We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old building, Decent, location but only go if you're in a pinch.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Miami Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Miami Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Miami Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 20%!
Ranked #38 of 130 hotels in Miami
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old building, Decent, location but only go if you're in a pinch.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

They are doing the best they can with the old building. If low ceilings bother you this is not the place for you. This hotel is best suited for the folks who want a decent place to stay when working in downtown Miami or are going to catch a cruise. We only picked it because we wanted a hotel that would give us the night we needed for our Hilton Honors points. That having been said that have updated the rooms and the corner Jr. Suite is very spacious, had a great view of the bay but lacked a microwave or a mini-refrigerator??? The bathroom was small as well. The pool area was actually a nice surprise as it was spacious and well furnished with a very friendly full service pool bar and grill. This is a very large hotel and very busy with many international guest (we overheard many languages spoken) and eventhough the staff was VERY busy they all had a great attitude and friendly demeanor. The overwhelming number of people just means that everything takes a little longer. I also did not care for the $28/ day parking fee. Im confident that given more time I could have found something more pleasing for the second half of our family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
We do appreciate your choosing to stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown and while it seems that for the most part, your stay was enjoyable, we wish we had made a better impression. Our parking fees are very comparable to other hotels in the area and we also offer a Stay and Park package which offers complimentary parking. It’s wonderful to see that our team members were able to accommodate your needs and create a pleasant experience for you.

In the future, we hope to be afforded another opportunity to provide you with the experience that many have come to enjoy at the Hilton Miami Downtown. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    537
    725
    304
    111
    60
See reviews for
427
489
94
392
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My two daughters and I stayed here for 2 nights after a cruise. I had prepaid for a junior suite and requested a higher floor room with a nice bayview and early check-in if possible. I also told the front desk manager Christopher that it was a special trip as both my daughters had birthdays. When we got to the hotel, around 11a.m, room wasn't ready, but they checked our bags and we went straight to the pool. I was told they would put a rush on getting the room ready and they asked for my cell phone. By 12:30 p.m, I got a call on my cell phone to inform me our room was ready. Beautiful room, gorgeous view. I called to thank Christopher and he even remembered that my girls had birthdays and sent up some treats for them. Thank you so much!! The only thing I found strange was that there was no mini fridge in the room, even for a suite our size.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
The Hilton Miami Downtown is honored to have been your choice of accommodations during such a special occasion. Our team members are focused on providing personalized service and it’s wonderful to see they were successful in achieving this with you. Your kind comments will be passed along to the team members.

At the moment, mini-fridges are only offered in our Presidential Suites; however, we do have some available to place in guestrooms upon your request. During your next visit, please feel free to ask for one and we will be sure to have it in your guestroom prior to your arrival.
Please wish your daughters a Happy Birthday from all of us at the Hilton Miami Downtown and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Nice hotel, great location (not in the beach, but great for accessing from and to the airport), great service and several options for dinning around. Great Breakfast!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
We are delighted that your recent stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown was enjoyable and that our convenient location worked out so well for you. The breakfast at Brisa Bistro is definitely worth getting up for and we’re thrilled to see you liked it.

Thank you for the great review and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Great room, great view. Staff was great at making recommendations on attractions in the area. Thank you to the staff for everything. Its so hard to travel with kids and this was understood when we showed up at the hotel, at 2 am with 4 crying kids. The front desk agent was pleasant and understanding. I was embarrassed and she completely turned that around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Arriving at 2 am is difficult for an adult, so we completely understand the stresses it might have on children! It’s wonderful to see that our team members provided you with the seamless service that we pride ourselves on and that your accommodations fully met your expectations.

Thank you for being a valued guest of the Hilton Miami Downtown. We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great value, location, and staff make for an affordable stay in Downtown Miami. It's not South Beach, but we were'nt looking to stay on South Beach. I have learned you can get a great hotel for an affordable price and still visit all the places you want (ie-South Beach.) This hotel is right on Biscayne Blvd (aka US1) and had a magnificent view of the Bay with floor to ceiling windows. The beds were superb--room was extra clean-you can cab to just about anywhere from here. I wouldnt walk around here alone after dark--Biscayne borders on some not-so-nice neighborhoods, but you would be fine in a cab or your rental car. I was very happy with the hotel as it suited our needs perfectly. We arrived early 1-ish, and had no problems checking in, staff was friendly, we hung out by the pool all afternoon, went to South beach for dinner and people-watching, came back to the hotel for pre-club drinks in our rooms, then called a cab to take us to Bongos, Gloria Estefan's restaurant which turns into a club (and i must say, it was great!) on Fri and Sat nights. I felt safe and comfortable, and we were a group of women celebrating a birthday, and i have to say--HIlton fit the bill! I'll be back-and soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Happy Birthday and thank you for choosing to celebrate with us! We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to learn that your stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown exceeded your expectations. We’re already looking forward to your next visit so hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed for five days during a leisure trip and were pleasantly surprised. We will be returning to this hotel when we visit the Miami area. The lobby had great decor and was comfortable and inviting for cocktails with friends or clients. The rooms were comfortable and well-appointed. The only drawback was the air-conditioning unit, which is loud. The food selections at Brisas restaurant and the bar were very good. Good value without being pretentious.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
It’s wonderful to learn that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown and we thank you for your kind comments. We’re thrilled that the décor and comfortable environment of our lobby made it easy to relax and enjoy your time in Miami.

Our Director of Engineering has been alerted regarding the noise from the air conditioner in your guestroom; rest assured, we will find a solution.

We really appreciate your review and are looking forward to welcoming you back for some fabulous cuisine and cocktails during another great stay at the Hilton Miami Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The people were really nice and helpful. Parking is $28 a day which comes up as a bill itself if you are here for a week or so. The pool is nothing special as they make it appear in the website but it is open at all times (even though they say 11pm) so its really nice to relax here.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMiamiDowntown, General Manager at Hilton Miami Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
It’s wonderful to see that our team members at the Hilton Miami Downtown were able to accommodate your needs and create a pleasant and relaxing experience for you.

Our parking fees are comparable with other hotels in the area and our Valet Team Members work very hard to make sure your vehicle is very well taken care of. Before your next stay in Miami, please take a moment to check out our website. Here you can learn about our packages which offer complimentary parking, like our Stay & Park Package.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Miami Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Miami Downtown

Address: 1601 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
#41 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Miami Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Miami Downtown has completely renovated all 527 rooms and suites, featuring the Hilton Serenity Bed and Bath Collection. The new exercise facility features Fitness by Precor. Enjoy the heated roof top pool with views of Miami. The hotel offers the amenities today's travelers expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Miami Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Miami Downtown Hotel Miami
Miami Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Miami Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.