We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the model of efficiency” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
15th St, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$85*
and up
South Florida Explorer Pass
Ranked #10 of 204 things to do in Miami
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the model of efficiency”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The zoo and animals are great but the Dade County Municipal should open their eyes and make the entrance lines and concession lines more efficient. It us about 5 minutes to size up the complete lack of thought put into serving the crowds food at the concession stands. You must wait in 20 minute lines to order your food then another 20 min to pay. I realize these are municipal employees but seriously, this is ridiculous. I hope someone from the local govt reads this and looks into it as with a few simple changes they can dramatically improve the lines.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,269
    747
    208
    51
    40
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great day with kids at the Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The Miami Zoo is an excellent value- the zoo is huge with tons of animals! We fed the giraffes. It is a great day outing for families.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great if you have young kids, otherwise not the best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had visited the zoo with my daughter about 10 years ago when she was younger and for someone her age (I would say under 12) it is a great place to visit. Now that she is older, still fun, but not as interesting as I remember. The zoo has a lot of nice attractions, but compared to other zoos I have been to, lacks in the quanity of animals and in the range of animals that are exhibited. Compared to the Tampa Zoo, it is a step behind. It is unfortunate since the Miami area is such a tourist area and really doesn't offer much for the kids. The city could really put some effort into the zoo and make it a top notch destination.

Overall, with young kids, I think they will truly enjoy it since they do have a petting zoo area, camel rides, and feeding giraffes. The Asian aviary is nice for adults with a wide array of rare birds that you don't often see. Prices for memorabilia and food/drinks is on par with other zoos. If my kids were over 12 I would probably skip it unless they wanted to see it. But with young kids, worth a trip. Be prepared to walk a fairly good distance and take time out to see the shows. They are well worth the price of admission and offer up a nice rest break for the feet. Also, we always visit in the fall since the weather is much nicer. Can be very, very hot in the summer.

One nice thing I did note over other zoos was the number of photo areas that are offered here - the things you put your head through like a gorilla body.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was not impressed with my visit to Zoo Miami. I have visited lots of Zoos in US and Europe but this one comes near the bottom of the list. The zoo is well designed but it is lacking in animals. The zoo covers a large area which meant a lot of walking but there is too much vacant space. There is a monorail but this is not included in the admission fee.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxed Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Miami Zoo is a great place to go with families, friends or even a date. You can either walk or rent high-bicycles to explore the park. They have a new zone called Amazon that os very pretty. walking around the big pond they have is very relaxing and you get to see animals in they natural habitad. If you want to rent bicycles go early, because they run out fast!
There are other activities that can be done, like the Critter at night, that you have to go in advance and reserve through the Zoo page. You will get a private tour during sunset and get to see animal behave differently.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.