We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to South Beach Hotels. Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #41 of 131 hotels in Miami
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good alternative to South Beach Hotels. Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here with the intention of going to South Beach to check out the nightlife. I found the location to be good because it was only a $15 cab ride to downtown.
The room we got was nice with a great view. No fridge though. Internet was relatively fast. breakfast was good as well. I did not use the pool.
The customer service at this property was outstanding. Special thanks to Maria at the front desk for going above and beyond to finding a room that I would like. She was extremely courteous and knowledgeable, taking the time to find answers even from other colleagues. Guy, from concierge was very helpful as well. He gave us all the information that we needed to hit the town. We were worried about our attire but he was able to tell us information on what was allowed for each venue. Very important on a limited wardrobe. He was also able to give us passes for free drinks to alot of these place. He really made our night seamless, and cheaper. Cant thank Guy enough. Will definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation of the Hilton Miami Downtown. It is always such a pleasure to read feedback from our guests and learn about everything they enjoy while staying with us. With convenient access to both South Beach and downtown Miami, our hotel is ideal for delighting in any of the great area nightlife and attractions. Our associates are always so happy to provide excellent service and helpful tips and will love to know they made your stay so much more memorable. It would be our pleasure to welcome you upon your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    657
    281
    106
    60
See reviews for
376
442
86
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Needed just one night stay as I was meeting my husband flying into Miami from an overseas trip.Hotel is older but has been renovated and is in a good location -services on par with Hilton.Requested an early checkin which was honored as well as upgraded to a junior suite.The staff were excellent and very professional.Our room was on the 12th floor with stunning views of both the city and bay.Saw the cruise ships dock the following morning.We had the breakfast buffet for around $20 but it was well worth it.This is a busy hotel as it services passengers leaving and returning from the cruise ships but if we had to stay again, we would.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown. Warm, hospitable service, spacious, comfortable accommodations and delicious dining are just some of the many amenities you can expect when visiting. Our convenient access to the Port of Miami makes cruise travel a breeze. Next time we hope you can stay for a longer visit as it would be our pleasure welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I made reservations in early June for a stay in late Sept. using the Hilton website. The reservation was for Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights at a rate of $199/night. We also requested an early check-in and an upgrade to a higher floor for $5/night.
From the time the reservations were made until a week before we checked-in the rate dropped to $149/night and Hilton honored the new price.
We checked in at 2:15 on Sept 25 but our room was not ready. There was a 3:00 check-in time so it was expected. At 3:20 we checked with the front desk again and the room was still not ready. Shortly after we were given an apology and two free appetizers for the lobby bar. At 4:15 we checked again and the room was still not ready. At 4:30 the manager apologized for the delay and gave us our room keys. When I asked about the buffet breakfast vouchers I was told they were not included with the room. (I was not in the mood for this) I provided the confirmation email from Hilton showing the reserved room as Bed and Breakfast. The manager apologized and said the vouchers would be sent to our room.
We left the hotel shortly after for dinner reservation at another restaurant. When we returned the vouchers were slid under the door....for continental breakfast. Another trip to the front desk with my email confirmation and a request for them to check their website and I got another apology and my vouchers for buffet breakfast.
Question to Hilton........Why does your website and confirmation email not match what is on the screen at the front desk?
When these issues were corrected our three night stay was enjoyable. From the valet staff and bellhop, to the dining room and lobby bar staff they were nothing but friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and well appointed with complimentary wifi and a 21st floor view overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Please accept our deepest apologies for any issues you encountered early in your stay. Your comments will be shared with all departments to re-emphasize the high standards in place for customer service and attention to detail. Although we are glad you enjoyed your clean, well-appointed accommodations and some helpful service from our associates, we truly regret any inconvenience you may have encountered at check-in. While the circumstances of your booking are not completely clear in this forum, it is regrettable if there was any miscommunication. It is never our intent for guests to feel mislead in anyway and we are grateful to know that all the matters mentioned were resolved. We value the feedback you've offered and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice clean hotel located in Downtown Miami. The Omni Bus Station is right next door with the C, S and 120 Beach Max busses to South Beach and beyond for $2.25. Hotel prices are in line with Hilton's worldwide (a little expensive) but service and quality is good. Got a great rate for this hotel through American Express Travel and would certainly use again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions of the Hilton Miami Downtown. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be so clean and convenient. As you mentioned, the Omni bus is within a few steps of our front door and provides a great solution for getting around the city with ease. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

While traveling for busines I always prefere small hotels, because people are whormer. Hilton surpased my expectations having awesome people in the reception, bar and vip launge.

Carlos from the bar, Wilman from the launge and so many others made my stay like at home.

Congratulations to the whole team!

Room Tip: get the corner rooms with a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your appreciation of the Hilton Miami Downtown. It is wonderful to know that our hotel provided the type of hospitable service that created such an intimate, personal experience for you and your comments will be shared with all of our associates. We are delighted to have surpassed your expectations and it would be our pleasure to provide you with another stay that is, as you put it, like home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nestled comfortably on Biscayne Blvd., the Hilton Downtown Miami is the best place to stay to access the best of downtown and South Beach. The hotel staff was unparalleled, specifically a reservation's manager named Sirle who when above and beyond to make sure my girlfriend and I were comfortable. Nice bar in the ground floor that serves fresh Starbucks each morning, and the cab service runs all night long. We will stay again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We think your review is amazing! Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback about your recent experience at the Hilton Miami Downtown. It is great to know that you feel our hotel is the best place to stay in downtown and South Beach and we have to agree; our location is certainly ideal. We love to ensure that each and every guest is treated to personal service and your comments will be shared with our associates. Starbucks is a favorite with so many of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Great hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. Amazing breakfast. Unbelievable stay.
We were only here for 4 days but managed to get upgraded as it was our honeymoon.
Come out of the hotel and turn left and there's a bus station which will take you to Miami Beach for $2. Keep walking straight down to the main shopping mall, remember to buy her a handbag as I'm told 'its a must in Miami'! Out the hotel and turn right, one block and you'll find a supermarket with a bank next to it. Carry on past and after 10 mins turn left and there's more shops, cheaper but found some fantastic deals here.
The hotel was very pricey on the drinks but no surprise there. However, if youre looking to save a couple of pounds/dollars then they do do happy hour. So grab a couple of Cuba Libra's and then a dip in the pool. Life is so hard sometimes!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are thrilled you were able to join us at the Hilton Miami Downtown for your special occasion getaway! Miami is a spectacular city and home to some of the best shopping in the country. Thank you for sharing some of your favorite ways to get around the area and for noting the many of the destinations just minutes from the hotel. Relaxing poolside with drinks in hand sounds like a great way to spend an afternoon. We hope the next time you find yourself in the area you will make your way to visit us again. On behalf of everyone here, we wish you both a lifetime of happiness together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel
Hilton Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton
Hilton Miami
Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.