We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine convention hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #39 of 130 hotels in Miami
Laconia, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fine convention hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here two nights for a meeting that was held at the hotel. Lobby is up four floors from he street level entrance and is accessed through a different elevator bank than the ones that service the floors. Checked in early but room was ready which was unexpected and very nice. Delightful corner room on the 20th floor with view west, north and, through some buildings, east to the bay. Pool area is on a rooftop at the lobby level. Windy and plain, it could have used more plantings. Had breakfast in the main restaurant - ordinary buffet for $25. Convention rooms were well set up but cold with aggressive air conditioning. Hotel is two blocks from the bay with easy access to the metro mover which gives you free transportation around the downtown area. Walking felt safe in the area of the hotel and south to the arena and Bayfront. Cab to the airport was quick and easy and only $25 with tip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We greatly appreciate your review of the Hilton Miami Downtown and are so glad you enjoyed your recent conference stay. Delightful is one of our favorite words and we are thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations! We do apologize, however, if the conference room temperature was not more to your liking for your visit. Please know that our associates are always available to all of our guests should concerns arise and are more than happy to quickly address any issues in an effort to provide the best experience possible. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    740
    310
    114
    62
See reviews for
422
484
94
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff was great, no issues, maid service was super friendly and helpful to all needs. Carpets, furnishings a little dated but still good. Only one Resturant, great Buffett Breakfaste, a little expensive for supper ..

Room Tip: Long hallways, if lots of luggage ask for room closer to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We certainly enjoy creating a positive experience for each of our guests, from our hospitable service all the way to a a delicious breakfast buffet to fuel up for your day’s events! Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Hilton Miami Downtown with us, please come and visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and parents stayed at the Hilton Downtown arriving on Boxing Day and welcomed in 2013! To keep costs down we booked a double room and there was ample room and storage space to accommodate 4 adults and all our junk. We arrived late on Boxing Day and checked in promptly, staff were very helpful on the front desk especially when we had issues with an early morning trip we booked. The room was cleaned everyday and the decor was very modern and bright. There is a rooftop pool and towels are provided free of charge so no need to pack any. We chose to stay in Downtown as this was our first trip to Miami and staying over on Ocean Drive or Miami Beach was nearly double the price. The location of the hotel is great, 10 minutes walk up to the open air shopping centre at Biscayne Bay and this was perfect for New Year as we did not need to worry about taking taxis to watch the amazing firework display. To get across to Ocean Drive you can take a local bus from the station next door to the hotel and it will take approximately 20 minutes (depending upon local traffic crossing the bridge). Taxis are plentiful and easy to hail if you would prefer to use them. Overall this is a lovely hotel in a great location but if you intend on spending most if your time across the water at the beach then I don't think this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown. Located within minutes of the Port of Miami and with easy access to South Beach, our hotel is indeed perfect for visiting the area for any pre or post cruise trips. Views from our hotel are certainly some of the best in the area and it is great to know you enjoyed them. We hope to see you again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in February 2013 in preparation for a cruise in the Bahamas. Location was good; a 10 minute cab ride to the Seaport. The staff was courteous and prompt, the hotel was acceptable, although the first room we were assigned wasn't very clean, they quickly reassigned us to a new room. Nothing to really write home about, but a decent enough place to stay if you are taking a cruise out of Miami. And speaking of cruises...save yourself some headache and arrive a day early to lesser the stress of trying to get onto the ship the same day you fly in. This is the first time that we did it that way and it turned out to be a very good idea. We took a cab to South Beach and it was a loud and fun and crazy kinda place. Well worth the cab drive just to experience the vibe and people watch.

Room Tip: Get up a little higher and you have a good view of the ocean and skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown. Located within minutes of the Port of Miami and with easy access to South Beach, our hotel is indeed perfect for visiting the area for any pre or post cruise trips. Views from our hotel are certainly some of the best in the area and it is great to know you enjoyed them. We hope to see you again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful but there were numerous service problems. Upon arrival a bellman took my luggage into the hotel...of course I tipped him. He then turned over my luggage to another bellman that indicated he was taking my luggage to my room...of course I tipped him. The bell captain then indicated that my luggage would be delivered shortly. After sightseeing, 3.5 hours later...still no luggage in my room. I went to call the front desk and neither phone in the room worked so I had to go down to the front desk to report the phone problem and inquire about my luggage. Finally a bellman delivered the luggage to me while I was speaking to the concierge....of course I tipped him. 3.5 hours and $25 in tips to get my luggage....outrageous. The valet staff was great and it was comforting to see hotel security. However, the layout of the hotel is very confusing and I really couldn't recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Providing excellent service is our top priority and we sincerely apologize if your experience was anything less. It is regrettable to learn that you were inconvenienced in any way during your stay as the result of miscommunication between our associates. All guest feedback, positive or otherwise, is greatly important to us and we will share your comments with everyone here to reinforce our commitment to providing the highest level of service to all of our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Miami - Hilton Downtown
The Hotel is very well located for visiting Bay side, South Beach.
We stayed three nights prior to a cruise.
We spoke to the concierge who was great and booked our Everglades tours, and told us about free metro to bay side plus, $2 bus to South beach, and £42 transfer to Fort Lauderdale cruise terminal, great advice.
We ate one night at Bayside Lombardi’s and Tony Chans Water Side see separate review.
The rooms are spacious, but no mini bar/fridge. The hotel needs some updating as we felt it is showing its age.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
The Hilton Miami Downtown provides the very best pre or post cruise accommodations! Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our concierge can share some helpful insider tips and tricks for getting around Miami and is always happy to direct our guests to the best that the area has to offer. Please do know that refrigerators are available upon request and if there is ever any way we can make your stay more comfortable, we would love to know! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Visited this hotel for business and it was great for a quick stay. I would not suggest if you are interested in partying on South Beach as it is about 20 min away (don't let the bellman fool you) and you can find comparable rates directly on the beach. Beds were comfortable, service was good and room service menu is pretty comprehensive-- not much more to ask for on a business trip.

Room Tip: Lower floors still offer a nice view, but aren't as hard to get to with elevator traffic. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for providing your feedback of your stay with us at the Hilton Miami Downtown. From your comfortable guestroom accommodations to the service you received, it seems as though you had a positive stay and for that we are truly grateful. The downtown Miami area is just a short trip from South Beach but also offers some amazing attractions right outside our door from the AmericanAirlines Area to the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts, shopping, dining and more! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.