50's....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PatGuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Impressed Local, what an amazing Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I LOVE this zoo! I have been a couple of times already and love it so much and so does my 2 yr old. I also went with family visiting from out of the country and they were really impressed.

Admission is a bargain! About $15 and you can find $3 off coupons online. (compared to other attractions in Miami like Jungle Island and Miami Seaquarium it is an amazing price!)

Keep in mind this Zoo is HUGE! get there early so you can see it all. You can feed the giraffes and Rhinos for about $3.
The animals seem happy and have plenty of space, there are SO many of them everywhere you don't have to try hard to see them like in other zoos. Parking is free (unlike other attractions).

I cannot say enough about this place, it is SO beautiful! A Must see! :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank adrimolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great walk with fantastic exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

When our children were little, living fairly close to the Zoo, we went all the time. With the kids grown, we had not been there in quite a number of years. Having exhausted every local place to take a nice walk over the years, we decided to go to the Zoo! We purchased an annual membership pass on-line in a matter of minutes and off we went. Many new exhibits since we were last there spaced very nicely over a 3 mile walk. While many animals seem to spend much of their day sleeping, Zoo Miami is packed with plenty of interesting animals that always seem to be at play. The stars today were the giant otters, chimpanzees and gorillas. One large silverback was up against the viewing glass fast asleep giving us a chance to really see him up close. Because this was Easter Sunday, by the time we left, the place was packed, many on rented family bikes. Fortunately, I remembered that most people seem to start their walk or bike rides to the right. We went left and seemed to have much of the Zoo to ourselves until we finally hit the crowds as we got most of the way around. Over the last few hundred feet to the exit, we felt we were driving down the wrong side of the highway. Hints, if you're going on a weekend, go early and start your walk to the left side. A most enjoyable three hours! And, with our fairly priced annual membership, we will be back often!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family enjoyment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and 3&5 yr old daughters took a trip south and decided to break the trip up in Miami and since we had annual membership to our local zoo got a great discount for admission into this zoo. We decided to rent the family bikes and this was definitely a new and fun way to share this new experience. The four person bike also provided just enough shade from the drizzle and we were able to go through this huge zoo in just an hr and a half. The only problem with the bikes is getting the kids on and off for certain areas but we thoroughly enjoyed this visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing