We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it was a nice way to kill a layover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
1 Zoo Blvd, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #7 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Thought it was a nice way to kill a layover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

With a 7 hour layover, we didn't want to wait in the airport, so we grabbed a rental car and headed for the zoo. Fifteen minutes later we were enjoying the sunshine. I thought the admission rates were very reasonable and everyone seemed to have coupons, so I am sure with a little hunting, we could have found some (Entertainment Book).

Animals were all out and clearly visible. There are water comfort stations along the way to cool you off as you are walking. I would suggest renting the bike taxis, especially if you have smaller children; we underestimated the loop around.

The facility was clean and there were food and drink options every few minutes. I thought the water play areas were a nice feature too. All and all a great way to spend an afternoon. I also appreciated the free parking! Good job Zoo Miami!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    387
    107
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an amazing time at the zoo. The zoo mimicked the natural environments of animals really well and it was also nice to see so many amazing creatures we never imagined could exist. Overall a great learning experience

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Animal Encounters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a great park, and has had many upgrades over the years! My family and I have been going to Zoo Miami for about 30 years now, and are still impressed every time we go. The park is huge, with tons of up close animals! Many of which are so rare you'll only see them here. The animals settings are also large and done quite professionally. My family and I go to Busch Gardens, and Disney's Animal Kingdom quite regularly and are still impressed by this zoo. The only bad part is the monorail, which sadly needs to be upgraded. The cars are small and the monorail drips on you if you happen to be walking underneath it as it passes by. If you are looking for a great afternoon with your family, and you are bonkers for animals like we are, this zoo is a great encounter!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hot in th summer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is mostly an outdoor zoo. Great for walking around in the winter. A test of endurance in the summer. Outdoor mists help, though. Bird of paradise exhibit was my favorite. The food offered through out is average at best. If your kids like animals they will enjoy, just try to do in the winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A huge zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This zoo is huge and offers a lot to see and experience. We tried to walk around the park on a warm December day but had to use the skytrain on the way to be able to complete our tour. The staff was very friendly and offered plenty of information about the animals.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.