We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cost/benefit for the downtown area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #39 of 130 hotels in Miami
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great cost/benefit for the downtown area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Check in desk is in the first floor above the garage, so you take an elevator from the ground floor until there, a little weird but you get used to. In the front desk floor, besides the check in there are a bar, the breakfast room, the business center (free internet, but freezing AC!) and the external swimming pool. The hotel has huge conference rooms in the upper level, which is perfect for big events.
Our room was in the 14th floor and the view is spectacular, even better because the window comes from the ceiling to the ground, it´s a challenge to stay next to the window and act normally. Comfortable beds and nice bathroom.
Breakfast buffet is great, with a variety of fruits and warm dishes. Pool area is excellent, with enough open space for the sun and a 6 foot deep swimming pool.
Great cost/benefit for the downtown area, blocks away from the Bayside Market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    744
    310
    114
    61
See reviews for
424
487
94
390
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Due to the layout and design of elevators, it is a little odd (separate elevator and a walk through the lobby from street, ballroom to the rooms). The rooms are nicely decorated and beds comfortable but no free internet at the cost of the rooms is a real deterrent today! We travel to Miami annually for business and have stayed here many times, but will return to another hotel we stayed at with a much nicer experience. We waited for about 45 minutes to have our luggage delivered to our room because the bellman was not clear with directions and even the my husband was holding our ticket in clear view when checking in, the person handling us did not collect it to make sure our luggage was delivered to us...it took two phone calls to the front desk to finally get it straightened out (hence the poor rating for service). The pool area is not up to class with this hotel either.

Room Tip: If you do go here, pay a little extra for the bay view and request a corner view. That room heated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your stay with us. We sincerely apologize if your stay was not positive in all ways or if you experienced any delay in receiving your luggage while checking in. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. While check in can sometimes be hectic, please know that we will do everything we can to accommodate our guests needs for a quick, efficient start to their visit and will share your comments with our management team. As you mentioned, we do charge for Internet access in individual guest rooms but for our guests’ convenience, we provide complementary wireless service in all public areas of our hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I went on a cruise from Miami, FL, so we decided to stay at the Hilton Downtown since it is very close to the port of Miami.
From check in to check out, the staff was superb. Our check in was early since our flight from Los Angeles, CA arrived at 6:45am in Miami. In addition to very quick check in, we were upgraded to a bay view, highest floor available, so we were very happy HHonors members, kudos to a wonderful staff at all locations from front desk, restaurant, concierge, bellboys and so on. The concierge arranged for our pickup from hotel to port of Miami, and the cost was only $ 6 per person, very convenient and very close. There is also the amazing Metromover, 1 walking block, where you can hop on and hop off in the downtown area of Miami for FREE, a bargain indeed. At the same place you can also get on the bus with the locals and go to South Beach for $ 2 per person one way, another must do and a bargain for sure. Anyway, we will definitely come back for more cruises and stay at the Hilton Downtown.

Room Tip: Metromover Bus Bayview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hilton Miami Downtown! From check in to check out, it is always our hope that all of our cherished guests appreciate the same great experience. Getting around Miami like the locals is one of the greatest ways to enjoy the area and the free Metromover monorail system is just steps from our front door. Whether your next trip brings you to Miami for a cruise or just to enjoy more that the area has to offer, we would love for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, self parking was a little cheaper but not recommended pay the extra 5 or 10 bucks, the rooms were great and the beds were the best part of the room very comfortable and the floor to ceiling windows overlooking the marina was great. The only negative thing about the hotel is going to find our room was crazy, had to go through halls and pass ball rooms to get to our room. Great rooms though, at least the one we got. Great for one night stays and the price was great for one night.

Room Tip: pay the extra to valet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It truly delights us to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us while in town for your cruise, thank you for your review! It is our privilege to provide our guests with the very best in comforts and we love to know you were able to appreciate the lovely views from our windows. Valet service does indeed offer our guests great convenience while staying with us. Thank you for providing feedback of your stay with us at the Hilton Miami Downtown, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Hilton Miami is nothing special. In fact I agree with many of the other reviews being that the rooms and decor are dated and the hotel is in need of a major make over and renovations. The pool is very disappointing and small. However, the staff is very courteous and more than willing to help. Larry the bellboy was outstanding. I met him on the elevator where he offered great directions to the AmericanAirlines Arena. Then again at check out Larry was there to see us off. I would recommend this hotel if you are going to the Arena, a cruise or on a business.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. I was on the 17th floor out of 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Located in the heart of Miami, the Hilton Miami Downtown provides easy access to so much of the excitement of South Florida, including just a short stroll from AmericanAirlines Arena. We are truly pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and found our associates to be so courteous! Views from our hotel are truly quite a sight and it is great to know you appreciated gazing out onto the city from your guestroom. The next time you are in the area we hope you will return for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff are amazing - they are genuine instead of 'welcome robots'!.....Everybody......it was our first time and you'd have thought we had been there a dozen times before. The location is also great - we've always stayed at the beach but this location near the Arsht Center is terrific. We might have just been lucky but we were facebooking all our friends about the view - it was a Wow!

Room Tip: Be sure to have a drink or snack at the bar...it's like a home town bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Reviews such as yours remind us why we love to do what we do! Everyone here at the Hilton Miami Downtown strives to provide superior service to ensure that all of our guests have an amazing experience. Thank you for your kind words, we will be sure to share them with all of our associates. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

You can valet for $28 or self park for $25. Either is ridiculous. If self parking you are on 3 elevators to get to your room! Really??? Room is average old Hilton with Minsk tv channels. Not what I expected. 3 stars tops. I stayed 100 nights on the road last year. No more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It is with deep regret that we learn of your experience, as what you have shared is not what we would hope for any of our valued guests. Parking in Miami certainly is at a premium and our rates are comparative to most other area hotels. In addition to convenience, our valet service also permits guests to enjoy unlimited in and out privileges which can’t be found in public parking areas. We do appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to review our offerings to all guests. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.