We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average standard for a Hilton.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #41 of 131 hotels in Miami
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Below average standard for a Hilton.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel was booked for us as my husband was working there, but I doubt we would have chosen to stay here after reading the previous reviews so we arrived with very low expectations. The surrounding area is not very attractive although there was a partial view of the sea from our room. There is a Publix supermarket across the street which is a plus.
The staff were friendly at check in and they dealt with a mistake on our bill without a problem.
Our room was o k but dated and the AC was extremely noisy- it even made a noise when switched off! The bed was comfortable and towels were changed regularly but I found rubbish in our room from a previous guest and it hadn't been dusted for ages.
I thought the vouchers for continental breakfast were quite ridiculous. We only wanted a bowl of cereal but that was on the buffet and cost 6 dollars extra each. Either include breakfast in the rate or don't! One day I tried some cooked food and it was lukewarm and the scrambled egg was horrible. They kept running out of things too. We had to ask for milk for our cereal.
The pool area was not attractive and there was no one at the pool bar throughout our stay- there were towels and a water cooler however. There was a total of 2 parasols and no cushions for the loungers although these are shown on the website pictures.
We ate from the bar menu one night and the food was o k although a waiter got a bit annoyed because we ordered from another waiter. Are we supposed to know which waiters table we were at?
Overall it was a poor example of a Hilton hotel and I wouldn't recommend it as there were homeless persons hanging about outside the hotel. On a positive note the free tram goes right past the door and is a great way to see the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It is always our desire for guests to depart from our hotel with a positive impression, as we strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for all who visit. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay did not exceed your expectations and if your guestroom and dining experience was not all you had hoped they would be. We truly regret if you were inconvenienced in any way. We will be certain to share your comments with everyone here. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    467
    665
    284
    106
    60
See reviews for
379
445
87
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rate was excessive for quality, air conditioning stuck on high, television signal scrambled in and out constantly, wifi did not work properly, breakfast was very poor, and service was generally lacking. Also, I was told no rate was available for the seminar I was attending, but other seminar attendees were given a special rate. Seminar was nowhere near sold out. I paid $199.00 for my room with no breakfast and supposedly free wife, while other attendees paid anywhere from $109 to $159 with free breakfast, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
While we are always grateful to read feedback from our valued guests, it is disappointing that you experienced anything amiss during your time at our hotel. Please know that someone is always available should you have any concerns while staying with us. We always want the value of our service and quality of our amenities to be parallel to our prices and apologize that we did not meet that expectation. While it is not clear in this forum as to the event rates you have described, we apologize for any confusion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked for a 3 day stay and even upgraded to a Jr Suite. Wireless Internet never worked and it was crazy that it wasn't even complementary with your stay. Hotel smelled like something was rotting in the hallways. We checked out the next night and stayed at JW Marriott Marquis where we felt like kings. Couldn't believe that this property belonged to Hilton. Would not suggest for you to spend your money here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It is with deep regret to learn that despite your upgraded accommodations you were disappointed with your stay or if you encountered any odors outside your guest room. Please know that one of our associates is always available to help should something arise and we are disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to provide you with a better visit while you were here. Thank you for providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I couldn't breathe in our room. There was layers of dust coming out of the air vents, the papers and surfaces of the room were covered in a layer of dust, tv and wifi had HORRIBLE connections. Some of the staff were super nice, while others were very rude and even creepy. We asked to have our room changed and experienced the same problems. It's not just one room, the whole building has these problems.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is truly disappointing to hear when a guest’s experience does not live up to their expectations. We believe in providing the very best in service at every level and it is truly with deep regret that we learn, despite your upgrade, your accommodations were not exactly as you had hoped they would be. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping associates and management here as we strive to create a positive experience for all. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable location, close to lots of things. Nothing special about it, get it on a deal and ok. Room was large, good size bed, great views. Annoying that you have to pay $10 for wifi when every other hotel offers for free, that's so 2006! Keep up Hilton

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the Hilton Miami Downtown. From your spacious, well-appointed guestroom all the way to the views from our windows, we are glad to know you enjoyed your overall stay. While we do charge for Internet access in individual rooms, complimentary wireless is available in all public areas and we hope that it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience. We find it better to charge at the time of use and pass along the savings to those who would rather remain unplugged during their trip. We hope to welcome you back again for your next visit to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was suprised that this hotel was a Hilton. It seemed more like a Holiday Inn. They have business conferences but don't own a steamer for guest to steam their dress clothes. I thought this was odd.

We couldn't get the wifi to work for more than 3 minutes at a time without disruption.

There was nothing absolutely awful but I wouldn't stay there by choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
While it's disappointing that we did not meet your expectations, we highly value your honest feedback. Our business travelers are of great importance to us and it is regrettable to learn that you encountered any issues with Internet connectivity during your stay. Please know that someone is always available should anything arise and we apologize that we were not given the opportunity to provide you with an excellent experience in all ways while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Myself and my husband booked this hotel because it was near the port of miami and they offered a shuttle package if you stayed at this hotel this was fine. But what was the problem is when I booked the room and we arrived in Miami the front desk clerk alerted us that the room was not payed for. I was in utter shock. I booked our flights, cruise and hotel back to back and when I was given a conformation number from the hotel I assumed that the room was paid for but silly me I didn't even check to make sure it was paid for. So here my husband and I are stuck in Miami with no room and our credit card was not activated and could not do so until the next day. Could not contact our bank because now it is 12am on a saturday morning. Thank god for my mom and the front desk manager for being understanding. This is unacceptable for them to not let you know that even though they take your card number and give you a confirmation number that doesn't mean that the room is not paid for. And I also was not told by the customer service rep that I needed to make this payment when I got to the hotel. I will not deal with this ever again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We greatly appreciate you sharing your perspective and can understand any frustrations that you must have felt While it isn’t clear as to the manner in which you reserved your room, payment is not rendered until a guest checks into our hotel but we do regret if that was not more clear. Please know that our website is the best resource for any specific hotel policies. We truly apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way but grateful that our management was able to help you work through the issue. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel
Hilton Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton
Hilton Miami
Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Miami
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.