We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Miami Just okay, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #39 of 130 hotels in Miami
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hilton Miami Just okay, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Hilton Miami is nothing special. In fact I agree with many of the other reviews being that the rooms and decor are dated and the hotel is in need of a major make over and renovations. The pool is very disappointing and small. However, the staff is very courteous and more than willing to help. Larry the bellboy was outstanding. I met him on the elevator where he offered great directions to the AmericanAirlines Arena. Then again at check out Larry was there to see us off. I would recommend this hotel if you are going to the Arena, a cruise or on a business.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. I was on the 17th floor out of 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Located in the heart of Miami, the Hilton Miami Downtown provides easy access to so much of the excitement of South Florida, including just a short stroll from AmericanAirlines Arena. We are truly pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay and found our associates to be so courteous! Views from our hotel are truly quite a sight and it is great to know you appreciated gazing out onto the city from your guestroom. The next time you are in the area we hope you will return for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    740
    310
    114
    62
See reviews for
422
484
94
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The staff are amazing - they are genuine instead of 'welcome robots'!.....Everybody......it was our first time and you'd have thought we had been there a dozen times before. The location is also great - we've always stayed at the beach but this location near the Arsht Center is terrific. We might have just been lucky but we were facebooking all our friends about the view - it was a Wow!

Room Tip: Be sure to have a drink or snack at the bar...it's like a home town bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Reviews such as yours remind us why we love to do what we do! Everyone here at the Hilton Miami Downtown strives to provide superior service to ensure that all of our guests have an amazing experience. Thank you for your kind words, we will be sure to share them with all of our associates. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another exceptional stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

You can valet for $28 or self park for $25. Either is ridiculous. If self parking you are on 3 elevators to get to your room! Really??? Room is average old Hilton with Minsk tv channels. Not what I expected. 3 stars tops. I stayed 100 nights on the road last year. No more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
It is with deep regret that we learn of your experience, as what you have shared is not what we would hope for any of our valued guests. Parking in Miami certainly is at a premium and our rates are comparative to most other area hotels. In addition to convenience, our valet service also permits guests to enjoy unlimited in and out privileges which can’t be found in public parking areas. We do appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to review our offerings to all guests. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My friend and I were traveling on a long weekend to Miami to run the ING Miami Half Marathon. The trip started off uneventful - flight, check-in, great weather - but it all went down hill very quickly. We left the room for the day and me being very OCD, checked that the door was slammed and shut. After returning for the night, I noticed that my chargers had gone missing and my stuff was sorted through, but didn't think anything of it and went to bed.

When we woke up, we went to get quick breakfast and we realized that my roommate's MacBook and Playstation Vita were taken from the room. We immediately went to the front desk and were met with sarcasm that it wasn't that big of an issue. The head of security noted that its only happened a few times at the hotel and would take "days" to investigate and that they did not believe a theft had occured. Unsatisfied by the way the hotel was approaching the situation we asked the front desk on how to file an insurance claim. What transpired in the next 24 hours would be unbelievable. We were met with hostility by the hotel managment staff and were accused of lying and misplacing our items and that no theft had occured.

We took to the airwaves on social media and were met with further aggression from the Hilton Miami staff as they were convinced we were looking for a handout. We were lectured that we had simply misplaced our items and/or left them at home. How can two people who used the computer and played the video game system be lying?

When we were in touch with Hilton Corporate, they were understanding to the situation and contacted the Hilton Miami. The staff took their time to call and when they did decided to lecture us once again about misplacing items and that he was in the right for raising his voice and calling me rude because I was causing a scene (which we were not). I informed them I would not be paying for the stays as they had treated us like common criminals, laughed and stated the Hotel was no obligated to do anything and we were lucky to get one day compensated.

However, we later found out that Hilton Miami operates as a franchise and is not under the jurisdication of their corporate office. Totally baffled at this and I understand why they have free reign to act the way they do.

In the end, moral of the story - don't stay at the Hilton Miami. Yes, we understand that items get stolen from time to time - staff or no staff - but it was the exeuction in the matters after that are the bizarre part. You are in the hospitality industry - show some. If you had treated us like human beings and were companssionate, we wouldnt be so angry.

