We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grateful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #39 of 130 hotels in Miami
Altamonte Springs, United States
1 review
“Grateful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had an extremely nice experience in this hotel. Nice installations, clean and neat. Staff are very friendly and ready to help you anytime. Location is a A+. Rooms are very comfortable. We used a lot the internet connection for the kids, and we can say that they have a very good service. Definitely we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
It is all of us at the Hilton Miami Downtown that are grateful for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed such a positive experience. As you mentioned, our associates are always on hand to help in any way they can and will be so happy to know that you found their service to be such a memorable part of your stay. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    545
    742
    310
    114
    61
See reviews for
422
485
94
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, Bahamas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is an older hotel but the food and services is excellent. We were impressed with the breakfast buffet that provided a variety of fresh fruits and smoothies as well as a large choice of hot dishes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
There is nothing quite like a delicious and hearty breakfast to start the day off right. Thank you for sharing your time with us at the Hilton Miami Downtown. We are delighted you enjoyed such an excellent stay and hope you will come to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The night we spent at this hotel was great. The receptionist was extremely helpful and upgraded us because it was my wife's birthday. We found some good places on the Boulevard for dinner and drinks. Our room was very comfortable and had great views. They even brought us fruit and drinks to help celebrate the birthday. The best part for me was the 4 mile run to the beaches in Miami and the 4 mile run back to the hotel. Give the place a try if you have to catch a cruise in the morning.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
A great run in a new area can be so much fun! Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hilton Miami Downtown and Happy Birthday to your wife! Our associates love to celebrate special occasions with our guests and we are glad you appreciated the extra efforts. We hope your cruise was just as positive. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here a night before we boarded our cruise. 10 minutes from airport, 5 minutes to cruise terminal. lots of food around the hotel zone and a touristy shopping entertainment center a short walk. The rooms are ok, nothing fancy. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your visit with us. We are thrilled to know that your stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown was such a positive experience. Providing our guests with a fantastic stay in all ways is of utmost importance to us and often the culmination of all of the small touches make an experience that much more exceptional. We are located within walking distance of so many great downtown destinations and we are glad you appreciated that as well as the value you found! We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel based upon the premise that it was a hilton with a 4 star rating. Did not meet 4 star criteria or meet the the standards of other Hilton's I've stayed at. Lobby and meeting rooms are nice, but the rooms are in need of a major renovation.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We appreciate that you have brought your experience to our attention. Excellence in all we do is extremely important and we apologize that your encounter was lacking in any way or if our accommodations were not what you had hoped they would be. While we never like reading that a guest has left with anything other than a wonderful impression of our hotel, we are grateful that you have shared the details of your stay with us. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here for Business in January, I was due to stay there 6 days but checked out after 1 night!

I travel a lot with Business so I know a good hotel from a bad one,

Anyway, I walked into what is quite a dreary/dated Reception to check-in. I was welcomed and told I had been upgrade to a 'Corner Deluxe room' (I am a Hilton Honors Diamond Card holder). When I walked into my room, it did NOT look deluxe - it looked like a cheap £40/night motel room. The walls were coated with yellow light stipple Artex, the furniture was worn and chipped on the edges and the door frames and Wardrobe Louvre doors all looked 'hand made'. It looked like the Carpenter must have been learning 'on-the-job' - the quality of the workmanship was appalling.
In the room I switched the Air-con on and the noise it produced was stunning - it sounded like the engine from the Jumbo jet I'd just flown in on!!.
I asked to move rooms, they swapped me and I found it was the same condition, I tried that room's air-con and just the same noise was produced! Basically it is a toss-up between being kept awake with the air-con or sleeping in an Owen (you can't open the room windows).

I tried the Room service, told it would arrive in 40 mins, 60 minutes later it finally arrived, the quality of the food was very 'average'..

On checking out, I spoke with the Manager (not something I have EVER done in a hotel before!) He apologized and said the hotel is due a full 'hard' refit in June 2014 - it REALLY needs it.

Put simply, I really wished I'd listened to the other negative Comments on Tripadvisor - they are accurate.

On the plus side, it had quite a pleasant Exec Lounge - but that's about the only positive I can think of...

Room Tip: Don't stay there - REALLY!! You will regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your point of view. It is with great regret that we learn of your stay, as this is not the experience that we intend for any of our guests. We take all reviews very seriously and will be certain to share your feedback with all of our management team as providing the very best to our guests is of utmost importance. It is our hope to welcome you back again so that we can regain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just as most other reviewers have said, the rooms are dated and not-quite-clean. Walls and carpets are stained. Furnishings are standard issue Hilton, but the dated building makes the hallways and rooms seem shabby. During my stay the hallways and rooms were overly warm--they seem to have cooling/heating issues. The lobby area is nice, with a bar/big screen TV and a coffee bar. The outdoor pool is on the lobby level (not exactly "rooftop") and small. The fitness center is adequate (not a closet and not grand). The staff are variable in terms of friendliness, but most seem quite professional. It is near arts centers and the American Airlines arena, but not next to shops and restaurants. The Publix across the street was a real lifesaver. I wouldn't stay here for business or a vacation.

Room Tip: This is a noisy hotel with thin walls. Ask for rooms far from elevators and ice machines, As every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
It is always our goal to provide the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests, so it is truly disappointing to read that your stay did not exceed your expectations and that your accommodations were not as you would have wished. We encourage all of our guests to share how we can make their visit the best it possibly can be and it is disheartening that we were unable to do that for you while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Please accept our apologies if you were troubled by any sounds from outside your guest room or if the temperature in the hotel was not to your liking. Your comments will be shared with our management team. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.