We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #38 of 129 hotels in Miami
N Ireland UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Hi stayed at Hilton Miami for 3 nights as a family. Kids loved the hotel and breakfast was great. Poor gluten free range (ie no bread) and we did ask and offer crackers. But the crackers contained wheat! (Gluten) one of the head chefs was very friendly around breakfast time.
Small pool which was fine. Rooms a little dated but ok. Location was ok with a publix just two minutes away and bayside just 20 minutes walk. Parking was $28.00 per day and I could not see a package that included parking and breakfast. Overall this is a good hotel in a handy location if you are driving.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are truly pleased to learn that you enjoyed your family’s three night getaway to the Hilton Miami Downtown. Our central location provides easy access to so much of the area and it is great to know you were able to make the most of your time with us. It is always our desire to accommodate our guests’ dietary needs and we must sincerely apologize if some of the options provided were not suitable. Your comments will be shared with our management team. We truly appreciate your business. It is our hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    561
    751
    312
    118
    63
See reviews for
448
503
96
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

not my best experience. Bar tenders were good...but bar closed too early. Rooms were ok. Need some new furnishings. Bed skirt had nasty brown stain. Someone vomited in front of the elevators in middle of night....not cleaned up by the time we left at 10 am.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are truly disappointed that you did not experience the relaxing stay you were hoping for, as it is always our goal to provide guests with everything they need for a pleasant visit. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any housekeeping issues you encountered. It is never our intention for our guests to leave feeling disappointed and we will certainly work with our team to ensure all areas are at their best at all times. It is our hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back so that we may win back your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very helpful staff. Beautiful views overlooking downtown Miami, Port of Miami and looking out to the Atlantic Ocean. Nice rooms with access to full restaurant and bar. Very centrally located to downtown Miami business district and entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We couldn't be more pleased to learn that you had such a great experience at the Hilton Miami Downtown. From check in to check out, it is our hope that guests have a positive encounter in all ways and we are thrilled you enjoyed not only our amazing views and attentive service but also our prime downtown location. Thank you for your glowing review. It is always our goal to provide a true Hilton experience and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belluno
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at the Hilton for 5 nights in December 2013 as I was attending a convention there.My main problem with this hotel is the lack of a free internet connection. There is a free wi-fi in the lobby, otherwise it's 10 USD par day par device.

First of all, in 2013, a business oriented hotel should not charge for internet. It should be considered a basic service, like running water in bathrooms. I have asked if it was possible to have it included in the cost of the room and was told no.

Second, even when you pay for it, it's really bad. Roughly 33% of the time it works fine, 33% it's very slow and 33% you can connect to the network but don't receive data. It's annoying and very frustrating when you have limited time for, say, a Skype call between breakfast and the start of your work day.

Third, it's by device. If you purchase it for your laptop, you can't use it on your phone or ipad. This is plain silly and just a way to milk money.

I want to stress out that this is a business hotel. It's not a resort. People who stay here need to work. Having a free internet in the lobby doesn't cut it.

The room was OK by American standards, somewhat old but spacious with large windows and a LCD screen. The room is well insulated from the outside, but you hear very clearly all the noise coming from the hotel corridor.

The breakfast buffet is small-ish. My room rate included breakfast, otherwise 24 USD is way overpriced. Some of the items in the buffet were of good quality, others were pretty bad (power eggs, just no). I had a couple of drinks in the lobby bar: overpriced like any lobby bar, but with a good selection of alcohol. I also tried room service, it was fast and good enough. However your bill will include a mandatory 18% tip and a 3.50 USD delivery charge (so am I tipping for delivery, or what else??).

The pool is small but I've never seen it crowded. I used it just once, it didn't seem to be staffed and while there seemed to be a pool bar beside it, it was closed (ie no staff, no items for sale).

Finally, it's located in a partially residential, partially office area, so don't expect to have much to do around it. However the Bayside Market is 20 minutes by foot, there is a park closeby for jogging and a supermarket/pharmacy on the other side of the road.

If I had to stay again in this area, I would not return to the Hilton. If I was forced to stay here again (another convention for example) I wouldn't consider it a tragedy either.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We value the time you have taken to share your impressions of our hotel as well as the points you have addressed regarding your recent conference stay. While it seems as though there were several aspects of your visit that were enjoyable, we truly regret if you were inconvenienced in any way. It is never our intention to have guests leave us feeling disappointed as we hope is to resolve any concerns as they arise. We apologize if that did not occur during your stay, when it would have mattered the most. As outlined on our website and as you have mentioned, our Internet charges are per device but there is complimentary access in all public areas as well as throughout our meeting facilities. Additionally, we do offer several packages that include free Internet in individual guest rooms booking through our website. We also must apologize if you were not completely satisfied with your dining experiences and will share your comments with our associates. We hope that if you have the opportunity to stay again, we can provide you with the type of experience you deserve as our valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is a bit old fashioned but quite comfortable and quiet. However, the wifi system for the hotel is very absurd. One device only per one purchased. It is closed to a supermarket and some local diner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay. While we are glad to know you enjoyed a comfortable and peaceful stay, we must apologize if you encountered any inconvenience regarding our Internet service within the hotel. As you mentioned, there is a fee for connectivity in individual guest rooms per device. For our guests’ convenience we also offer complimentary access in all public areas. We value your comments and hope you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The manager at this property sucks. Is he the guest or am I? I had an issue with my room and he made me feel as though I was the problem, not him or the hotel's service. He is arrogant, stuck up, condescending. For some reason I've had an issue with all the males at this property - they've all had either lazy or stuck up attitudes. The women on the otherhand seem to go out of their way to be helpful. Go with Janelle James, she is wonderful. The property itself is decent. Beds are a little soft - not the best, but the rooms are fair and bathrooms are cleanly. Guest services/ room services get back to you quickly. Service is good. Except for management. They suck.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
It is extremely disappointing that your recent stay did not live up to your expectations. We value our guests and their opinions and thank you for sharing yours with us here. Providing excellent service at every level is exceedingly important to us. While it is not completely clear in this forum as to what concerns you may initially have had, but we do encourage you to contact us directly should an issue require further attention. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is located in downtown Miami. Location wise, the Arscht Center is across the street with wonderful concerts. Not so great for restaurants and shops to walk to though. The hotel itself is a little worn, and the rooms need upgrading. Just okay. Good for a business trip.

Room Tip: This is a huge hotel so so if you don't want to walk too far ask for a room right by the recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your impressions with us. We are delighted you enjoyed some aspects of your stay including our location near the Adrienne Arsht Center. Our Concierge is always happy to help direct guests in finding the perfect place to dine or shop while visiting and we hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.