We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that impressive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3590 NW 74th Avenue, Miami, FL 33122   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for AAA members
Ranked #14 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not that impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Breakfast was poor on 10/27/2012. We expected to have Belgium waffle for breakfast but there was none. No hash brown, no sausage or bacon strip, only some bacon bits. The scrambled egg was cold. The female staff who was working there was not attentive at all. Spoons ran out. We were trying to get some more scrambled eggs some time at around 10am but she just took the pan away right in front of us. The fruits in the fruit basket looked pretty bad. At night, one of the pear was rotten and flies flying around it and on it. Coffee was only lukewarm. There was no hot water. The room looked clean except the table which wasn't cleaned properly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    111
    29
    5
    7
See reviews for
136
87
18
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oranjestad, Aruba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week. Upon arrival in the hotel the staff treated us very friendly and in a very proffesional way, she advised us that our room was not ready as yet, but we can have a seat and they would let us know when it was ready, it only took them 5 minutes, which was very good.

We booked a two queen bed room, the room was very spacious, had its own kitchen and living room,they had the menu of the dinner on the refridgerator for a friendly reminder of what there is going to be. Rooms were cleaned everyday.

The breakfast was fabulous, each day you had various selection of what you would like to eat, and in the afternoon, although small dinner, it was fabulous.

The hotel is very close to the airport, if you were to be standing outside there would be planes passing right over you, but at night or if you would have to take a nap, you would not here them self.

Location is very central of everything. The hotel offer shuttle to/from the airpot, Dolphin and Wallmart, thus for clients who do not have a car, this would be perfect if you are on a shopping vacation.

The hotel is very clean, very new, no funny oders or smell. They also have a business center that is open 24 hours, this is good for clients that is on a business trip.

I would definetly be back at this hotel!! Very much worth everything!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel desk clerk greeted us in such a friendly manner as we checked in. We requested a first floor room and she had already anticipated this request. Our room was perfectly suited to our needs before we were flying out of Miami. We especially like the setup of the toilet/shower in one area and the sink in another.

We were reminded of the complimentary dinner and breakfast at check-in so at dinner time we went to the lobby to check it out. The chef, Miguel, was greeting guests so very warmly. The entree was a delicious meatballs and chick peas, perfectly prepared. Fresh tomatoes, lettuce, peas and other vegetables for a tasty salad were available.

A van runs every 30 minutes to the airport. A van is available for cruises, too (possibly for an extra charge).

We made the right choice with Homewood Suites Miami Airport West!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here in a 1 bedroom suite for two nights in early October 2012. The hotel is very close to the airport and centrally located for driving to downtown Miami, Miami Beach, Key Biscayne, etc. The staff for the most part were attentive and cordial in person but had instances on the phone that the opposite occurred. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was ok. Not much selections but did the trick. The kitchen in the room was well-supplied. We did not use the pool but it is located in a nicely landscaped courtyard.
Both of our stays were weekend nights so were not able to experience the Manager's Reception, however we did see the menu and the selections seemed very nice with good amount of variety. The soundproofing of the facility is excellent; you cannot hear the planes or expressway in the rooms.

Room Tip: Book a room further away from the Expressway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Since the beginning of 2012, have either stayed here or at the Hampton Inn - Doral (more on this property in a separate review), several times and am happy with both. Minor differences and offerings between the two separate properties.

This Homewood Suite is closer to MIA Airport, about a 15 minute drive to the MIA Rental Car Center, than the Hampton Inn mentioned above, with a complimentary airport shuttle available 24 hours. No jacuzzi, but you can use the one in the HIlton Garden Inn next door. Plenty of free outdoor parking. Breakfasts are generous and tasty, with varied entrees, (unlike Embassy Suites), and the complimentary dinners (Mon. - Thu.) are almost always delicious.

I really liked the full-sized refrigerator and the completely-equipped kitchen, which is why this is a great choice for extended stays. Road Warriors or families can buy supplies and prepare them in your suite. The neighborhood seems safer than areas closer to MIA, on 36th Street, but just in case, there is a 24-hour Security Patrol in the parking lot, (the car has these weird flashing green lights). You can also work from your room, (complimentary wireless internet) and I would recommend getting the two-room suites, as this is what makes it different from regular hotels. You never get nickled and dimed, unlike other hotels.

If on an upper floor, you hear a "Whoosh" that's a plane coming in for a landing, but is not loud or bothersome.

If you're looking for a comfortable, clean, modern hotel, close to the MIA Airport, and within easy driving distance of the Dolphin Mall, you can't go wrong here! However, if looking for a luxury property, with 24-Hour room service, restaurants, bars, plenty of meeting rooms, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay on lower floors if airplanes passing close to the roof scare you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

3 of us (2 adults, 1 tween) stayed at this hotel for 4 nights August 23 - 27, 2012. The purpose of our trip was to visit Miami before boarding our cruise.


1 Location was very ideal and central, near the airpot, shopping malls (15 minutes drive), gas stations, highway and dining choices. We were able to drive to Downtown Miami and Miami Beach within 30 - 40 mintues and Little Havana, Coral Gables and the airport under 30 minutes

2 Complementary breakfast and parking. Hot and cold breakfast items. Supper is also served Monday - Thursday. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate is available in the lobby around the clock.

3 Full kitchen, with stove, fridge, dishwasher, pots, and dishes. We didn't use it as we spent a lot of time in the city

4 We stayed in a Studio Room - includes a King bed and Sofa Bed

5 I think hotel offers shuttle to Dolphin Mall, and shuttle to the Port of Miami for about $12. We had a rental car, so didn't use this option

6 The property and the rooms were very clean

7 Front desk staff was very friendly. We had to stay the 4th night, because our cruise got delayed due to Tropical Storm Isaac. The front desk staff, Diego and Dayana, and another girl were exteremly helpful. We got good rate for the extra night, plus they let us stay in the room and lobby while we were waiting for the Port of Miami to open and board the cruise. The manager recommended restaurants and other shopping places.

We had an overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at this place for two weeks and the experience is awesome. The staff is really helpful and efficient, the rooms are always tidy and in perfect conditions. The pool area is really comfortable and everything in it breathes an air of calmness. The food is really nice and varied.

Room Tip: higher floors are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West

Address: 3590 NW 74th Avenue, Miami, FL 33122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#26 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.