We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Tree on Grove

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Palm Tree on Grove
170 N. Grove St, Merritt Island, FL 32953
321-301-4624
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Clifton Park, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Our dinners were well prepared and delicious. The menu is not large but has a good variety of choices. The owner and our waiter were friendly and courteous. The service was efficient. The restaurant is comfortable and tastefully decorated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Did Not Live Up to First 3 Reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We tried this restaurant in spite of the three suspicious reviews that were posted at the time -- only three reviews and all of them 5 stars with raving comments. (We tried the restaurant because we previously had terrific dinners there when it was Merritt Table, which is now closed.)

Unfortunately, I was right. Palm Tree on Grove is a good restaurant but not nearly 5 Star quality. The food is heavy - handed with sauces that smother the natural flavors. The wine list is limited, with no vineyards we recognized. The bottle that we ordered based on the waiter's recommendation was just so-so.

This restaurant has only been open for one month and will probably improve with time and experience. For now I'm going to be generous and give it 4 stars. But I really don't understand the first three reviws.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“New to this location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a crab cake sandwich for lunch in the courtyard. The food and setting were quite nice. Also had quiche with sautéed greens. Also very nice.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food was cooked to perfection, however, service was a bit slow. The restaurant needs to update their wine list to include known labels, and not just boutique wines. Prices are higher than your typical dining establishments in the area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“5-star Dining...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

You can't miss this restaurant if you visit Merritt Island in Florida. Delicious food, excellent staff! Cant wait to return and have an other culinary dinner at this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Tree on Grove also viewed

 
Merritt Island, FL
 

Been to Palm Tree on Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Tree on Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.