We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs A Lot of TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econolodge Port Canaveral Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econolodge Port Canaveral Area to your Saves list
Econolodge Port Canaveral Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 E Merritt Island Cswy, SR 520, Merritt Island, FL 32952 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Kennedy Space Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merritt Island
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Needs A Lot of TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

I stayed at the Clarion for one night in mid-January. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, that was the only positive thing about my experience. My room needed serious renovating, including the rest of the facility. Throughout were very worn carpeting, peeling paint, and very dated decor. I would not stay at this property again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    14
    7
    9
See reviews for
18
15
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

We were there the week after Christmas.The only good thing here was the staff. The rooms were awful. Everthing was broken. The beds were terreible, the carpets ripped, we had adjoining rooms and the doors between them could not be closed. They were watering the grass with swamp water and it smelled like rotten eggs outside and inside the rooms in the morning.
DO NOT stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merritt Island hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

This place was fantastic from start to finish. When I tried to check in, I was early...the young lady at the front desk (Lindsy) was very helpful in accomodating me, even though the hotel was mostly full. The room was spacious and their internet connection was FAST & secure using some type of adapter that plugged into the outlet in the room. I stayed while they were having a big benefit for the hurricane victims...the speaker said they raised over $180K...that was very impressive. The restaurant was under renovation, but remained open for their free breakfast...also a nice touch. This hotel was definitely worth the money and I'll be staying here again when I get back to the area this winter. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2005

I have stayed here 3 times in August, making reservations each time prior to arrival. I am on the road a lot, in hotels all over east coast of Florida, and I really like this Clarion......I can arrive at 1pm and get right into a room....they have refrigerators and microwaves in most rooms, as well as coffee makers and hair dryers....free internet use in a closed in room just off the lobby which is nice......nice pool area with tables to sit and relax....nice landscaping too....

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2004

We stayed here for 1 night and all I can say is I cannot believe the condition of this Clarion.
1...The door leading into the room wouldn't close properly you could see outside through the gaps in the door. The locks were in bad shape and I was very nervous here.
If I hadn't traveled 12 hours to get here I would have left.
2 A dead roach on the bathroom floor.
3 The toilet was not working properly.
This hotel is in need of serious work. Someone from this chain of hotels needs to come and take a look. It sets a bad impression for all Clarions

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econolodge Port Canaveral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Port Canaveral Area

Address: 260 E Merritt Island Cswy, SR 520, Merritt Island, FL 32952 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Kennedy Space Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Merritt Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merritt Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econolodge Port Canaveral Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Port Canaveral Cruise Terminals, Kennedy Space Center, Beaches, Historic Cocoa Village with Waterfront Park, Antique Malls and Unique Restaurants. Boat rentals, water taxis, kayaking, golf, fishing nearby. Only 2 blocks from Merritt Square Mall. Free Cont. Breakfast. Spacious Pool Deck, Tiki Bar, Tennis, Fitness Center & Free High Speed Internet Access. Voted Best Hotel in Brevard County for five consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econolodge Port Canaveral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kennedy Space Merritt Island
Clarion Hotel Merritt Island
Clarion Merritt Island
Merritt Island Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econolodge Port Canaveral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.