We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3550 NW 74th Avenue, Miami, FL 33122   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 25%
Ranked #36 of 129 Hotels in Miami
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed at this hotel during a recent conference and it was quite pleasant! The hotel is just located off the airport so it's a good 10-15 minute drive, not to mention the hotel does offer complimentary shuttle service.

The hotel is fairly new, I'd say it's about 2-3 years old as it looked and even smelled quite fresh. The decor was very modern and contemporary throughout the hotel.

The entire front desk staff, from morning to afternoon to evening were all quite friendly and accommodating. But I have to say though when they get busy, they get slammed hard yet they remain calm and pleasant.

The room I stayed in was nicely furnished and was pretty spacious. It featured the same amenities you'd expect from every Hilton Garden Inn, such as the adjustable bed, which is so awesome and comfortable, complimentary high speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker and 32" LCD TV. The bathroom however had a stand in shower, where the standing area was the size of a tub so you can literally fit two people in there. The showerhead however was placed rather high and for as tall as I am, I had a hard time adjusting the settings. My only complaint about the room was that the closet was very small, it had two sliding doors so the opening was barely big enough for me to fit my (carry on sized) suitcase in without scuffing the wall. Also, the room I was in faced the industrial area with a view of the airport so, I also experienced quite a bit of the flight path noise, which was pretty much from 7am sharp to about 11pm. A colleague of mine who stayed there too was facing the parking lot and said that she didn't hear the planes.

Their restaurants offerings were blah, it was the epitome of hotel food. You know, overpriced and under flavored food. But, since there aren't any restaurants withing walking distance it was either Mc Donald's/Denny's or the hotel...I choose the hotel. The evening restaurant staff could use a bit of attitude improvement. They weren't rude at all, they just could've been a little more attentive and warm & fuzzy.

The hotel gets a lot of the leisure travelers that are either staying prior/post cruise, which I learned the hard way as I was hoping to catch their shuttle to the airport but a family was catching it and they had more luggage and oversized souvenirs than people. I told the front desk agent to call a cab for me because there wasn't any room, which she did and told me that they'd pay for it due to the inconvenience. Way to go! I didn't mind paying for it but, that was customer service deluxe in the act!

Overall, this hotel was great. If I were back in the Miami area and needed to stay by the airport (and had a car) I'd stay here for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    221
    64
    25
    9
See reviews for
157
155
34
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

This hotel is a typical airport Hilton-clean, comfortable, simple breakfast in the morning. Price was affordable. Customer service was horrible. The shuttle took 45 minutes to arrive after calling for it (you have to call for the shuttle, it does not make scheduled stops, even though they say it does)...the drive to the hotel is only 12 minutes, so not sure why it took so long. We sat on the curb watching other hotel shuttles go by up to 3 times while waiting for our shuttle. The next morning, our scheduled 630am shuttle back to the airport actually left the hotel at 628 (per the front desk clerk)-without our group and another traveller scheduled to be on the shuttle. After arguing with us and why it was our fault that we missed the shuttle that left earlier than the scheduled time, the front desk attendent finally called a cab for us. The restaurant was out of half of the food items on the menu both nights that we stayed there. The rooms were fine, as one would expect with a higher-end chain hotel.

The only shining star was Catalina at the front desk, she was the only redeeming quality of our stay! We definitely will not be staying there in the future, due to the ridiculous shuttle and poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We just returned from a trip to the Turks and Caicos. We choose for the first time to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn West Miami Airport the night before our departure. We could not have been more impressed. The room was very nice, clean and nicely appointed. What really sold us on this hotel was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone greets you as soon as you passed by them. We had a cooler of frozen food with us and they cheerfully put it in their freezer for keeping overnight. Another guest ask for a late checkout and the cheerful answer was Of Course! Every time I walked by the front desk they were assisting people with unusual requests, always granting them and never making a guest feel like they were doing a huge favor for them-they seemed genuinly pleased to help. We stayed at the hotel for 120.00 for the night. This was a cruise and stay rate. This included a full cooked to order breakfast, cold cereal bar and fresh fruit. This was normally 11.95 per person but it was included in our rate. We also left our car at the hotel for 2 weeks while we were out of the country and this was also included as well as transfers to and from the airport. We will definitely be back and rec. this to our friends who frequently cruise and fly out of Miami.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very close to airport with shuttle. My wife and I stayed here going to - and coming from- a Caribbean destination. Both stays were terrific from the warm greeting checking in to the clean, comfortable rooms. Even the maids were friendly in the morning!
We did venture across the highway (very busy until after 7pm) to widen our dinner choices and found an excellent Peruvian restuarant in the strip mall - El Pollo Inka. A diverse menu with some recco's the hotel desk folks made - tasted delicious! Family run and good service too. What I also liked was the free high speed internet - never did get why the HGI's provide it free but you have to spend extra to get it at regular Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Excellent hotel, very clean and the staff were very courteous. Business center could be a bit bigger, but otherwise no complaints. Rooms very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We spent several days in Miami & Key West before heading off to a family get together in Naples. When my father-in-law visits California for business, he always stays at the Hilton Garden Inn in Mountain View, and he's always raving about it. So given the previous reviews of this chain, we decided to give it a try.

Also, i'm a Hilton Honors member, and they had a super saver promotion, which made it a great bargain to stay at.

It's also right across the street (albeit a busy one) from Denny's, so it's convenient if you arrive late in the evening and want a bite.

The room and bathroom were comfortable. Pillows were a little flat--I needed to double mine over to sleep comfortably. Free internet was good as was the free bottled water. The fitness center and pool closed a bit early though (I think around 10?)

Convenient location--close drive to downtown Miami/SoBe. Because there was an Urban/Hip Hop festival going on, we drove to the Santa Clara MetroRail station and took it into downtown instead of trying to look for parking downtown.

Then on the day we left, we simply popped on the 826 South, it was pretty much a straight shot down to Key West.

Solid hotel and great location--we would definitely come back here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Customer service was priority number one from the first phone call to confirm the reservation to check out. The staff was terrific, the rooms were clean and roomy, the business center and wifi in the rooms worked perfectly, and service in the restaurant was great. Due to the location, there is some noise from takeoffs at the airport depending on which side of the building your room lies, and the AC/heat units are a bit older and a bit noisy, but the hotel has been updated nicely in all other respects and is maintained beautifully inside and out. Breakfast was excellent every day of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West

Address: 3550 NW 74th Avenue, Miami, FL 33122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#23 Business Hotel in Miami
#35 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.