We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE Port d'Hiver!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   201 Ocean Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Central Florida, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We LOVE Port d'Hiver!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We absolutely love Port D'Hiver!!! We have actually been there numerous times over the years-but have finally taken the time to write a review.
We have stayed in 6 out of the 10 available rooms and found each of them to be perfect. Our most recent stay was in the newly renovated Walter's Suite and it did not disappoint. It was so peaceful to sit on the oceanfront balcony each morning and relax with a cup of coffee.
What makes us keep going back-yes it's the attention to detail and proximity to the beach, but ABOVE ALL it is the owners and staff!! Each time we have been there, they have gone above and beyond for us and helped us in anyway we might need. My husband is a picky eater and they always cook him whatever he wants for breakfast:) Nightly turndown is an added treat as well.
One stay at Port d'Hiver just won't be enough. You'll want to keep coming back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
238
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Port d'Hiver is pure luxury! From the beautifully decorated rooms with luxurious beds and amazing views of the ocean to the gourmet breakfast and the serene atmosphere...and with a staff that goes above and beyond to make your stay perfect! Absolutely the best place we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Without a doubt one of the best hotel/B+B experiences to be had. The quality of service, personability of the staff, amazing rooms and phenomenal food makes the place. Could not say a bad word about them. Not to mention you are right across the street from the Beach and walking distance from some great resturaunts. Bravo!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms by the Pool are my favorite. Havana tops the list
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and i wanted to get out of town for a few days so we drove three hours to the bed and breakfast. We live practically next door to the finest resort in Northern Florida and so we usually are not overly impressed with too many properties. Port D'hiver exceeded our expectations. The property was historic, beautiful, and well groomed. We stayed in the Walter's Suite on the second floor facing the ocean. An absolutely beautiful room with gorgeous furnishings and the exposed wood ceiling I wanted to take home with me. The sheets on the bed were fit for royalty and I saw the ladies actually ironing them like my grandmother used to do. Fresh flowers were everywhere. We had our breakfast brought up to our room each morning and ate it outside on the porch. The food was divine, one day we had a peach puff pancake with a sausage burrito, rice bake, bacon and fresh fruit. Our favorite part of the property was the spa pool. Perfect temperature for relaxing. My husband really loved the fresh baked cookies available all day and the treats they left on our bed each night. The owners are lucky to have a wonderful group of ladies working there, they made a difference in how well we were attended to. I cant say enough good things about our total experience there. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Port d'Hiver is a wonderful 5 star experience. The rooms are gorgeous, the amenities first class. The food was so good that we got a cook book of their favorite recipes. Jade and Linda the owners catered to our every need and set up a great couples massage in our room. I rarely take the time to write reviews but our experience was so great that I felt compelled to share.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had four nights in this superb B&B. Everything about the property is quality. The rooms are very well furnished with excellent beds. The bathrooms are equipped with top quality fittings and in our case also included a very large bath jacuzzi. Breakfasts are something special although you are going to require a good appetite if you are going to do justice to what is on offer. The staff are fantastic. They will provide assistance whenever you ask for it and always greet you with a smile. The location is great for the beach, which is literally across the road. There are plenty of good restaurants within close proximity so eating at night is not a problem. This is not a cheap B&B but if you want something for a special anniversary you would find this hard to beat

Room Tip: This B&B is on a main road which although not overly busy does generate some noise. If you are a...
See more room tips
Green Features: Like most modern hotels/B&B's they do encourage you not to ask for clean towels every day
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewheres
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very accommodating without feeling overwhelmed. Lovely rooms, beds were dreamy to sleep on., Bath was how it should be...a sanctuary of the senses w/whirlpool bath & rainshower head. Pool is very inviting & was hard for us to leave. Food was plentiful & delightful. Location is very convenient to beaches & town. They have got it ALL! Loved every minute & worth every penny! Very professional & a model to B&B's across the nation. Wonderful amenities & kind hospitality. Loved the wine hour in the evening! Great idea to suggest places to dine in the area.

Room Tip: We got a balcony room & had breakfast served for us privately. That was a real treat to have a b...
See more room tips
Green Features: They were super accommodating to our asking for organic choices as our diet is 90% organic! Thank you!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 Ocean Avenue, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Melbourne Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your everyday cares at our romantic Melbourne Beach bed and breakfast, a Select Registry Property. Our comfortable yet elegant Melbourne Beach inn is only 200 feet from the Atlantic Ocean featuring luxurious rooms and suites, gorgeous ocean views, a full gourmet breakfast, afternoon wine hour, and a bubbling spa pool surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. If you are looking for Melbourne Beach, FL hotels or a Cocoa Beach bed and breakfast, the Port D'Hiver is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port d`Hiver b&b
Port d`Hiver Hotel Melbourne Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port d'Hiver Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.