We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week long stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #39 of 130 hotels in Miami
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Week long stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our family of five just returned from a week stay at the Hilton and we were overall very pleased. The staff was more than helpful when we asked for a room change, restaurant advice, and directions. Our first night there we ate at the restaurant in the lobby, our meal took quite a long time to get to our table and when it did it was incorrect. The manager apologized and comped our entire meal the following night. The only real negative aspect was the taxi drivers outside the hotel. They will quote you a price for your destination, except they never knew how to get there. They would drive around with the meter running until we gave them directions from our phones. This happened on two occasions, so beware of the taxi drivers!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed our downtown Miami location for your family’s week long stay, as well as the service you received from our associates. While it isn’t clear as to what transpired with your dining experience it is great to know that you were satisfied by the arrangements our manager made for your next meal. We hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    740
    310
    114
    62
See reviews for
422
484
94
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The lobby is very nice, the other common areas are showing a little wear and tear, but the real issue with this property is sound proofing. There was some sort of outdoor concert nearby where you could hear every note no matter where in the room you were. After being relocated twice we finally got a room that made it possible to sleep but it took multiple attempts before the staff treated the problem as serious. The front desk staff that checked us in and out were very nice but the people we dealt with over the problems spent more time putting up barriers and making excuses than helping us. Once we were in a proper room things were fine but the ordeal of relocating us was made so much more frustrating than it needed to be I am not confident we would have been treated well had anything else occurred.

Room Tip: Only accessible rooms have soundproofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. We are truly disappointed that your stay did not live up to your expectations and if you had any issues with your accommodations or sounds from outside our hotel. While we are glad that our associates helped provide you with a guest room that made you more comfortable, we apologize for the frustration you encountered. It is our hope to welcome you back in the future for a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

MIAAAAAMI...just not the Hilton. I've stayed in many Hiltons prior ro reviewing here. This has been the worse one yet. Being Miami, perhaps my expectations were too high...but COME ON...its MIAMI!!! Lambo's all over...just not in this driveway.

*Facelift to the front and elevators.
*Overpriced because of a last name.
*Dingy walls, and wallpaper.
*18% gratuity even on a 3 dollar coffee.
*Friendly employees.
*MANY homeless/less fortunate ready to pounce AS SOON as you walk 1 sidewalk square away from the property.
*Nothing walking distance around this hotel besides a Publix (grocery store), 3 restaurants, a liquor store and a Bentley dealership. Oh yes and a Convenience Store.
*The Bus Depot is 2 minute walk away. The express free train (its a trolley that takes you around to stops) got us to the New Years Eve Party where EVERYBODY it seems was...Bayside I think). Take the S Bus straight to South Beach!
*Checkers across the street. Its a walk up only. Use your discretion when eating from here. Looked very dirty. Roaches running around outside. yuck. The Burger King is beside it and its just the same. VERY slow as well.

oh yes back to the hotel...

*Benny needs to relax...hes the Manager.
*Elevator stuck with people for 30 minutes.
*Checking in was quick.

*The view was NICE!!!! Oh its SO pretty at night especially. Loved looking out and seeing it!
*Ice machine was empty for over a week...probably still is.
*Housekeeping are quick.
*Linens were clean.
*Complimentary toiletries.
*Bathrooms need updating ASAP. Especially those tubs.
*Pet Friendly. Would like to know that next time in advance. Dogs walking/barking everywhere.
*Lobby restaurants. Had breakfast in one, and a burger from the other (the bar), that was GOOD. Breakfast not so good. You can chose from a menu ranging from 3-20 dollars.

So this review seems "bad". However I think my expectations, like I said earlier, were probably too high. I though Hilton + Miami = Remarkable Customer Service and amenities, and I never got that. Off to the next hotel here in Miami...

We'll talk again soon!! : )

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay with us. It seems there many aspects of our hotel that you enjoyed from the convenience of the MetroMover Monorail taking you directly Bayside to the, as you put it, remarkable service you encountered and beautiful views. With that being said, we must apologize if your visit fell short of your expectations overall. Please know that if there is anything we can ever to make you more comfortable or provide you with a better experience, we are more than happy to help while you are here, when it would matter the most. It is our hope that you will consider another stay so that we may offer you the type of encounter that you deserve as our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the are. Hotel is 15 min cab ride to South Beach Miami and walking distance to downtown and Bayside. Breakfast was delicious. The rooms were spacious and clean. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
The Hilton Miami Downtown is indeed a great place to stay for any family vacations! We are delighted to read your review and learn of all you enjoyed while here. Our associates will be so happy to know that you found them to be so helpful and knowledgeable. With so many great attractions just minutes away our location is idea. We can’t wait to welcome you back for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The pool on the roof was nice and the breakfast was really a treat, everything else was average. l guess it comes down to location, location, location. The bed was comfortable, we were tired, so in that respect it worked out good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
The Hilton Miami Downtown provides one of the best locations in in the city. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed our unique pool as well as your dining experience and comfortable bedding while here. With that being said, we do regret that you were not fully impressed with all that we have to offer. Our website features various money savings packages to create an affordable stay for all of our guests. If there is ever any way we can make your stay more comfortable, we would love to know! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I WILL NOT RECOMMEND using this hotel in the Miami area. If you are a devoted Hilton member this property is WORN OUT and not updated to current standards of hotels today especially at the rates that they are trying to get. Bypass it and find a different brand if you want the downtown area. This was during the New Year celebration 2014. A real disappointment and WAY OVER PRICED!!! I am really surprised that HILTON KEEPS ITS NAME ON THIS BUILDING.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
It is certainly disappointing that we did not live up to your expectations, as we strive to provide exceptional guest service and to create a positive, memorable stay for all who visit. From what you have described, yours is certainly not the type of experience we would hope and for that, we are truly sorry. Please know that someone here is always available to discuss any concerns you may have and we regret not having the opportunity to make things right for you. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I came in to hilton at miami downtown and spoke to benny the manager and he was rude and did not allowed us to get refund. We requested bay view room. We were told we cant not get refund and were told nothing can be done

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. Although it is not completely clear in this forum as to what transpired, we are truly disappointed by the details you have provided and if your encounter was not as it should be. We will be sure to share your feedback with our management team as creating the ultimate relaxing atmosphere with impeccable service for our guests is of utmost importance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.