We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #40 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We visited Miami for 4 days and our stay at the hotel was comfortable. Our window view from the room was amazing of the downtown city core and the bridge and water. The space was good and it was clean. The bed was also comfortable. We didn't have a fridge for the first day but put a request in and had it put in the day after. There was no microwave or anything either so most of our leftovers we brought back were never eaten.

The lobby area is big and open and has free wi-fi access otherwise you would need to purchase it for you room. There was also wi-fi access by the roof top pool. The pool itself was clean for the most part and they had enough beds but not many umbrellas. Also the pool bar was never open which was a bit of a hassle to get drinks.

In the downstairs lobby area the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were always quick to get us a cab or direct us to our location and answer our questions. I found the bus area beside the hotel to be a bit sketchy and the bus drivers themselves are very rude and not helpful. But it is easy to catch a bus for $2.50 to go down to Miami Beach. Its about a 15 minutes drive. Cab is about $20.00 one way.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your detailed comments about your recent stay at Hilton Miami Downtown. From your comfortable accommodations to your time at our rooftop pool, sounds like your stay was perfect and that makes us happy. Our staff are committed to assisting our guests in any way they can, and they were glad to help you with transportation and other questions. We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    867
    350
    126
    69
See reviews for
507
584
115
463
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My colleagues and I stayed overnight in MIA for a business trip last week and we had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Downtown MIA. This is great property located downtown next to a nice area full of shops and restaurants (about 20 minutes from the airport). They have a great workout facility and a nice outdoor pool on the 7th floor that overlooks the city for a very unique view. The room was huge with large floor to ceiling windows giving an excellent view of the city and the bay (I was on the 19th floor). We had lunch in their Bistro restaurant the first day and the snapper wraps were excellent. The bed was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. We also had club access which is their lounge on the 16th floor. They had a very nice spread of appetizers in the early evening and then a very good hot breakfast the next morning. We also had a few drinks in the lobby bar later that evening were there was a nice ambiance. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is a great property and the employees did a fabulous job.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of your great experience with Hilton Miami Downtown. Sounds like every aspect of your stay with our hotel suited you perfectly and that makes us happy. Our guests do enjoy the breathtaking views of Miami our hotel offers from every room, and appreciate our central location. All of our associates will be glad to hear how friendly and helpful you found them. Whether for business or leisure, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in hilton Miami downtown for 10 nights. It was our first time to Miami. On our first morning of our stay we sat down with Guy from the concierge service who arranged our Disneyland tour to Orlando and offered us great advice of where to go and how to get around Miami. He went above and beyond what he needed to and for that we thank him! He's a great asset to the hotel!

Mr and Mrs Sangray.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Your stay at Hilton Miami Downtown sounds perfect, and we’re delighted to have assisted you with arranging your activities. Our concierge associate is gratified to know he could make such a positive contribution to your trip. We’re so happy to have provided such a memorable first trip to Miami, and invite you to come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was one of the nicest rooms I have had in awhile. Corner room facing the city and bay. Floor to ceiling windows. Massive room with 2 queen beds and sitting area on the 17th floor. Staff was great from the moment we checked in. Very helpful and always smiling, so professional. I wasn't expecting a lot for the price but ended up totally surprised. Very quite. This place is a favorite in my books now. Breakfast in the hotel was also a great experience. Big pool. 10 minute walk to American Airlines Center and 5 minute drive to the Cruise Port. 15 minute walk to Bayside Marketplace. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with queen beds. Do a junior suite upgrade if offered. You won't be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
It is an honor and a thrill to read a guest review such as yours! Thank you for sharing your comments about Hilton Miami Downtown. It’s wonderful to hear our staff were great from the minute you arrived, and you always found them helpful and pleasant. We’re glad you feel our hotel was a good value, and that your breakfast was a great experience. Sounds like our location and amenities really helped to make your stay memorable. We invite you to come back soon for another great Miami getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here after our cruise, and one of the reasons we stayed here was because there was a roof top pool advertised. Well, yes the pool was on the roof of the lobby!!! Not the hotel building, which was a big disappointment. If I had knew it was not on top of the entire hotel, then i wouldn't have stayed here. Other than that, the room was very comfy and the staff was very delightful and very helpful. I'm not sure if I would stay here again, just because of the misleading pool description. The hotel description also mentioned starbucks in the lounge, which was also misleading. It was basically a coffee shop that sold starbucks coffee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We’re happy to hear you found your guestroom comfortable, and our staff delightful. However, we regret if you were surprised in any way with the location of our pool. Our website indicates that our rooftop pool is on the 7th floor and gives guests spectacular views of the city. It is an amenity many of our guests enjoy, but we apologize if you were unclear about it. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for four days with friends whilst enjoying a short holiday in Miami. We had problems with this hotel before we even boarded the plane to Miami, the reservations team seemed to find it extremely difficult to add an extra person onto our booking despite our room already being able to accommodate three guests. After many emails between my friend and the management they assured her the reservation for three had been arranged and promised some added extras to apologise for the issues she had.

