We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #38 of 129 hotels in Miami
Summit, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Business Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The positive point here is that the Hilton Miami Downtown is away from the fray. Being on the west side of Biscayne Bay is a huge plus if you need to be near downtown Miami. The rooms are spacious and the amenities are what you would expect from a mainstream business hotel....except...., The WiFi is only available in the lobby unless you pay a price, the floor plan is complicated; having to access two separate elevators to get up to the lobby from Biscayne Blvd. Valet is was overwhelmed and takes much too long for the car delivery, four days of excessive waiting I asked, why don't they provide a self-park?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
While our hotel welcomes many vacationers, we are always happy to cater to the needs of our business travelers as well. Thank you for mentioning your appreciation for our location, close to everything you could ask for in the downtown area! While we do charge a minimal fee for Internet access in individual guestrooms, complimentary wireless is available in our lobby and business center, but we hope that it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience for you. When many guests are arriving and departing at the same time, things can sometimes become hectic. Please accept our apologies for any delays you experienced while our valet associates were retrieving your vehicle. Alternatively, guests may chose to self park. We hope to welcome you back again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    738
    308
    115
    61
See reviews for
437
495
95
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

the "motor lounge" is a bit much - you are hit with loud pulsing music and crazy lights right from the start. I know this is Miami, but a more sedate entrance would be nice... We asked for a room away from elevators and vending and were put in a room next to the elevators and ice machine. That said, I didn't hear them all night- maybe the floor was empty? You can hear voices through the walls and window. The views are great. We were on the 19th floor.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your point of view. We truly understand how important a peaceful night’s rest can be while traveling away from home. While we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay and views from our property, we must apologize if any sounds outside your guestroom were of disruption. We hope to welcome you back again to the Hilton Miami Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Overall we were satisfied with our stay because we had won a decent bid price for this hotel. As others have commented, the rooms could use some spiffing up. But our room was large, the beds were comfortable and it was always quiet. However, little annoyances added up. When we called from a restaurant to ask if there was a mini-fridge in the room we were told that one would be delivered into the room. When we later called from the room to ask about the whereabouts of this fridge, we were told we were on a waiting list. We never did get off that waiting list during our four nights at the hotel. The next morning we discovered that there was no shampoo - only conditioner. After calling Guest Services we quickly received a plastic bag with more conditioner. Down at the front desk the message was "we're out of shampoo" but soon another bag was sent to the room and this time there was shampoo. Time to make a cup of coffee...oh-oh...no coffee was left to replace what was used the morning before. Another call and another plastic bag: lots and lots of creamer containers and sugar packets but no coffee. Another call and another wait. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel because the line was too long every morning. Don't arrive with high expectations and you will be just fine here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. While we are glad to know you enjoyed the value of our hotel, it is with great disappointment that we read the remainder of your review as yours is not the type of encounter we would hope for any of our guests. Providing the very best in hospitality and service is important to all of our associates. Please accept our sincere apologies that your recent stay did not reflect that commitment. Your comments will be shared with everyone here in an effort to reinforce our high level of customer satisfaction in all ways. It is our hope that you will give us another chance in the future to provide you with the type of stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

First off, I should mention what I most appreciated: I arrived around 7am, after a red-eye flight, and despite the early hour the desk agent cheerfully said they had a room ready for me (I did call ahead by a week to request early check-in). The only other staff I interacted with were those at the concierge desk and they were also helpful.

While not in a stellar part of town aesthetically, the location is convenient to transportation. Only half a block from the (free!) Metromover which runs in a couple of loops around downtown and also connects to the airport train. I did see a few homeless folks around the Metromover station by the hotel, but generally I did not feel unsafe in the area. I wouldn't have ventured out on foot in the middle of the night, but there are very few cities in the world where I would do that anyway.

The room was comfortable, if in need of some TLC. Nothing horrendous like mold or excessive dirt, but lesser problems such as windows that looked to have not been cleaned any time recently, detracting from what was an otherwise nice view of the bay from my room.

Took a taxi to the Port of Miami the next morning for a cost of $9 before tip.

