We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing visit” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
1 Zoo Blvd, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #9 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Plantation, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointing visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Not expensive but not really nice attraction.... They should take care of the Animal's Habitats.
Look like an old zoo from the 50's....

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    445
    115
    32
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Impressed Local, what an amazing Zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I LOVE this zoo! I have been a couple of times already and love it so much and so does my 2 yr old. I also went with family visiting from out of the country and they were really impressed.

Admission is a bargain! About $15 and you can find $3 off coupons online. (compared to other attractions in Miami like Jungle Island and Miami Seaquarium it is an amazing price!)

Keep in mind this Zoo is HUGE! get there early so you can see it all. You can feed the giraffes and Rhinos for about $3.
The animals seem happy and have plenty of space, there are SO many of them everywhere you don't have to try hard to see them like in other zoos. Parking is free (unlike other attractions).

I cannot say enough about this place, it is SO beautiful! A Must see! :)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great walk with fantastic exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

When our children were little, living fairly close to the Zoo, we went all the time. With the kids grown, we had not been there in quite a number of years. Having exhausted every local place to take a nice walk over the years, we decided to go to the Zoo! We purchased an annual membership pass on-line in a matter of minutes and off we went. Many new exhibits since we were last there spaced very nicely over a 3 mile walk. While many animals seem to spend much of their day sleeping, Zoo Miami is packed with plenty of interesting animals that always seem to be at play. The stars today were the giant otters, chimpanzees and gorillas. One large silverback was up against the viewing glass fast asleep giving us a chance to really see him up close. Because this was Easter Sunday, by the time we left, the place was packed, many on rented family bikes. Fortunately, I remembered that most people seem to start their walk or bike rides to the right. We went left and seemed to have much of the Zoo to ourselves until we finally hit the crowds as we got most of the way around. Over the last few hundred feet to the exit, we felt we were driving down the wrong side of the highway. Hints, if you're going on a weekend, go early and start your walk to the left side. A most enjoyable three hours! And, with our fairly priced annual membership, we will be back often!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family enjoyment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and 3&5 yr old daughters took a trip south and decided to break the trip up in Miami and since we had annual membership to our local zoo got a great discount for admission into this zoo. We decided to rent the family bikes and this was definitely a new and fun way to share this new experience. The four person bike also provided just enough shade from the drizzle and we were able to go through this huge zoo in just an hr and a half. The only problem with the bikes is getting the kids on and off for certain areas but we thoroughly enjoyed this visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
392 helpful votes 392 helpful votes
“Old with limited animals; truly sad...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I'm a local and have visited many zoos around the country. Property is huge with endless space for expansion however is ugly, pooly kept and very dated...
Many exhibits only had 1 or 2 animals when it's designed to accommodte many more.
Animals too far away to appreciate; difficult for kids or short people to see.
Zoo filled with disrespectful south & central americans; saw people throw trash and food into exhibits.
Witnessed two heated arguments that all most turned into fist fights. Few employees around and no visable security to assit.
Bathrooms filthy and smelly.
The Zoo Miami is embarrassing; would never recommend to anyone...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zoo Miami to your Saves list