We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the airport.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3590 NW 74th Avenue, Miami, FL 33122   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off for AAA members
Ranked #13 of 129 hotels in Miami
Lebanon, PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great hotel near the airport.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in mid-May, one at the beginning and one at the end of a Key West vacation. The hotel is fairly close to the airport although a little hard to find; it shares a narrow access street with a Hilton Garden Inn.
Everything about this hotel was great; all the staff were attentive and cordial, the room was clean and the beds super comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was nice with a variety of hot & cold items including eggs and sausage; different items were offered on our 2nd stay. We did not use the kitchen in the room although it was well-supplied. We also did not use the pool but it is located in a nicely landscaped courtyard.
Since both of our stays were weekend nights we were not able to experience the Manager's Reception, however we did see the menu and the selections were comparable to meals you would find at restaurants, which there are a variety of nearby.
The soundproofing of the facility is excellent; planes fly directly overhead at very low altitude but are not heard inside.
A uniformed security officer in a marked car patrolled the grounds of the this and the adjacant hotel; we observed him numerous times during our stay.
Lastly, the two staff members working the front desk at check-in, Diana & Gabby, were very friendly and personable. They helped to make our stay enjoyable.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    100
    27
    4
    7
See reviews for
121
80
18
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I typically work in south florida 2-3 times per year and visit family every thanksgiving.
This has been my go-to hotel for a few years now.
Clean, comfortable, convenient, even with a full family traveling.

Just don't forget that your GPS might lead you to a gate that is locked after dark (35th street) - after dark, the hotel is accessed from nw 74th ave, next to the gas Station off 36th street.

Right next to the Hilton Garden Inn on one side and the Palmetto on the other (rooms facing that might be noisy - never had one).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

In mid-March we stayed one night at the Homewood Suites
(3590 NW 74th Avenue, Miami). Note that it's about a 15-20 minute
drive from the airport.

Our very clean room was spacious with a fully stocked kitchen and a
separate bedroom. The bed and bedding was soft and comfortable.

We arrived too late for the small complimentary supper but took advantage
of the included breakfast in the morning which was not fancy but adequate.
They even have my favorite "french toast"!.

The staff at the front desk was friendly and gave us directions to some
restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Outside the property it is quite dark and the street fronting the hotel
is very busy, so take care in crossing the 6 lanes (with a median in the middle)
if you want to go to the restaurants, as they are all located across the street.
You can also order food from these restaurants to be delivered to your room.

There is a shuttle to the airport that leaves at specific times and you
need to put your name on the list, otherwise you may not get on if it is
crowded. We took the 7:45 A.M. shuttle which was convenient, and the driver
was super nice!

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: TIP: Don't wait for the free hotel shuttle, which could take 15-30 minutes to arrive. After y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I guess there are closer hotels to the airport, but the staff was very helpful and half of the suite was great. My only complaint was that the pullout sofa bed mattress was lopsided and about a half inch thick, so I got no sleep. The bedroom and kitchen areas were perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreyUK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Do not be misled by the high rating. This is a 3 star hotel with facilities at that level but this must be among the better hotels in this category we have used.
It is typical Homewood. Comfortable rooms and spotlessly clean. The breakfast and evening snack are fairly basic but very acceptable - surprisingly though, no juice at breakfast although this can be purchased for $2-3 from the mini shop. Staff we encountered were very friendly.
There is an outdoor pool - may be heated with reasonable seating area but this is directly under the flightpath of incoming and low aircraft. It seemed that flights did not start until about 7am though - or if they did we did not hear them.
The hotel was pretty full as there was some sort of training event going on but nevertheless we had no problem finding seating.
If you are looking for an overnight close to MIA and do not want to bother to go out to eat this is well worth considering. There are fast food outlets within easy walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey/NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

We arrived fairly late in mid-March to a smiling face at check-in. To avoid the long walk with my three year old in my arms, the young lady at the front desk suggested that we drive around the back of the hotel because it would be easier for us to access our room. So true.

Upon arriving to our room, I was disappointed to find garbage and bed linens from earlier in the day that had not been retrieved. I called the front desk and they were removed promptly. Not a deal breaker but something that should have not been overlooked.

Our room was in typical Homewood Suites fashion, large and clean. However it was a handicapped room and the water from the shower leaked from the shower stall into the bathroom. They must get complaints about this all the time. We had to roll up towels to create our own water barricade. Again not a deal breaker, but I expect more.

The buffet breakfast was just ok. Please do not expect an omelette station or someone to serve you. But if you want to grab a bite to eat on the go--it is suitable.

Each person that I came into contact with was very pleasant. From the front desk staff, to the shuttle driver (great pick up from the airport and drop off at the Port of Miami - $12 per person).

Given the same set of circumstances, we would stay there again. It's convenient to the airport and Port. However if you're looking for action...this isn't the place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We chose this hotel since it was close to MIA. This was the second Homewood Suites that we've stayed in recently and have been impressed with both! The staff was helpful and pleasant when we arrived, early. :) One of the front desk staff members even gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant nearby.

We didn't notice the noise from the airport, except when we were at the pool. Fortunately, I'm the kind of person that enjoys watching the planes as they land. The room was spacious and clean and definitely worth the cost! The next time we're in Miami we'll probably stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West

Address: 3590 NW 74th Avenue, Miami, FL 33122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.