Overall I'd give this hotel 3.5 stars (rounded up as I don't see a way to give half a star). Room has booked with points at what I felt was a reasonable rate, but if paying out of pocket I think one could do better for the same price range.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are so happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! It is always our pleasure to accommodate an early check in when possible as our associates hope to help ease our guests’ travel experiences. Thank you for your great review and appreciation of our comfortable guestrooms. Getting around Miami is certainly easy when taking advantage of such great public transportation options available! We do apologize if anything was amiss and we will share your comments with our housekeeping associates. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit to The Hilton Miami Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the hotel from late March of '13 to early April of '13. Great Service and accomodations! If you are ever here ask for Richard Lewis or Eva. They will take good care of you! I highly reccommend staying here if you are ever in the Miami area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We think your review is great! We love knowing that you have enjoyed staying with us at The Hilton Miami Downtown so much that it has inspired a your highest recommendation! Our associates, particularly those you mentioned by name, will be thrilled to have made such a positive impression. Thank you for your comments, please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

You have to accept that this hotel is what it is, where it is. Let's start with location. No hotel in Miami is going to be near to everything you want to see. However this hotel is pretty handy for most places in Miami centre by using the free Metromover just minutes walk away. And the beaches are easily accessible by car using the I395 which is also close by. If you're looking for a supermarket (why pay hotel prices for beer?) there is a Publix just one block away.

The valet parking service was good and at $28 a night expensive but not unusually so. Check in was smooth and I had a room on the 16th floor, which is where the club lounge is located. My room was large, clean and bright, with views over the financial district. OK there were some small signs of age around the room, but that didn't really matter. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for some time.

The pool area was very quiet whenever I went to use it. Yes, it's concrete but that's the era the hotel was built in.

Service in the lounge area was pleasant enough, although I found $7 for a draught beer on the expensive side (hence i located Publix).

The club lounge was perhaps a little disappointing. The furniture was worn in places. Evening hors d'oeuvres were poor quality on the one evening I ventured to try them, although breakfast was adequate considering it's complimentary. I did think, though, there seemed to be a lot of staff passing through the lounge and helping themselves, which was surprising.

Would I go back? Yes, if I was in the area. I like Hilton and you pretty much know what you're going to get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review and your high recommendation of the Hilton Miami Downtown. We truly value our guests and we love it when we they leave with such a positive impression of everything from our convenient location all the way to the comfort of their guestroom. Never underestimate the power of a good night’s sleep with, as you put it, the most comfortable bed you have slept in! Your gracious praise for our team members will be shared with everyone. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back and we hope it will be soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed at the hotel March 20-23. I was in town for the Sony Tennis Open. Check in area was welcoming. Hotel is clean. Room was great although some of the furniture seemed a little old fashioned but was fine. I was upgraded to a suite which had the most wonderful view of the bay and downtown. No refrigerator or microwave though. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly, customer service oriented, and knowledgeable. Free use of the business center came in handy to print tickets for an event. The paved area around the pool desperately needed to be pressure washed to make the pool area inviting. There appeared to be a club nearby that played really loud music until about 1:00 a.m. in the morning but it didn't keep me from resting well. Publix was only a block away which was fabulous as it helped to save money on food and beverage. There is a liquor store located beside the Publix. There are a few fast food restaurants in the area. Performing arts theaters are within walking distance. American Airlines arena about a half a mile or so away. Free trolley service to the Bayside Marketplace shopping area was within a block. A park was within a block. You could walk along the Bay to take in the view and get a little exercise. There were even public tennis courts at the park. You have to walk about a block or two away from the Hilton to the Marriott in order to catch the shuttle to the Sony Open. You have an option to walk through a parking lot and skywalk to take the shortcut to the Marriott however, I'd rather walk around the block though as the shortcut was a bit confusing and the walkway was drab. They need to pressure wash the concrete and add some flowers to the area to spruce it up. That area may be part of the Marriott's responsibility though. The shuttle ride to the Open took anywhere from 25-40 minutes but your commute allowed for some great views of the ocean and most surely saved you the stress of driving in heavy traffic and inconvenient parking at the Crandon Park facility. It didn't really seem like the ride took as long as it did. There were several big events going on in downtown Miami simultaneously and because of the location of the Sony Open pickup shuttle at the Marriott, extremely long traffic delays were avoided for the most part. Overall, my stay was fine and I would definitely stay there again as the hotel met my needs for this particular stay.

Room Tip: Bayside on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of the Hilton Miami Downtown. The Sony Ericsson Open is such an exciting event in tennis. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your highlighting so much that the area has to offer! We feel fortunate to be able to gaze out on the views of downtown Miami and the crystal blue water every day. Your suggestions regarding the pool and public areas are appreciated and will be shared with our management team. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another stay and we hope it's soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
#36 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.