We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Everglades Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miami Everglades Campgrounds
20675 SW. 162nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33187   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Our family enjoyed a fantastic week at this campground. The kids enjoyed the pool and volleyball court. The grounds are beautiful and relaxing. The staff and management were great. They were very helpful and answered any questions we had. We are planning another trip in the fall and can't wait to go back. We would definitely recommend this campground to others.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meresort, Manager at Miami Everglades Campgrounds, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay in our park. We are delighted that your family had a great visit and the staff and management look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    21
    6
    0
    7
See reviews for
40
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We love the park and would recommend to other , but also let them know that the managers are not very pleasant and very hard to deal with. Smiling must not be in there vocavulary, very unpleasant managers both of them. The staff seems to tip toe around the management and have no say in anything. We felt all staff members to be very pleasant. Get new management more people would come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

this place was amazing! the people there amazing friendly, the campgrounds were beautiful, no mosquitos or what not... i have not one negative thing to say about this place. the pool was beautiful as was the hot tub. showers and toilets were clean and nice. rice was also extremely reasonable. would 100 percent recommend this place to all. cant go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Very unpleasant stay on many levels. Previous reviewers comments on poor management are spot on.

Aging infrastructure is reflected in the putrid orders from the waste treatment facility, which is located at the front of park near amenities. Power outages were not uncommon during any windy period due to trees not being trimmed back from powerlines.

I would recommend this park only to campers needing an overnight on way to keys / Everglades.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meresort, Manager at Miami Everglades Campgrounds, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our park. However it is important to note that the trees along the power lines are the responsibility of the power company. FPL routinely surveys the property and attends to the trees. Perhaps there was another explanation for your electrical issues.

Unfortunately, as much as we try to educate our guests concerning the use of non-environmentally friendly chemicals in their tanks, and we only carry environmentally friendly enzyme products in our store, many guests arrive with/use the formaldehyde and other chemicals that compromise our sewer system which results in the odors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our single dry camping cabin was very small for 4 (2 kids), however we stayed just two nights and it was fine for that, at 50 dollars a night. the ladies toilets were always very clean, my husband said the men's were quite bad. sweet activities in the evening - one night they fed everyone for free! including beer, wine and plenty of food. clean swimming pool and jacuzzi. we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

As it relates to "My Way or the Highway". We return to this park every year because it is so clean and offers many amenities to include amazing guest related activities for us snow birds.

Anytime we have reached out to the management team through the front line staff we have received a return call or a personal visit to our site from management to address our concerns, which is usually because we have not adhered to the speed limit within the resort or our dog was off the leash! The speeding is consistent with one of the reviews you site. We feel safe in the park because they do regulate the speed limit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The horrible experience with management expressed by KarenR14 “Get a New Staff With a New Attitude” and mjmj18 “Never Again” are consistent with my experience. Management was difficult to contact when issues arose. Staff seemed afraid to allow campers access to the management. When queried the staff would claim that the management was not present on site and that they did not know when they would be in. Calls to management were never returned. I don’t know whether this was a deliberate tactic to stall issues until they were overcome by events or the camper departed.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Some of the issues that were observed appeared to come from a lack of communication between staff and management, becoming a frustrating experience for both campers and staff. The staff are fellow campers on a full time or seasonal basis. They appeared to be coerced by management in not taking the customer’s side with fear of not only losing their jobs, but losing their camping privileges.

The management is from the “My way or the highway” school of thought. When the management were reached they were very curt and unprofessional. Management never demonstrated patience of listening to the customer. Arbitrary enforcement of rules by management makes campers feel that they are being discriminated against. Given the large size of the campground and amount of revenue it generates, it definitely deserves a trained professional hospitality management team.

Note: The resort does not have a fitness center per se, but there are fitness classes during high season and a nice one mile cycling / walking path available year round. There are limited opportutnities to exercise during rainy season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Everglades Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Everglades Campgrounds

Address: 20675 SW. 162nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami Everglades Resort is an RV resort & campground with over 300 RV sites, tent campsites, cabins, and lodges for rent. The park is located just 30 miles south of Miami, half way to Key Largo. The park sits among avocado, mango and palm trees and is surrounded by tropical floral nurseries and farms. The location provides the perfect stop for touring Miami or visiting the Florida Keys. Both the Everglades National Park and Homestead Speedway are within 15 miles of the park. Amenties include: Lg pull-thru sites, free cable TV, WiFi, heated swimming pool, hot tub, spotless bathhouses, laundry facilities. A variety of recreational activities such as swimming, volleyball, shuffle board, and more are available withing the park and tourist attractions are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miami Everglades Campgrounds Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Everglades Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Miami Everglades Campgrounds to your Saves list