We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #38 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

After reading several questionable reviews about the Hilton Miami Downtown I was hesitant to stay there, but I gave it a shot and was glad I did. My wife and I did an overnight stay at this hotel to see a concert at the American Airlines arena. We chose the hotel because it was within walking distance of the arena (thus eliminating paying to park) and we are hilton honors members. We chose to valet park although self parking is also an option. The valet attendants were very courteous. The Hotel is very nice. You have to take an elevator from the valet level up to the lobby area. Check in at the front desk was great. The Clerk (Luis) was extremely pleasant. He asked about our room preference and upgraded our room (good to be an HH member). Our room on the 17th floor was absolutely fantastic. Maybe an updated paint job may have been in order, but honestly the view from the room made us forget about everything else. We had been upgraded to a bay view room. We had the downtown miami skyline, the cruise port and more for a view. This was probably the nicest view I can remember from a hotel room. Not to mention the fact that the room was very very spacious which was appreciated. The bathroom was clean. Water pressure was good and the bed was very comfy. We had dinner in one of the downstairs restaurants. We didn't feel like leaving the hotel. Dinner was decent. It was expensive (as expected) but convenient. The following morning we also had breakfast downstairs using our continental breakfast voucher. My only complaint is that you had to pay additional to upgrade to a full breakfast, but I'm assuming this is one of the cost saving tools that Hilton is now using. Although this hotel is a very nice Hilton, I'm not sure if I'd do a lengthy stay here. If you're coming down to Miami to see a concert at the arena, then this hotel is an option. If you're on business in Miami, then this is definitely an option. If you're about to go on a cruise out of miami or just got in from a cruise then this is an option. I would definitely stay here again on a short trip. Great experience!