DONT STAY AT THE HILTON MIAMI.

Rude staff (particularly Benny Degama and Dana Strupler), terrible security and does not live up to the HILTON PROMISE

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions. We appreciate your concern regarding this matter. As this is an ongoing investigation with the Police Department, we ask that you please reach out to the investigator with whom the report was filed. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We chose this hotel as my boyfriend was running the Miami Marathon and it was within walking distance to the start finish. Every staff member we dealt with was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had a nice view of the bay and downtown. So the service and location were very good. I was not thrilled with the fact that there was no free Wi-Fi. The pool (which I was looking forward to relaxing by) looks lovely on the hotel website, but in reality is kinda dingy with dirty ashtrays on all the tables, and half dead plants surrounding the pool and patio area. The AC in the room was loud and difficult to control, making a good nights rest a challenge. While the negatives are are not huge issues, I expected it to be just a little sweeter for the rates this hotel charges.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your impressions of our hotel. While we are truly pleased to know that you enjoyed your clean accommodations and found our associates to be exceptionally friendly and helpful, we are disappointed that anything else may have been lacking during your stay or if the air-conditioning in your room was cause for any discomfort. All of our common areas are checked continuously for cleanliness and we regret if anything was amiss during your visit to the pool. Your comments will be shared with our housekeeping associates. While we do charge for Internet access in individual guestrooms, complimentary wireless is available in all public areas. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I took my daughter & her friend to the Justin Bieber concert at American Airlines arena. The staff was friendly & helpful, the room on the 21st floor had a fabulous view! The beds were comfy, though there was no fridge. We were supposed to have bottled water in the room, which we had to ask for. The hotel was nice & quiet. We could walk 6 blocks to the concert, & also Bayside shopping and dinning. It felt very safe & was great instead of driving! There is a Starbucks in the lobby, which was nice. The breakfast in the restaurant was overpriced for the buffet, but it had a nice selection. We had one BIG disappointment- our room had wires hanging from the wall instead of a smoke detector. I asked for a new one to be put in before we went to sleep & that never happened. Being on the 21st floor with no smoke detector - BAD for comfort!
Also the telephone by the bed in our room was out of order. Would I stay there again? Not sure, for $300+ a night, I had hoped to have a top notch stay. Reading many reviews on here, I see I am not alone in my observations that Hilton needs to do a better job with this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Located just minutes away from so much of the downtown Miami area, the Hilton Miami Downtown is indeed in a great location and we are thrilled you enjoyed your overall stay. AmericanAirlines Arena is such a great destination for so many of today’s hottest performing artists and events and being able to simply stroll from our front doors to your destination is such a benefit! A hot cup of coffee to start the day is definitely most welcome and many of our guest appreciate the Starbucks experience as well. We must apologize if you anything was amiss in your guestroom. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our maintenance team to ensure all is at it’s best. Refrigerators are available upon request. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay, we do hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karlstad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed 5 days in a good-deal room for four, at discounted web prices. No problem!The hotel is extraordinarily average for its wanna-be top notch brand. The best deal was the courtesy of bartenders, waiters and front desk personnel. (The valet parking crew was less memorable and once could not find our convertible) The common area offered Wi-Fi at a fee (with a workaround secret code). The pool area was not so inviting. Could be better taken care of? Hope so. Overall, the place was packed with cruise-goers and our discount room gave us no ocean views, but we had big breakfasts and bouncy beds. Still, next time, we will try Hilton on the beach.

Room Tip: Stay on the ocean side i f you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for providing details of your experience with us. It gives us great pleasure knowing our team members made such a positive impact on your stay and that you enjoyed the value of our downtown Miami hotel. We apologize if you found anything lacking at our rooftop pool, as it is our hope that each and every guest’s stay is completely positive and memorable. We urge everyone to let us know if there is anything we can do to provide them with the best experience possible and one of our associates is always available to do just that. Please note, that our wireless Internet is complimentary for everyone in all public areas of the hotel. We welcome your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to fully impress you with all we have to offer during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
#42 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.