We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably not again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fish House Restaurant

Fish House Restaurant
3006 Highway 98, Mexico Beach, FL 32456-7152
850-648-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 11 Restaurants in Mexico Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Description: I can't believe this hasn't yet been reviewed. I specifically picked up a business card on the way out in order to leave a favorable review because it was so exceptionally good.
fort oglethorpe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Probably not again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Seafood was not bad just not good. We eat at as many small town small seafood places as we can while on vacation, this one was not a family fav. We would have been better off at captain D's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    41
    31
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ga
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you don't eat a lot of seafood it's okay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We eat seafood a lot! We try a lot of different places we try to try all the ones that are not a chain... We want to support the small business person. Jason gave us really good service but the seafood was okay. The stuffed shrimp was good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bon Aqua
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't go for breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Looking for an authentic breakfast experience, all we got was poor service and disappointing food. It's nothing you can't make better at home. I couldn't tell if they just didn't have enough staff or if the staff didn't care. The coffee was burnt. The hollandaise was terrible. It was an altogether forgettable experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Recent Take out Surprised us!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been going to the Fish House in Mexico Beach for decades. It was just a good ol average fishing village restaurant. This last time we decided to get take out and share a meal. We ordered the Grouper and Shrimp platter. My husband who is very picky about seafood said it was some of the best fried grouper he has had in a long while. The shrimp were not too bready and were lightly dusted and quickly fried so as not to be greasy. We both agreed that the Fish House needs to be reconsidered after this Friday night Take Out! The salad was fresh and the baked potato was perfect. Now the question is an ongoing one at the beach..... can the quality remain consistent. That has always been an issue when dining out at the beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“SLOW SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were part of a reservation made for approximately 40 people. While our orders were taken promptly, it took over an hour and a half to receive our food! They did not seem low on staff so I am not sure what the problem was. I spoke to the manager and he could not explain either but just apologized. I ordered the scallops and everyone at my table tasted them and told me they were NOT scallops that it was stingray. I had never heard of such!!! They were just curious as to the way they looked. All I can say was they tasted different but did have the consistency of scallops as well as a variety of sizes!
My friend ordered a salad w/ grilled chicken on top. Her salad came out but with no chicken. The waitress took it back then an hour later served her salad AGAIN, with NO chicken. In fact, she brought out the original salad!
Then, another ordered chicken alfredo which arrived after everyone else had completed their dinner. she had to ask for a to-go box. All in all, I would never recommend this restaurant--this is just a warning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Restaurant also viewed

Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
Mexico Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fish House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.