Two of us arrived at the hotel earlier than the third guest, when checking in the guy who was serving us seemed to have absolutely no clue about the additional person on our booking or the extras we had been promised. He began writing out vouchers for the buffet breakfast service and despite us explaining that there was three of us he was still writing two guests on the vouchers he then said he would send them up to our room. There was no bellboy service and we had to take our own luggage up to our room although this wasn't really a problem you would expect this service in a Hilton.

Once we arrived in our room very tired after a 10 hour flight we where extremely disappointed to find that the room had no bath robes or complimentary water. We contacted housekeeping to request two bath robes, we where assured that the robes would be brought up immediately however after a 30 minute wait we where still without robes. We had to call housekeeping back numerous times it race the robes, after about 50 minutes a security guard delivered two robes however proceded to tell us that robes was not something they offer in rooms at this hotel. We where so thirsty that we had to order water from room service which cost over 5 dollars per bottle! We later discovered a vending machine on our corridor that sold water but it was not chilled and very warm so pretty pointless really.

Our next problem was encountered the next morning at breakfast when we presented our vouchers we where told we only had the continental service not the buffet despite the man who checked us in explaining we had the breakfast buffet service. However this problem was soon resolved by a lovely manager named Halle that assured us we had the wrong vouchers and we where fine to have the buffet for the duration of our stay.

I must say the breakfast buffet was lovely with a very wide choice, the fresh fruits where delicious. The waiting staff in the restaurant where also very friendly and accommodating. The pool area was ok although looked a bit abandoned as there was not many beds and only two parasols.

The room cleaning service was diabolical on one occasion dirty glasses where left in the room and robes taken away without bein replaced. However the worst part was when our room was not cleaned at all for almost 48 hours! We left the room at 1pm putting the please clean me sign on however when we returned at 5pm the room still hadnt been cleaned. We phoned to speak to a manager to complain about this matter, we where assured our room would be cleaned whilst we where out that evening however when we returned at 11pm the room still hadn't been cleaned. Once again we had to complain we requested that someone came to clean the room in about an hour when we went back out, however someone from housekeeping turned up immediately, we informed the lady that we requested the room to be cleaned in an hour. However when we returned to the room at 2am it was still not cleaned meaning we had no clean towels, a room full of dirty glasses and overflowing bins for 48 hours! When we rang to complain we were told that housekeeping left at 5pm which was obviously a lie as someone came to our room at 11pm after our second complaint.

When our room was finally cleaned the next day the towels where placed into swan shapes, everything was organised and spotless and we where given 9 bottles of water. We found this to be extremely patronising said the staff where humouring our complaints. However this proved that the service could be great but they just don't bother!

The hotel was dated, the rooms where extremely dated and did not come with standard amenities such as a mini bar. The best part about the hotel was the breakfast and the close transport links and also ease of getting a taxi. The worse part was definetitely the service from check in staff, management, reservations staff and housekeeping staff. As a Hilton honours member that regularly stays in Hilton hotels around the world I can honestly say this was the worst service I have ever endured and I am surprised Hilton are willing to put their brand name to this hotel. This hotel really needs some improvement and some standard Hilton services put into place, I have actually stayed In better doubletree hilton hotels than this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for providing such detailed feedback from your recent visit. While we’re glad you enjoyed your breakfast buffet and appreciated the kind customer service of some of our staff, it is incredibly disappointing to read about the issues you shared, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Your comments will be related to our housekeeping associates as well as our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I've been to this hotel only for 2 days but I liked it really much since it was very comfortable and beautiful. The aspect I liked most was the landscape of my room, which was breathtaking. Anyway, service and cleaning were flawless, like the rooms and the position.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We’re so glad you enjoyed our hotel, especially our amazing view of Miami. We love seeing it every day ourselves! Our associates will be thrilled to hear you found their housekeeping and customer service to be flawless. We hope you can come back again soon to Hilton Miami Downtown, and for a longer visit next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#24 Family Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.