Room Tip: You want a bay view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
AmericanAirlines Arena to the Port of Miami and more, the Hilton Miami Downtown offers the ideal accommodations and we are thrilled you agree. Thank you so much for sharing details regarding your stay with us, we are truly humbled by your kind review. The view of the Miami skyline is rather spectacular and we feel fortunate to gaze out on its beauty every day. From your dining experience to your spacious guestroom it seems as if you enjoyed so much and we are so glad it was such a pleasant surprise for you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    780
    323
    119
    64
See reviews for
464
519
97
419
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A great place to stay if your in need of a downtown hotel. Employees were attentive, food was good and the price is right in there with most nice hotels in the downtown area. not far to the water either. thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for the great review of the Hilton Miami Downtown. With the perfect address in downtown Miami close to everything you may need, we couldn’t be happier to know you enjoyed your stay and will share your kind words with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is located in a neigborhood that gets better every year. Comfortable rooms, clean and overall with a friendly staff, from bell boton, valet parking and Recepction desks. Nearby downtown and Bayside. Ideal for business or combo business/vacation, specially if you need to be in downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Downtown Miami is truly amazing and we feel so fortunate to part of such an exciting destination. Thank you for sharing your review and appreciation for the Hilton Miami Downtown. From your clean and comfortable accommodations to our hospitable team, it seems that you enjoyed your stay and for that, we are truly grateful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again and we hope it’s soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent two nights here for a business meeting. The lobby was awkwardly laid out, barren, and uninviting, with a mix of old 60's tile, 80's walls and carpet, and a dash of late 90's techno for good measure. My room, 507, was in TERRIBLE condition, with the exception of the linens, which were the usual nice quality hotel linen. Paint, carpet and most furnishings were quite worn. The food, both that served at the meeting, and the room service I ordered, ranged from ordinary at best to inedible. The first night I got in I ordered a tuna steak with a salad- the tuna had THAT smell, and the salad was not fresh either. At the meeting the next day the fruits and vegetables had worn out their welcome the previous day. One redeeming feature of the hotel was its easy access to the Venetian Causeway, which is a beautiful walk across the bay.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Your feedback is welcomed and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts with us. It certainly concerns us to read your review as we take the comments of all of our guests very seriously and continuously strive to create a positive stay for all. We must apologize that you were in any way disappointed with your dining experiences and will be sure to share your comments with our management team. Please know that one of our associates is always available to help provide the best possible stay for all of our guests and if there was anything that we could have done that could have made your stay more positive, we would have be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Fantastic hotel. The executive suite rooms have two floors to ceiling glass walls, with a perfect view of the sunrise and a clear view of the water. Rooms were clean and the hotel was quiet. Free breakfast is included. Also, valet parking is slightly expensive, but worth the cost. The car was ready within five minutes of handing over the ticket. This hotel was also reasonably priced, especially compared to the overpriced Miami Beach locations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We think your review is fantastic! Thank you for sharing your review of the Hilton Miami Downtown. From sunrise to sunset and beyond, the views from our downtown Miami hotel are some of the best in the area and we couldn't be happier to learn you enjoyed them as well as your clean, quiet accommodations and valet service. We hope to welcome you back again for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel, as we were taking a cruise from port the following day. Our flights to Miami had been delayed 3 hours and we had spent 4-5 hours at the airport gate in our departing city. So we we're pretty tried and uncomfortable when we arrived to the Hilton. We had a very large room/suite on the 20th floor, with two walls of windows looking out. We're very happy with our view and it was beautiful and night time. Due to our large delay it was pretty late when we decided to find a place to eat. We walked around a block two in both directions and Checkers and Wendy's were the only places around. We went back to the hotel bar and restaurant area...the kitchen in the bar area was closed, and the restaurant had closed long before. We were hungry and the waitress at the Hilton bar, told us to take the skywalk over to the doubletree as they had a restaurants open. She gave us quick directions and we made our way out. Well she gave us the wrong directions and we spent 15 minutes walking up and down stairs to get to the skywalk. We were tried, hot and not pleased. Finally when we go a complete different direction she told us, we get to the skywalk. We walked across only to find out the doors on the other side are locked. So we go back across and down to the parking lot to walk over to the doubletree. There are shops and restaurants at the bottom of the doubletree and we stopped and had a great meal. I wish I could remember the restaurant name. Anyway, we had an excellent stay in our room, it was very spacious and the decor comfortable and elegant. The room and bathroom were very clean. They offered free breakfast in the morning. They had almost everything you would want for breakfast buffet and cute little jars for the condiments. The one thing I wanted was an omelet and I did not see a station for one. When we were getting ready to leave the table I did see one delivered to a person. So perhaps you have to order them. The food was okay. The pros to this place were the great view, clean and friendly staff, and close to the Miami port and convention center. The cons are no shuttle to pick up from the airport or a courtesy shuttle that takes you within 5 miles of the hotel. If you are going to port like we were, take a taxi if you have more than two in your party. The port is super close, and the van people in the lobby of the hotel wanted to charge 6 per person. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Get the corner suites on the upper levels, they're very large and the view is phenomenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
While we are happy to know you enjoyed the spectacular view from our hotel as well as your breakfast dining experience, we couldn't help but feel disappointed that your entire stay was not completely positive. Traveling delays can certainly be frustrating and we can understand how disappointing it can be to arrive hungry after the restaurant has closed for the day. It's great to know you found a delicious dining experience outside of the hotel but we must apologize if there was any confusion over the location of the area restaurants or if there was any miscommunication of the directions by one of our associates. Please know that we do offer several packages that include complimentary port transfer for an affordable option for all of our guests. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The pros: This hotel is conveniently located just down the street from the American Airlines Arena. It is only a 15-minute walk or a less than five minute car ride. The lobby/restaurant area is also very nice.

The cons: The rooms are average and feel somewhat outdated. Also, the hot water and internet connectivity also stopped working during my stay. The hotel did compensate for the problems, but they were frustrating nonetheless.

Overall, if you are on a business trip, need a convenient hotel, and are not planning to spend much time in your room, this is a good option. If you are looking for a "cool" Miami hotel, try South Beach.

Room Tip: Request a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Miami is such a fantastic destination and we are thrilled that you chose the Hilton Miami Downtown for your visit! Thank you for mentioning our location, just a short walk from American Airlines Arena and all of the fun and excitement that comes with taking in an event there! It can certainly be frustrating when a guest experiences anything amiss and we apologize if you experienced any inconvenience while staying with us. We are glad to know that our associates were able to resolve the matter in a way that was satisfying to you. Thank you for your review, we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Miami
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#37 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.