We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a short stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3550 NW 74th Avenue, Miami, FL 33122   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now, Save up to 25%
Ranked #31 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Düsseldorf
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a short stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night before heading home the next day. Location is at the west end of MIA airport directly off Palmetto Expressway. Hotel is located directly underneath the approach path for runway 30 of the airport and aircraft overpass the hotel in a height of approx. 300ft. Subsequently you have some noise when an aircraft passes by, especially as the windows aren´t that good. But as this is not the only landing runway and traffic dies down at night, it didn´t bother us too much. Parking was ok, contrary to some reviewers lately, we always found a spot.

Warm welcome at the front desk, luggage carts available, lobby at any time full of people, therefore noisy.

Size of the room ok, two (rather small) beds, cleanliness not ok, hair in the bathroom and on the blanket. Everything rather old. Have been to better rooms in other Hilton Garden Inns. Small fridge and microwave in room as well as an old standard coffee maker which is outdated nowerdays. Best thing about the room were the excellent mattresses.

Breakfast buffet costs 11.95$, no other options nearby if you don´t have a car although a McDonald´s and a Denny´s are across the street.

There are some better options if a hotel at MIA airport is needed. Therefore would stay elsewhere (Hampton Inn & Suites) next time because of cleaner rooms, better breakfast and less noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    258
    72
    28
    11
See reviews for
179
167
40
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed one night before boarding our cruise and the accommodations were perfect for our needs. We checked in at 8pm, dashed across the busy street to the Pollo Inka for dinner (don't order chicken, it's dry...ceviche is the best) and we arranged a transfer to the port the next morning for $12 pp.
We just returned from the port this morning and I was surprised that the hotel doesn't offer transfers *from* the port but it was ok as there were plenty of options and we found a shuttle for $10pp back to this hotel.
It's 10am Sunday morning and we are waiting in the pleasant lobby for the shuttle to the mall where we'll spend the day before heading to the airport tomorrow. There is an option to purchase breakfast for $13pp or you could walk across the street to Dennys. For the practical traveller this place can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Parking is terrible... They do not have enough spaces and it is hard to find a spot even during slow times... I had to park in a lane overnight twice because of no parking.. I bet they sell spaces for long term parking for the airport.. There elevators are extremely slow so ask if you can stay on the first floor.... Several times we called the front desk to get in at security gate and the phone rung 6 times or more without answer... On the plus side there rooms are clean and the service is what you expect for a hotel... Nothing great but not bad either... They have cookies at check in that are great tasting....

Room Tip: Stay on first floor.... Elevators are slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I got here today and its just an Ok HGI The parking lot its packed!! The lobby staff are so lazy and helpless that words arent enough. There is no internet connection in The Bussines Center today which is very rare because I have Been to This hotel and The Homewood next door Many times and The BUssines Center is always in excelent conditions.
The room is Ok but it isn't clean Since I got here I got a horrible allergy but The worst was in The bathroom (see picture!!)
It is really grose!
I highly recomend The Homewood next door The staff are súper nice, its a lot cleaner and The rooms are in much better conditions.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel has nice and spacious room, and what really makes a difference is the service provided by their staff. They make you feel welcomed all the way. I would like to give an special attention the transfer driver Maria Helena who is extremely friendly and provides an oustanding service. She went out of her way to ensure that she would drop me to the most convenient and closer spot to my check in area.

Room Tip: The hotel is a bit far from town but If you are looking for a place to relax, this can be ideal. Eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great place to stay and at a great price. Nice Pool, free breakfast buffet, basket of apples in the reception add a nice touch. Stuff was very friendly and across the street we found a great Peruvian Restaurant where we had lunch and dinner every day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

stayed dec 9 before our cruise and had trouble free pickup at airport and check in was easy and had a few drinks at the bar and ate dinner and while not gourmet was very acceptable. room was clean and very nice and altho did hear a few flights overhead was able to sleep. There is a liquor store for pre cruise wine and Mcdonalds and wendy's across a very busy street but go out the hotel and turn right until you come to a red light intersection and you can safely cross there. We used the shuttle to the crruise port and cost was $12 per person. I checked into staying closer to the port but cost was prohibitive. The trip to port did not take long at all and if I cruise out of Miami in the future I will stay with the Hilton Garden Inn West again.

Room Tip: We stayed on 1st floor and head some airline noise but it was easy to get to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West

Address: 3550 NW 74th Avenue, Miami, FL 33122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Miami Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.