We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a new staff with a new attitude!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Everglades Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miami Everglades Campgrounds
Save Saved
You added Miami Everglades Campgrounds to your Saves list
20675 SW. 162nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33187   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Get a new staff with a new attitude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

From the minute you arrive a Miami Campground you feel like you are under security watch. We were getting out of the car at our joint camp ground and were immediately approached by a guy on a golf cart who said "you need a parking sticker immediately" I looked at the guy and said, "we are here getting out of the car, we just arrived". My friend who had already registered us, ran to the camper and said " here it is! The next day someone came to pick us up and they wanted to charge that car for parking. At this campground there is a fine line between collection or revenue and stupidity. My husband and I also enquired about cabin rental, the woman at the shop/checkin was more interested in selling bags of ice. Surely there are some friendly people who would enjoy this job, offer a smile and some help. The corporaton who ownes this camp ground should send a secret camper to look at this operation. We will not be coming back.

Room Tip: Better look at the cabins in advance, that is if they will show them to you. Also, it's a campg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    24
    6
    0
    10
See reviews for
44
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I have camped here for the pst five years. It is usually in early Maqrch and we stay two weeks. The campground is operated and maintained wonderfully. The staff is friendly and helpful. Facilities are spotless. The pool and the hot spa (ah the spa) are clean. This place has all the amenities you could ask for. It is a wonderful place to get away from the New England winters. Be sure to share conversation and coffee every morning at the pavillion.. I could go on for several paragraphs. Try it for yourself. My rating? A+.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

This RV Park is in the middle of the agriculture section of southern Florida. Close enough to "the action" of Miami - but not far from Key Largo or the Everglades. The best thing is that you just don't care - everything you want is here. A great outdoor heated pool and hot tub, shuffleboard, horseshoes, and shady sites to park your RV or plant your tent and very clean bathhouses. This was a great surprise but one I plan to return to for a longer stay next year. Coffee every morning with your neighbors on the campground clubhouse deck, dance lessons, live bands and local jam sessions at the same deck. Great is all I can say of our February impromptu stay at this jewel of a find in the slowed down part of Southern Florida.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We spent 10 days there, and are planning to spend 1 to 2 months next winter. The people and activities are the best. Everyone made us feel wecome and were so helpful. The morning coffee bunch, the volleyball crew every afternoon at 2, bean bag baseball. The campground was very clean. The activity director really does a great job of having plenty of activities for everyone to enjoy. A+ thanks to all of you for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

I decided to go camping to celebrate my birthday. Once we arrived to the place we were charged the whole stay in advance, their front desk is a store/frontdesk/Guest Services. We did not complain and decided to go ahead and enjoy our weekend. Once we arrived to the cabin we could not believe what we saw... my bathroom is bigger than the whole cabin!! It was horrible, in their website they said they had a "refrigerator" but what we ended up having was a frigobar. That cabin looked like a shoebox it was so small the beds were SOOOO unconfortable i could not sleep for two days! Since I do not like to complain and did not want that to ruin my weekend i decided to just let it go.

We were comfronted by a front desk staff who gave us a complain that we were speeding, they have a speed limit of 10 MPH! we said we were sorry. Arriving to our cabin at night we were told once more we speeded by a so called "manager". I never in my life meet someone so rude and inrespectful as him. He came to our cabin screaming and saying to not speed up again or we would be kicked out!! when we said we were not speeding he said [--]! I never met a place with so bad hospitality I could not believe this. When we requested to check-out early he said it was not possible that they give no refunds, and kept treating us so BAD.

THIS IS THE WORST CAMPING PLACE I EVER BEING TO!
Worst customer service EVER. I would never ever go back. They write no refunds everywhere in their signing sheet, cabin EVERWHERE since they know how bad the place is they just want to make sure they will not loose their money.

THAT MANAGER ENDED UP RUINING MY WHOLE WEEKEND I WILL NEVER EVER RECOMMENT THIS PLACE TO ANYONE!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

The campground is wonderful; many events days and nights. Very freindly staff and campers. Excellent laundry facilities. Wonderful pool and hot tub. Plenty to do at campground for your varied interests. Volleyball, horseshoes, shuffleboard, bingo, bean bag baseball;tournaments for euchre, scrabble, poker, shuffleboard;card playing, movies, potluck meals, biking trips, quiet surroundings, convenient to shopping. Reasonably priced golf nearby. Adaquate RV sites; clean restrooms.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

The campground delivers a clean, quality setting and the amenities they advertise. It appeared to be a safe and well run operation that most campers would probably return to frequently, however it's not for all campers. Our major issue was the plethora of rules the management and staff seemed to be arrogantly proud of. We understand places like this have to watch over your shoulder to keep the "riff raff out" but we felt more like supervised children rather than professional adults on a relaxing camping trip. They had us sign waivers with bold faced statements basically saying they were responsible for nothing in the universe going wrong and if anything happened while on the property it would essentially be viewed as our fault no matter what. Also there were unstated rules some of the constantly patrolling staff were rudely capable of stating verbatim. We felt overall that the staff was doing us a favor by allowing us in and the in the winter months this facility charges a pretty penny to stay, so we expected a more customer orientated demeanor for the premium we paid.

We will reiterate though that the place is clean and the facilities are of the quality advertised. If you like a tightly controlled campground with predictable standards then this is your place. If you get bristly by being supervised like we were then find a facility that places more emphasis on traditonal 'hands off' camping.

  • Liked — Open spaces and trees...
  • Disliked — The staff and their attitude...
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Everglades Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Everglades Campgrounds

Address: 20675 SW. 162nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami Everglades Resort is an RV resort & campground with over 300 RV sites, tent campsites, cabins, and lodges for rent. The park is located just 30 miles south of Miami, half way to Key Largo. The park sits among avocado, mango and palm trees and is surrounded by tropical floral nurseries and farms. The location provides the perfect stop for touring Miami or visiting the Florida Keys. Both the Everglades National Park and Homestead Speedway are within 15 miles of the park. Amenties include: Lg pull-thru sites, free cable TV, WiFi, heated swimming pool, hot tub, spotless bathhouses, laundry facilities. A variety of recreational activities such as swimming, volleyball, shuffle board, and more are available withing the park and tourist attractions are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miami Everglades Campgrounds Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Everglades Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.