We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful day and a memorable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zoo Miami

Zoo Miami
1 Zoo Blvd, 12400 SW 152 St, Miami, FL 33177
305-251-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #10 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Zoos
Activities: Viewing wildlife, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sanctuary for endangered, rare and threatened animals including tigers, crocodiles and the infamous Komodo Dragon, plus special animal education programs geared for children of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful day and a memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We really enjoyed the zoo and were fortunate to be there on a nice warm, sunny day - but not too hot. It is very spacious and in places it is more like walking in a park. There are many interesting animals and lots of opportunities to interact. We fed the pelicans which was a lot of fun. The food at the Oasis is fairly reasonable. For those who bring their own food, you cannot bring it into the zoo itself. However, there are picnic tables just outside the gates. The parking lot is adjacent so a quick run to a vehicle to grab some food works well. Just get your hand stamped and you will be re-admitted.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    470
    125
    33
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a blast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved the giraffe feeding. It was totally worth it. The food wasn't as expensive as I expected to be. I didn't like that you had to search deeply for the animals because most of them were hiding. It's a long park so you have to really know your way around to actually see everything. Overall, a nice place to enjoy your day with the family. There's a splashing area where kids can get wet and run around.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami and Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Miami Metro Zoo is sooo nice! Animals have a lot of space and not in small cages. To walk the park you will need about 4 hours!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Huge the zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I would definitely recommend to rent bike in the zoo. It is really huge. I didn't and it was mistake. Save your time and feets

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having read previous reviews on this site we were not sure what to expect. It's fantastic! The animals are up close and personal and despite what others have said you do not need binoculars. Some are at a little distant but this simply means they have lots of space to enjoy and they do wander closer at times. You certainly do not need the bicycles, we walked the whole zoo comfortably in 5 hours - you will miss things if you cycle. Do feed the giraffes and visit the childrens' zoo, even if you don't have any! The staff are passionate and knowledgeable. The place is well laid out, really just one route to follow and designed so that you don't miss anything. VERY clean and the animals look happy and well looked after. Do check online though for coupons,

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zoo Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zoo Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.